1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR SUPERPOSITION BENCHMARK - post your results!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Pit, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you wanna know how your PC is performing in comparison with other PCs?

    The SUPERPOSITION BENCHMARK is a brand new GPU stress-testing tool from UNIGINE. It also features interactive VR experience with support for Oculus Rift and HTC Vive.
    Download: https://unigine.com/en/products/benchmarks/superposition
    Please select VR Optimum, either HTC Vive or Oculus Rift (or ideally both) and upload your results under this posting.
    SuperpositionVR.png
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2017
  2. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    AFAYCS my PC using the GTX 670 is not yet VR "ready", it will work but you can't have everything...just curious how the 1080 TI will outperform in my xeon system
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_12426_1492352285.png
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    HTC Benchmark:
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_10720_1492350992.png
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Unfortunately the base version does not run in VR, you have to get the paid version for that, so it just displays a side by side on the monitor.

    I ran it on my portable little VR rig which also had a huge number of tabs open in Firefox, and was running Unity, Substance Designer, VS 2015, Explorer and Notepad.

    BM.jpg
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The GTX 970 runs smoothly, may you test your system with VR Optimum?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Here you go.

    If I had the time I would shut everything down and overclock this little beastie to see how it would go, but I am far too busy at the moment. When dad finally decides he is ready for me to build him a VR puter for his flight simulator then he will inherit the GTX970 and a 1080Ti will replace it in my portable VR rig.

    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_14883_1492408110.png
  7. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Still great performance, as you have mentioned your cpu has much more room for improvement (@), as well your GTX by simply setting a higher power target, even without overclocking my GTX 670 card I got much better results only by using a higher power target. It is highly recommended to check the temperature, setting sliders too high could cause the video card to overheat.
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,613Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    upload_2017-4-17_15-33-30.png
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Average 200fps, that's a lot, the 980 ti is stunningly faster than the 970, despite of the CPU which is different in comparison with Noorbeast, of course.
  10. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    521
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    698Coins
    Ratings:
    +495 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_22710_1492445057.png
    • Like Like x 2
  11. jangomoose

    jangomoose Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Balance:
    784Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    uniginee.jpg
    Vive
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017
  12. jangomoose

    jangomoose Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Balance:
    784Coins
    Ratings:
    +55 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    unigineerift.jpg
    Rift
    Just thought I would try this on the Future setting, think I'll have to wait for the 1480Ti for that.:)
    uniengine future.jpg
  13. judges

    judges New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    214Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    Apparently the Superposition Benchmark does not come with a SLI profile (yet).

    So here are the results out of the box (results were pretty much identical, no matter if SLI is enabled or disabled in Nvidia control panel):
    unigine_rift_SLI.png unigine_vive_SLI.png

    These are the results after some SLI tweaking with "Nvidia Profile Inspector":
    unigine_rift_SLI_enhanced.png unigine_vive_SLI_enhanced.png
  14. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    4670k @4.4 Ghz
    MSI Gtx 1060 OC
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_18805_1492506393.png
  15. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Your CPU is bottlenecking the GPU
    You got my score (FPS average) with a 1070 (I got a 1060) and almost the same CPU

    And that's a good info (for me) because I was going to update to a 1070/1080 but without also changing the CPU is pointless...
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    mates, I got my MSI 1080 TI Gaming today. First I did the test using VR Optimum, but the card showed an utilization of 50% only...so I tried the VR Future benchmark, rendering up to 10'000'000 triangles and over EDIT 100 /EDIT light sources...the hell on earth! Now the TI was fully utilized (100%) and - surprisingly - still showing acceptable fps:
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_7139_1492600792.png
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  17. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Now OR VR Optimum:
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_16560_1492601633.png
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,137
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,055Coins
    Ratings:
    +995 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You got a huge bottleneck with your CPU mate, with the same settings the score is lower than my 1060!
    Max GPU utilization 61%!!
  19. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    please also try VR future, small update:
    Superposition_Benchmark_v1.0_7501_1492602575.png
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  20. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,165Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    tested VRMark, it says my system is better than 87% of all results...at the moment I'm happy with my "old" 6 core xeons, anyway I have spent a lot of money now, the xeons must do the job the next few months
    vmark.png