1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Zeroselect

    Zeroselect New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Balance:
    112Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    The Quest 2 is starting to looking appealing as well.

  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,090
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,386Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,609
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,934Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,876 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just been carrying out some tests with Pimax 8KX and their PiTools motion cancellation capability and it so far seems to work very well. Really simple to setup - just turned on my index controllers and selected one of them as the sensor in the PiTools 'Motion Cancellation' and then open a game. You although need to orient them correctly.
  4. CraCk

    CraCk Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    Made in Ukraine
    Balance:
    681Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi
    I have a questions. Oculus quest/quest 2 support vr motion cancellation? Connecting to pc cable
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,090
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,386Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have a Quest but have never actually tried it, but would expect it would be treated the same as the Rift S would.
  6. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Using Virtual Desktop version 1.17.1 to stream over wifi to a Quest 1 or 2 and OVRMC seems to work well using one of the controllers as the tracked object. A few of us in the YawVR discord have rolled back to 1.17.1 to keep using it. Then plug the hotas into the quest using a hub with VirtualHere and you're completely wireless to use that 360° yaw.
  7. TheCalVRsimer

    TheCalVRsimer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    247Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Hi,
    Any update for motion cancellation and WMR such as the Reverb G2 by any chance.
    Thanks for your reply.
  8. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,600
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,791Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,415 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Works perfect with Mover and the Virual Tracker :)
  9. TheCalVRsimer

    TheCalVRsimer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    247Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Thanks for your response.
    Completely unfamiliar with MOVER. I have a D-BOX motion system, would MOVER work with D-BOX, and if so is there any docs somewhere on how to set it up?
    Thanks for your help.
  10. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,600
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,791Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,415 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Sorry you're out of luck DBOX systems are totally closed up no way to use it im afraid
  11. TheCalVRsimer

    TheCalVRsimer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    247Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Oh wow, gonna get in touch with them and see if they have any plan in their future to allow motion comp.
    Thanks again for your quick response
  12. Flymen

    Flymen Flymen Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    291
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Balance:
    2,095Coins
    Ratings:
    +167 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    After 18 week finaly !!!
    We will see it tomorow !!
    Maybe i will need your help !!
    @SilentChill

    706DF8EE-8C2B-4FFD-8173-935468EFF16F.png
  13. Pierre Lalancette

    Pierre Lalancette Sir Lalancelot Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Messages:
    830
    Occupation:
    3D teacher
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Balance:
    6,777Coins
    Ratings:
    +796 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Beside the work bench. Perfect place to keep the lens clean. ;)
  14. hannibal

    hannibal Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2018
    Messages:
    570
    Balance:
    3,863Coins
    Ratings:
    +244 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    @Flymen congrats on your HP reverb G2. i was a late order, so ill prob get it in Feb
  15. born2bslow

    born2bslow Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    328Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    I have a DoifReality P3, but I also run 4 transponders using SC4 software in chassis mode. The problem I have is that the vibrations from the transponders are interfering with the motion cancellation. Is anybody aware of any solutions?

    I've been thinking about making an extended bracket, attached to the base of my rig below the transponder vibration to bring the tracker up alongside my head, but the transponders shale the whole upper section of the rig. It's only a problem for traction loss movements.
  16. TheCalVRsimer

    TheCalVRsimer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    247Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Would it be possible to set motion cancellation with the HP Reverb G2 using a vive tracker and two Vive base stations for:
    1. iRacing and Steam VR
    2.MSFS2020 and OpenXR
    ?
    And if yes, is there a tuto somewhere?
    Thanks for your help
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,090
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    117,386Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,387 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  18. TheCalVRsimer

    TheCalVRsimer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Balance:
    247Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    • Like Like x 1
  19. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Couple recent things that might help some.

    Streaming to the Quest 1 or 2 with Virtual Desktop and using OVRMC (or maybe any other mc software) you should be able to use the latest version of Virtua Desktop instead of the older v1.17.1 version by adding the /DisableRenderPose flag when you start Virtual Desktop Streamer.

    Saw this today that looks very promising for more easily mixing tracking technologies and possibly having motion cancellation added to it so everything is in one nice little package for us.
    https://www.reddit.com/r/WindowsMR/..._video_showing_boundary_grid_using_wmr_index/

    Edit: Seems I jumped the gun there. Seems he is currently using SpaceCalibrator to mix the tracking technologies. He still seems interested in adding motion compensation to his app though.
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2020
  20. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +105 / 1 / -0
    Sorry, OVRMC does not support multiple tracking spaces yet. You have to use a WMR tracker or the virtual tracker for mover.
    And also, you have to use OpenVR / SteamVR. It will not work for other launchers.