1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Nevermind to my having a problem, "restart VR headset" in SteamVR options fixed that.

    I can say the v1 wand works very well. I can't remember for sure... if you have the 2.0 lighthouses can you use a 1.0 wand?
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2019
  2. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nope, 2.0 lighthouses are incompatible with all 1.0 tech.
  3. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That's what I thought, but I didn't trust my memory enough to say for sure.

    So, @D.C. Moore If you have the 2.0 lighthouses (curved front) you need the 2.0 (blue) vive wand. $200 for that is insane though, when a pair of Knuckles are $250. =(
  4. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    So I have motion cancelation working with wmr now (finally), but I cant seem to get it to work in a game! When i turn openvr input emulator on and get it set, I no longer can use my wheel in game (project cars 2). I have to also unplug my xbox controller to have the wands pull up in the drop menu. Where is the conflict and how do i resolve this? The motion compensation is clearly working. Bit whoop if I can't get into a game after I turn it on! Lol

    Bonus question: it seems if I do it while in the game, that may work... but the menu is huge and smashed together. Anyone able to help a noob out??
  5. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here is the cluster of nonsense my openvr emulator screen looks like when inside a game. It doesn't do this outside the game, but when going to steam first, then turning on motion compensation, all my racing inputs don't work. So I'm stonewalled at both turns.

    It would be best if I could just figure out how to resize this screen and call it a day. :(

    Oddly, the normal steam menus are the right size. Just now the openvr ones. Anyone able to help?
  6. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  7. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @Jorant I have no idea what would be causing that or how to fix it. I will hopefully be trying Project Cars in the next few days myself so I'll let you know if I have issues with that (I'm using Valve Index). Have you tried alt-tabbing in and out of the game to gain control? Or click on the game window on the monitor with the mouse?

    I can't see the whole screen in that screenshot, but it looks like you might be able to get through it the way it is. You only need to see and click three things.

    In Device field select the device you are using for motion compensation.
    In Device mode select motion compensation.
    Hit "Apply" which should be all the way at the right side on the same line as Device Mode.

    There are two "apply" buttons you want the top one.

    There should be no need to touch anything else in the menu so if you can figure out how to do just those three things you might be ok until someone an fix the problem. Also, be sure to post in the Github threads.
  8. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thank you for the reply.

    Unfortunately no, it's not all there. I know what the screen looks like because it is normal on literally every other game. It is only when I go to openvr (either advanced or input emu) in this game. Which sucks, because is THIS game that I need motion compensation on! Oh well.
  9. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF

    So this actually helped. Inside any other steam game I can go to the menu and turn on my motion compensation settings, but when I go to PC2, my wheel isn't recognized. BUT what you said worked. For some reason the game doesn't play full screen (despite me asking for it to do so in the options menu of the game). When I clicked on it, the game went full screen, and then I could control my wheel again. And all the while, as my motion comp setting were saved too! So that works well. I wonder if there is a way to force it to this screen rather than having to click it outside of my headset every time??
  10. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Well, I just confirmed that with the Vive Wand attached to my seat (with the gel) I still have the same problem as the Tracker when I turn on the shakers.

    Weird that I got good results on my initial test with the gel and it worked fine for the first three hour session of flying, but then it started acting up again and is totally unusable with even very low engine vibration on the shakers. =(

    Everything is working great otherwise! Just still can't use my damn shakers and they add so much to the experience. With FlyPT Mover though, I can actually get some of the shaker effects out of my actual motion sim, eventually maybe be able to get everything I need that way. =O All I need is to have engine RPM, flaps movement, landing gear movement, and stall/VRS shudders available as sources which I'm sure FlyPT/Pmvcda will be willing to do once we get the wrinkles ironed out of the main features. This software is already nearly everything I've wanted for the past three years but wasn't available.
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just a thought, but if the tracking worked OK with the shakers for a while, then did not, perhaps consider the effect they may be having on the environment in a way that could mess with tracking.

    In a previous picture you had multiple pictures on the wall that seem to be reflective surfaces. Those and other similar things could perhaps be affected by vibrations enough to disrupt tracking. Worth checking.

    [​IMG]
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I thought the same thing so I took them down not too long after that picture was taken.

    Also, as I was falling asleep last night I remembered that my last test where it was working with some vibe was with my temporary mount. I'm going to go back to that and see what happens.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I know with openvr input emulator, you can use vive with wmr at the same time (to one degree or another).

    My motion cancelation with the wmr technically works, but it shakes all over on the rig I'm using and it barf inducing because of it. The reason being is I'm only able to connect ot to where the steering wheel is and it's pretty shaky already. God help me when I have to steer quickly.

    So I decided I'd like to try to do the vive tracker on the back of the racing seat with a lighthouse. HOWEVER, before I buy that, will that work? I don't have a vive headset and am unsure if I can use/set up the tracker without a headset or vive controller. Furthermore, could I use one wmr controller at the same time as I set things up? Or would that cause a conflict? I really want this to work and am so close.
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Don't be too quick to buy it. Many have found the Vive wand to be much more reliable than the tracker. Mostly this is an issue just with tactile transducers (buttkicker, aura, etc.). I found I had the same problem with the Wand when I locked it down so it couldn't wobble though, so for racing I'm not sure what to do next. I may be able to do away with the transducers with FlyPT Mover software since I can use RPM etc. to vibrate the sim at a lower frequency that may not cause the tracking any issues. I haven't started down that path yet though.
  15. Jorant

    Jorant New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    22
    Balance:
    165Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Trip, I've read about your flynt project. I'm super excited for that to come to fruition. I may just block off my cameras on my headset and deal with it the half assed way until a more viable solution such as that one comes about. I sure hope that openvr is in the works still as the rumors say!!
  16. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    As far as FlyPT goes, I'm just a user/guinea pig. =D

    I couldn't live without motion compensation at this point, it generally works perfectly as long as I don't use the bass shakers. Last night I was able to use the shakers now that I went back to my temporary mount (the Oculus CV1 included guitar hero mount screwed to the seat, with a Vive Wand jammed into it. Only problem was shaking when I was on the ground from the high frequency bumps. I'm going to try to stabilize it some with the gel. I put it on but haven't had time to try it yet and see if it made any difference.

    SteamVR (aka OpenVR) gives us what we need to have motion compensation, it's up to us (motion sim community) to make it happen.

    If we all chipped in a little to pay someone to perfect this I imagine we could get it properly straightened out so we can use shakers.

    Trip
  17. Kevin Ross

    Kevin Ross New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    1Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    For those of you that know and use OpenVR-InputEmulator - it has been abandoned for some time. This is problematic because OpenVR (Steam VR uses) has removed the API interface that it uses a year ago - and my guess is it will soon break permanently with the removal of the deprecated API from the runtime.

    Given the importance of this open source driver to us that have motion simulators, I'm going to attempt to raise some monetary support to hire a developer to focus/fix/support motion compensation alone.

    I have forked the github repo and have been learning what I can:
    https://github.com/rosskevin/OpenVR-MotionCompensation/issues/1

    I have researched the code (this is not my area of expertise ... anymore) and I have identified a developer that has performed some similar work. I have reached out to him, and given that he already accepts patreon/contributions, I am hopeful he is a good fit and someone that is willing to do this important work for us.

    I am proposing to pay this developer - and code will be open and free for all - always (it's GPL 3.0 base code anyway). If you are willing to contribute monetarily - or if you happen to have cpp/openvr experience and want to contribute code, please let me know on github.

    As soon as I have a viable plan, I'll be contacting all and try to raise enough funds to get this back to a stable piece of software.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I guess what I would be interested in with a fork is pushing the boundaries further with respect to the motion cancellation aspect, such as improving where transducers are used, which in my view may require integration into motion software to fully resolve.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I agree, but even just maintaining the functionality we have now is critical IMO. If OVRIE motion compensation gets broken and nobody fixes it right quick I'll be crying myself to sleep until there's a fix!
  20. clyevo

    clyevo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Balance:
    151Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I've skimmed through since last i seen this thread. Hope you guys don mind me asking.
    i have not really get into it yet, still on my oculus rift which of course doesnt work with the plugin
    1. Is Vive Pro still the king, or trumped by Valve Index?
    2. Any issues with this plugin for Valve Index users?
    3. How is the current situation with Pimax VR? Anyway to bypass the pitool?

    Just my 2cent, we could have a discord to get a view on participation of people who wish to fund the plugin development