1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Dmal99

    Dmal99 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hey trip good testing. How come you didn’t put it on the top of your seat? That’s where mine is. Did I put it in the wrong place ?


    Also I have a question. Sometimes the tracker isn’t detected by the motion cancel open VR steam add on. Is there a trick to getting it to detect the tracker? Thanks.
  2. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    You put it in the right place. You want it as close to your head as possible. I put it as close to my head as I was able without putting it on the seat. First reason is the back of my seat moves a lot as I move around in it. It is a very cheap ebay seat may be the reason. So every time I moved in the chair, the tracker moved around a bit. Second reason is I mounted it on an extension of the steel hex frame. The cockpit and seat and all are separated from the steel frame by industrial rubber vibration isolating mounts made by Mason. Bass shakers are on the cockpit, so much less vibration gets to the tracker if it is mounted to the frame instead.

    If I can get the sim as smooth as I want for flight with SimTools 2.4 filters I may remove those mounts and once again bolt the cockpit parts directly to the frame.

    Soon I will be posting about all the updates to my sim and it will make much more sense.


    I don't know about the issue you are having with tracker detection. It is showing in the SteamVR window but not showing in the OpenVR Input Emulator interface? You might want to try uninstalling SteamVR and then installing it all step by step following instructions from SplitPixl on the Github forum for the most recent version of motion compensation which was made by SplitPixl. I linked the page a couple days ago but if you have working compensation you must know where it is. =)

    Trip
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,446
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,635Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,124 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Always make sure you have all the controllers/trackers switched on and synced with the PC before you start Steam VR or else they will not be detected in Open VR Emulator
  4. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    345Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    perfect...i installed the Kyosho sheet the same way. The Bodyshaker is no problem anymore. But then i did a roll with 200° /sec , and stopping instantly: This nearly rip the tracker off - only the safty wire catched it! But well yes, that´s another story :)
  5. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Great to hear another confirmation of this working! I think we all owe @apointner a huge thank you for coming up with a solution to a problem we've been battling for a couple years!

    You can try rubberbanding it down, if that transmits too much vibration or is otherwise undesirable or impractical then I'd say supplement the adhesive on the gel sheet with cyanoacrylate glue.
  6. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Anyone tried razer hydra or any other non-vive steamvr compatible controllers for motion cancellation?

    I just bought Pimax 5k+ in place of oculus, one lighthouse and get no vive controllers to test, but have spare hydra collecting dust.
  7. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I think any fully tracked SteamVR compatible controller should work. Unfortunately I don't think the Hydra will be compatible. I'll be interested to hear how you make out, I was really tempted by the 5K+ but I decided that I didn't want to worry about compatibility support and to run an extra software layer so I bought Index to replace my OG Vive.
  8. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Well, it kind of works, but not in the way it is supposed to. Im like flying around my virtual cockpit, much farther then with no cancellation at all. Tracking in hydra is not exactly 1:1 with real world, this seems to be the problem.

    I also been waiting for the Index, but after reviews came out stating that it is almost incompatible with the glasses, gone for 5k+ instead. Extra software is not a real issue, it can either run directly from steam, or you can import and run games from pitool, bypassing steamvr entirely. Latter also yelds a frame or two better performance, incompatible just with «vive only» games (I seem to have none of these). General performance actually is almost the same as oculus cv1 surprisingly, there is other letdowns that Pimax have, including Vive tracking system.
  9. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    How is the Vive tracking system a letdown? It's the best VR tracking available, and is especially good for use with a motion sim!
    • Like Like x 1
  10. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Well, I managed to get motion cancellation working using Vive wand.

    In Elite it did the job fine, except for the vibe. When the buttkicker is off, everything is good, however, when I turn it on, resulting image shaking feel over-exaggerated. I don't mind slight effect, but have to look around for some hardware dampening, maybe it will help in this case.

    Il2 Sturmovik, on the other hand, is unplayable even with vibe off. Chair shakes slightly during flight (which is cool and true-to-life), but it translates to really bad and over-intensive trashing of entire world around. I understand this is a known issue, seems like some deadzone or less sensitive input should do the trick. Did anyone had come to solution or some workaround?

    Also, Im using Pimax and did not encounter any focusing issues, coming from motion cancellation. Tried to look for them specifically, nothing noticeable. Maybe my chair doesn`t move too extremely in terms of space to trigger it.

    Exactly because of motion cancellation being an issue. With Oculus I just put camera on the rig and have no need for such tinkering whatsoever.
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  11. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Negative Ghost Rider. If just putting the camera on the rig works for you that just means your sim doesn't have enough travel for it to be an issue for you. That's exactly how I was running mine until the proper motion compensation via SteamVR came along.

    Using the Rift camera on the rig doesn't compensate for rotational DOF's at all, and if the translations were big enough it also got a bit upset at the discrepancies and the camera would suddenly jump a bit while the Rift software tried to fix it. With my rig (+30 to -30 degrees on pitch and roll, lots of yaw, ~8" of heave, probably near the same on surge and sway) it was a big enough problem that I stopped using Rift and bought a Vive.

    Trip
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  12. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Jumps do happen, however seldomly and spoil my experience way less, then contant vibration issues of compensation system at it’s present state. Until some software fix will come out (if ever), it means staying away from powerful vibe and dumbing down the rig response levels. Not the kind of experience I can call “especially good”.
  13. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Btw I heard some rumors, that vive trackers are less precise then the controllers. Can somebody approve or deny that? If so, is it good or bad in our use case?
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That problem seems to have been solved with the Kyosho Zeal gel sheet. =) I was able to max out my four Aura-ST's after installing it with no tracking errors. Apointner was able to max his as well.
  15. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Ive tried orange earpads, it helps somewhat with interference from the shakers and worsens the effect of motor-induced vibrations a bit.

    Btw, have you tested wand vs the tracker, is there any difference?
  16. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I haven't tested with the wand, no. Since you raised this point I will consider it if I have any further problems but I'd have to use another piece of the gel just to test it so I won't do it if there is no need. So far it looks to me like the gel is basically a 100% fix, but I still haven't got the sim back up and running for real world testing. So far I only tested the shakers on it, but I didn't really have any issues before if the shakers weren't on.
  17. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Could please someone point me in direction to where different modes of motion cancellation, available in emulator interface, are explained?
  18. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    As far as I know all the "alternative" modes were experimental and didn't work out so just use the default. I could be wrong though, I often am. =D
  19. 4apaev

    4apaev Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Occupation:
    Media
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Balance:
    317Coins
    Ratings:
    +37 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Question is, which one is default? There is no option by that name, except the one that cancels cancellation, returning to controller its default function :)
  20. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    1,656Coins
    Ratings:
    +183 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Ummm... the one that works well! LOL I don't remember. I'll be setting it up myself either tonight or in the next couple days and I'll let you know once my memory is boosted by looking at the interface.