1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Kyosho Gel recommended by apointner has arrived. I hope to test it in a little under 24 hours from now. @apointner can you post a picture of how you installed it please? I'd like to see that before I apply it to my sim since you had success.

    Update: Sorry guys, I didn't get to test it today, I screwed up and caused myself a major setback in getting things up and running. I can still test the shakers of course, but I didn't get the gel installed yet.
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  2. Dmal99

    Dmal99 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Not sure what is up but ever since i installed the openVR emulation thing my vive has been going haywire - bad tracking, games glitching out, and steam vr keeps failing and loading only in safe mode

    if anyone has any fixes pls let me know
  3. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sounds like you have the old broken version. Someone named SplitPixl fixed it for us. Go here and scroll down to about the sixth post and you'll find the link and instructions:
    https://github.com/matzman666/OpenVR-InputEmulator/pull/130

    @noorbeast You might want to add that to the OP, and/or wherever else you think people are likely to see it. AFAIK the link above is the only version that currently works.
  4. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hey friends...for me now the same problem too. Since the last big steam vr update, motion cancellation don't work again. Even SplitPixl`s fix don't help. Steam VR falling alwas back in to the save mode. Is there any solution in the www?
    If not....i`m thinking, only for racing, i will buy a hmd, with only 3dof tracking...to solve that problem for all time. I´m not really need Roomtracking, i'm belted anyway. Additionally, then i can finally use vibrations, on my seat. What do you think?
    • Old Old x 1
  5. Bastiuscha

    Bastiuscha Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    513Coins
    Ratings:
    +113 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Me again....i think, i had an fallacy. 3Dof will have an disturbing shift too. :( Of course better then 6dof, but far away from perfect. I think, the cancellation software is the only good solution.
  6. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That sucks that you are having problems with the motion compensation. I haven't tested it since the update (still working on putting my sim back together).

    As for your tracking issue, how much travel does your sim have on each axis?
  7. Dmal99

    Dmal99 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have tried this fix and there latest download on both SteamVR 1.4.18 and SteamVR beta 2.5.2. No matter what when it is installed steam vr only starts in safe mode. I've tried everything man, this stinks. I just got my DOF reality rig and I was so excited to try it in VR...


    edit: SUCCESS! After much much tinkering and reinstalling and beta and then non-betaizing steam VR, I got it to work in assetto corsa, I had to use the files from that fix but only after installing the original, and then its still a bit buggy but seems to work with my viva tracker just fine!

    THanks for the help! Excited!

    p.s. What other games are good for trying VR other than AC OG?
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019
  8. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    71
    Balance:
    625Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    LFS has had VR support for years (including its menus, unlike AC).
  9. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm not as into racing sims as a lot of these guys, but my personal favorite is Project Cars (2). That, and Dirt Rally but that one requires ReVive unless you are on Oculus Rift.

    If anyone is on the edge of their seat waiting for me to test the Kyosho gel sheet stuff I apologize. I plan to install it as soon as my torque arm limit switches are installed and tested. I thought that would be done Monday night. Again on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday.... and it still hasn't happened. I'm right there though! I'll have it done this week for sure.
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
  10. Wagnard

    Wagnard Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,322Coins
    Ratings:
    +200 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    NOTE: Fix NOT intended for HTC Vive.
    Here I have somewhat fixed the black border for the Oculus rift when using motion compensation.
    Note that in order to do this I had to disable the "Yaw" compensation. So,full 360 degree system are not working with it.(rare anyway)
    Tell me if it work, if you tried it on Pimax, etc...
    Hope you guys enjoy.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Dmal99

    Dmal99 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I use the kyosho gel to mount my vive tracker. One layer of 5mm sheet eliminated pretty much everything but the shift bump I have my thumper do in gamevibe. I have now mounted 3 sheets on top of each other so effectively 15mm of gel. I will try it later tonight and tomorrow and see if the shifts still jiggle.
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @Dmal99 Please do, I was planning to install the gel in a few hours myself so I would like your results with stacking it first if possible!
  13. Dmal99

    Dmal99 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    80Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Here’s my honest opinion:

    Does it get rid of all the vibration? No. Is it better than one layer? YeS. Do I think it would be better if you added any more layers? No, not unless you added like 15 Princess and the Pea magnitude layers. Lol.

    Basically you might as well do it because when you order the gel you can cut it into three without buying more. I can’t think of any other way that would produce less vibration or any other material for that matter. Using a controller would probably be even more vibration.

    Now on another note, I have to figure out how to stop steam VR from updating now that I’ve gotten it working finally. Lol.
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks much for the update! I just didn't want to waste the spare gel by stacking it if it wasn't going to make a difference. I'd rather keep it for a backup if that was the case. I will probably try one layer first, and if I have any issues add the rest.

    For anyone following along I finally got my limit switches installed! It only took about a week of thinking I was going to get it done "tonight".

    Now the only problem is I'm waiting for a replacement motion control PCB because I had a mishap with mine. =( I should be testing an tuning by the weekend for sure and hopefully ready to show off the mods to the sim next week some time. =D
  15. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    From official Vive Tracker documentation: I don't remember seeing this the last time I looked at this document, I guess maybe I wasn't aware of the vibration problem being an issue for me/us at that time.

    Has anyone tried these drone dampers as indicated here? If so, what kind of results did you get?

    UPDATE: SilentChill and I both report failure with this method. I think it actually made it worse!

    drone dampers.png

    I still have the drone gyro mount gizmo that was recommended way back at the beginning for mounting the Rift camera on the sim and I believe it has this type of mount. I'm going to go dig around and see if I can find it! Yeah, I've got the Kyosho gel to install, but more damping can't hurt right?

    Update: Found it! Attached stock image in case anyone is curious. How did I not think of this before?! This thing has an IMU mounted in it and is meant to be mounted to a quadcopter most of which have some pretty good vibrations...

    Only catch is that this chassis is made of metal, and there is supposed to be 0.8 inch space between bottom of Vive tracker and anything metal (except the screw and POGO connector) according to documentation to avoid causing issues with wireless communication to the PC. I'll put a .75" plastic spacer between, and gel on top of that. Will post in about 24 hours I expect I will have this mounted.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 5, 2019
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,619Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Tried it, doesn't work at all at my end the vibrations just as bad I'm afraid. I wouldn't waste your money but hey you never know it may work for you :)
  17. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @SilentChill I think I'm going to have the same result with the drone mount. I set it on my HTPC tower and I can feel the vibration of the fans just as much on the "isolated" mount as on the tower itself. Might help with hard "bumps" though from the motion sim itself if that is even an issue.

    For me there is no money involved in trying the drone IMU dampers, I salvaged the parts from that camera gimbal thing that has been collecting dust for a couple years. With that, the Kyosho Gel, and my previous vibration isolation mod I will be three deep and hopefully have it solved on my sim.

    My previous efforts will be included in my upcoming Mk.2 sim post but basically I put vibration isolating mounts between my "cockpit" floor and the actual upper hex frame. Bass shakers are mounted to the "floating" cockpit, and the Vive Tracker is mounted rigidly to the actual hex frame.

    Depending on how smooth things get with SimTools 2.4 and my other recent mods (I'm not giving that one away yet!) I might go back to the cockpit being rigidly attached to the upper frame. That will depend on lots of testing, my current setup works pretty well, but it does add a little bit of "bounce" to quick sim movements and it seriously complicates mounting the sim controls firmly enough to suit so I'd be happy to go back if the other issues are all solved.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2019
  18. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,619Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Ahh cool. I am using 3 pieces of thick Rubber pads which we use on the railway to cushion the rail from the concrete sleepers. Seems to be working pretty well at the moment with the LED ring wedged tight so it cant move. Lots of vibrations and lost of sharp movements from the rig, its not perfect but the occasional glitch makes it bearable.

    Would be nice to have it like it use to be but that was that long ago, I cant remember what it felt like for it to be smooth.
  19. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Those having problems with the motion compensation, this is what SplitPixl said:

    "I haven't had any issues after installing the patched version of input emulator. I'm still using that version I compiled and put on that issue referenced earlier. If these people are installing SteamVR for the first time, they will need to run the installer here then apply the patch."

    So maybe uninstall SteamVR and then start over step by step using his instructions? I will be doing this myself in just a few days and I'll let you know how I make out.
  20. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,026Coins
    Ratings:
    +194 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hey guys! I finally got the Kyosho gel tested, and also tested the drone mount recommended by HTC as shown above.

    Now, before I start there are a couple caveats: 1) I don't currently have the motion sim moving, I was testing ONLY with my four Aura ST bass shakers and no motion. 2) I had already somewhat reduced the problem as described in one of my last few posts.

    First I installed the tracker on a single square of the Gel, and (with a spacer) mounted that to the quadcopter vibration mount like the one from the HTC manual, and attached that whole assembly to my sim. I maxed out the tactile transducers with the test vibration in "SimShaker for Aviators". There was some improvement but after the first thirty seconds or so I started seeing issues. The Tracker was momentarily winking out for just an instant about once every fifteen seconds. =(


    Next, I removed the quadcopter mount and used just the single layer of Kyosho gel by itself. This stuff is amazing! I ran it for several minutes straight and didn't see a single error! I could actually see the tracker vibrating naturally, like you would expect it to do if attached to a vibrating base but without errors. This was with the shakers absolutely maxed. I'm sure it's going to be quite good.

    If I find in real world tests that it needs a little more I can still add another layer or two.

    Now there's one more thing to report here. If anyone wants to try a much cheaper option, I found (amateur) tests online indicating that using 32db orange foam earplugs, with the electronics rubberbanded down to slightly compress them might actually work BETTER than this stuff!

    I like that with this stuff I don't need to rubberband the tracker down and it's got a nice clean professional look, and it seems to work perfectly, but it did cost nearly $15 USD. Here is a picture of my final solution:
    Note: The black spacer below the gel is a piece of PVC to keep adequate space between the tracker antenna and the steel square tube. If at all possible you don't want to run a wire to the tracker while using the sim as the wire will transmit vibration past the gel. I tested with it running wirelessly.

    tracker mount.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1