1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Wayne Williams

    Wayne Williams New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Balance:
    58Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Thanks. Nice mount. I think getting this to work with SimVibe is close to impossible. Shame.
  2. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    616Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  3. Scott Barton

    Scott Barton New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    Racecar driving coach
    Location:
    NJ
    Balance:
    98Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    I've been using a 3DOF motion sim for a while now, and now trying to use motion cancellation. Finally got it to work, but it seems that the FOV is reduced. It is almost as if I can see black bars on the sides. Is there a fix for this? Also tracking seems to be pretty different. I've been using 1 sensor, does it require 2?
  4. flyaround

    flyaround New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I'd always planned to use motion cancellation to make VR work properly in my new 5DOF rig, but over time I read enough people saying "you don't really need it" that I started to wonder whether it was really necessary.
    Fast forward to last week: after an hour or so of racing (without having set up cancellation), I was starting to feel nauseous, which I never do in VR. And while the rig was amazing, it just didn't feel 'right' in some way.
    I was away for a couple of days, but this evening when I got back, I set up the tracker I'd bought, figured out a way to mount it, realised that SteamVR thinks it's a controller when you're trying to pair it, set up OpenVR input emulator, overwrote with the newer update, set it cancelling, and...
    WOW!
    It makes all the difference in the world. Suddenly you're not in a lurchy cage inside a vehicle... you're right there inside the vehicle itself, with forces acting on you. The illusion is maginificently better... everything I'd hoped it would be.
    Well done to the author of this. I would really love to chip in to keep it being updated.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Scott Barton

    Scott Barton New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    Racecar driving coach
    Location:
    NJ
    Balance:
    98Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    Trying to get OpenVR for motion cancellation to work with Rift. When I use OpenVR in iRacing the rendering is off. When I tilt my head up and down, it looks like the foreground moves up and the background moves down. Other than that it seems to work. But the way it renders even when I'm not moving, makes me nauseous. Do I need to configure anything or change settings?
  6. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Are you using a Rift, by any chance? I seem to recall that there's a known problem which causes black bars to sometimes appear on the edges when using compensation -- especially visible with yaw movements -- and that it only(?) affects Oculus headsets because it's the result of some lower-level software issue between the Oculus SDK and OpenVR.
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    From the Feel Three team:

    There is currently no acceptable motion cancellation for the Oculus rift. On OpenVR headsets such as the HTC Vive we have 100% functionality, but the rift currently doesn’t have a solution.
  8. flyaround

    flyaround New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    7Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Sorry guys, should have said - yes, I'm using a Vive Pro. It'll be interesting to see how the Pimax 5k+ does when that arrives, but hopefully it will work OK as it's built around the SteamVR ecosystem and the cancellation is done in Steam rather than the headset.
    I don't have a Rift to test things out but I feel your pain if there's no solution currently!
  9. Elii

    Elii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    61Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Hello Sir,

    How do you get into VR emulator ? Im starting VR emulator ( controllers of like shown in manual )then turning on my Project carsm turning on my controllers one at a time and i dont see no menu for choosing anything. It just starts as normal VR.
  10. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Bad News I'm Afraid, I received my Pimax 8K V2 Today.
    Tried literally everything I could to get the motion compensation to work, no luck.
    Sorry for the bad news, I will try again in week 13.
    I cant work out right now if its the Pi tool not seeing the tracker, which it shouldn't be I guess, or the headset.
    its pretty hideous, I got everything to work but as soon as I turn a corner its all over.
    it may be just be the yaw, which I use loads of so pretty dam useless, its a shame.
    Back to my Vive pro, which is pretty much flawless, even better now I done the lens Mod.
    An the answer to the question above is press the button om the controller and it will take you into the menus, choose open vr, follow instructions in this post or FAQ.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  11. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Ok so trying to get this to work with the Pimax.
    so Far I can get everything running fine, no issues with the open Vr, all base stations work, controllers and vive trackers.

    With the vive pro, when you set the motion compensation to the vive tracker if you move the tracker the whole world moves, this works graet, no issues..

    With the Pimax when you set the motion compensation to the vive tracker if you move the tracker the world stay still, but it also replicates the world and when you move the tracker the replicated world will move and completely blur and have lots of lines and mess like a bad video signal.

    Any ideas please post, together we can hopefully get this working.
  12. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,486
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,169 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have this exact same problem , I thought it was just me as I've searched and searched the internet and found no one with the same problem. I guess no one is using iRacing with the rift and openvr. If you ever find a solution please let me know as it just sucks ass the way it is now.

    edit: its like fish eye lense going on , the FOV is wrong to the res or something I dunno
  13. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    If you want a system that works, get a Vive, or a Vive Pro, they work without a hitch, I’m on my 4 season in Iracing.
    Once you learn the system and bugs after updates you can rely on the Vive.

    With the Pimax, I think the software, Pi tool is messing with the steam vr emulator, I don’t think it’s the headset.
    I’ve noticed when you go to the motion compensation settings the controller and tracker have changed names with Prv in front of them, like Prv-generic-tracker, or that’s close. When you install pi tools you get the pi tool software + 4 other bits, one is the Prv steam drivers, I tried uninstalling that, everything still worked but with the same problem,
    Frustrating,
  14. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,486
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,827Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,169 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Works perfectly with the Rift using oculus runtime but obviously no motion cancellation unless I put the camera on my rig which can be great or start throwing a resetting height wobbly !! If only there was a way to stop the height recentering us Rift users would be fine :(
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You could try filing it as a bug report, hard to say what priority it would be given.
  16. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I would like to reach out to matzman666 to ask if he would have the time to fix this problem with the Pimax 8k.
    I will donate my Pimax 8k for testing.
    does anybody know how I can send him a message?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,482
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,790Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    All I can suggest is you try via the GitHub page, but as the last commit was a year ago I would not get your hopes up: https://github.com/matzman666/OpenVR-InputEmulator/releases

    Alternatively, as Pimax basically implemented Revive into their own software then perhaps they could be encouraged to implement the motion cancellation part of the OpenVR-InputEmulator, given the code is available on GitHub. Motion simulation is a niche market, but arguably Pimax with motion cancellation and being able to also play Oculus games would be ideally placed to capture that market.
  18. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Ok thanks, I will try both...
    I will update the forum once I get some replies...
    • Like Like x 2
  19. nikwilliamson

    nikwilliamson New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    UX Designer
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    As far as I'm concerned, the only way to properly implement motion cancellation is by using motion data from the game/seat to tell OpenVR-InputEmulator where a Virtual Tracker "is". There are too many external variables for the tracker to reliably cancel motion otherwise.
  20. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    493Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Motion Compensation.......