1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. D.C. Moore

    D.C. Moore New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    NC USA
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    I have the Oculus with the right touch controller mounted to the top of my seat. I am still a little confused about the proper OpenVR settings. I understand that I am supposed to set the motion control to "Set Zero" but am I using the HMD or the controller as the item for OpenVR to concentrate on? I have tried both ways and I dont really see a lot of difference in the two which leads me to believe that I am doing something wrong somewhere else in the setup.
    Open Steam then Steam VR
    Start DCS
    Start OpenVR with the following settings: Device = (not sure), Default = motion compensation, Motion Compensation Settings = set zero. Wait for controller and HMD to be recognized by Steam VR then hit apply

    When doing it this way it works OK for driving but flying is very frustrating. I think it has to do mostly with the sway motion which causes me to wind up sitting angled in the seat until the sim returns to starting position. I am using the Oculus CV-1 with two sensors and I have set up room scale in both steamVR and the Oculus software. I have good signal to the sensors and I have the touch controller mounted to the seat as close to the center of my play area as I can get it. I am open to all suggestions, constructive criticisms, or help of any kind.
  2. nikwilliamson

    nikwilliamson New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Occupation:
    UX Designer
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Would using 2 trackers on either side of the head improve accuracy? If so, any chance this is on the roadmap - or is it already supported?
  3. Eliottk

    Eliottk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,

    I can't get motion cancellation working in Steam VR, everytime when I try to set the device mode to "motion compensation" and click apply I get this error message:

    could not set device mode: unknown error

    Any ideas whats going wrong here? I tried it with my right Controller and I'm using V1.3 of the Input Emulator.

    Kind regards
    Eliottk
  4. D.C. Moore

    D.C. Moore New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    NC USA
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    not sure but here are my settings;

    Device = (serial number)_Controller_Right(Controller)
    Status = Motion Compensation (This will say Default until you click apply)
    Device Mode = Motion Compensation
    Device offsets (I dont touch this one)
    Motion Compensation Settings = Set Zero
    Render Model = Disabled
    Input Remapping = no inputs

    Make sure steam VR can see your headset and your controller and make sure neither one are flashing when you click "Apply"

    Thats the best I can do, hope it helps
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    You could try verifying your Steam VR files.
  6. Eliottk

    Eliottk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hi,

    it seems there is an problem with the new steam Version and the Input Emulator.
    When the Emulator is installed my Steam VR only starts in safe mode, when I uninstall the input emulator all is fine.

    Would there be an update on the Emulator, it seems to be a little outdated...?

    Kind regards
    eliottk
  7. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    It's a known problem since this SteamVR update went into beta a month ago.

    InputEmulator pull request 130 has a recent comment linking to tentative release zip file that supposedly gets it working again.
  8. Eliottk

    Eliottk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi,

    thanks for the fast response. I will try this.
  9. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,777Coins
    Ratings:
    +213 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thank you! I'm glad it looks like there is a solution, I'll be trying it soon and will report back with my results.

    PS- I have the same issue described by others above, since the SteamVR update.
  10. Eliottk

    Eliottk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi,

    with the given workaround it's working and the error message regarding the steam VR system is gone.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    2,777Coins
    Ratings:
    +213 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Excellent! I can't get to this tonight but I reposted the link in the github thread where this conversation also came up.
  12. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Oh men, thank you so much for this tutorial! It worked out perfekt for me in DCS World with the newest steamVR version. Only thing was, that i did´nt got a prompt from OpenVR for binding the tracker (did it manually, all fine)
  13. Flash66

    Flash66 6DOF Motion over the ocean in DCS FA/18-C Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Las Vegas NV
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Great to know this is working. I have been watching the github thread and just not allowing SteamVR to update itself. Seems Matzman66 has gone MIA so no telling if this project will continue. I wouldn't mind throwing some money at this to keep it alive.
  14. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Also IN for donate to keep this pearl alive.
    I was very suprised about the accuractiy of this Tool.
    Both motion cancelling and vive tracking works with no delays oder black areas in my Pit.
    I installed only two lighthouses, however tracking and cancelling works perfect even when one lighthouse is completly covered by the pit itself or my body.
    In certain 360° spins both lighthouses are covered for a second. Then tracking/cancelling is just warping for a splitsecond and then perfectly aligns again.
    So this is really amazing!
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  15. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    How do you get ED to start with SteamVR using a Rift HMD?
    I have tried from steam selecting launch in steamvr mode, but it always uses oculus.
    I have a stand alone version installed as well, but just can't figure it out. It just doesn't want to use openvr.
    Any help please?
  16. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,486
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,826Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,169 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Can't remember if I use revive to launch it or not I'll have a check later
  17. D.C. Moore

    D.C. Moore New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    NC USA
    Balance:
    120Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    I only have an Oculus so anytime I run steamVR the Oculus software has to be running in the background. I just minimize it and run steamvr then Run openvr and set it up as motion compensation then hit play in the Steam software and select play in steam using steamVR. Hope this helps
  18. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I've tried injecting ED with Revive and Patching it, but ED doesn't show up in the Revive library.

    I understand that Oculus will need to run for the Rift, but it always takes focus of the game. I just can't get steamvr to take control.
    I have no problem with Assetto Corsa and have the motion cancellation working very well. Though AC does support openvr.
  19. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I just reread your post, I'll try using this sequence. Thanks.
  20. kparkin

    kparkin Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2018
    Messages:
    51
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    No, that doesn't work. Always uses oculus instead of steam, even with steamvr running. Most perplexing.