1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Balance:
    1,269Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    The rift camera is passive whereas the vive basestation is active with sub millimeter precision mechanical laser emitters. Exposing that to the vibrations of a motion rig is a recipe for disaster.

    I think the best vive solution is to mount the tracker rigidly enough to avoid any play while still isolating it sufficiently to avoid it vibrating excessively. The best rift solution... dare I say it... buy a vive! It doesn’t look like oculus care to much about adding motion cancellation.
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,656
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Never mount a Vive base station to a rig, as they have high speed motors driving emitters for the laser and are easily damaged by vibration.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    253Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Good to know! Looks like I'll have to go the Vive route or wait for the Pimax 8k :)
  4. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I wont try to mount the base stations on the rig, its not required.
    The current set up is working, the anti vibration plate will be for the Tracker, if it helps that is, I will try.
    Could you please look at my settings and give advice on whether they are working in Harmony or conflicting, everything feels ok its just I don't know myself and would like some guidance and reassurance for the longevity of the motors and parts.
    The above post (407) has the video of how the rig is moving with these settings.
    Xsim Settings With MS1.PNG Xsim Settings With MS2.PNG
  5. greatg67

    greatg67 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I have a Vive Pro. Can you provide the steps you followed in setting this up? I have the Vive tracker mounted on the back of my chair.
  6. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Yes no problem, if helps people get a better experience and really be able to push their hardware, then Great.
    I've been waiting for this to come along, when I bought my motion sim I always had in the back of my mind it would be possible.;)
    I'm doing a guide and it will be ready in a while, with pictures and screen shots.:grin
  7. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    HTC Vive - Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide.
    HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_01.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_02.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_03.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_04.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_05.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_06.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_07.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_08.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_09.jpg HTC Vive Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide_Page_10.jpg
    • Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2018
  8. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    HTC Vive - Vive Pro VR Motion Cancellation Setup Guide.
    PDF version

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,656
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    90,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,641 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  10. greatg67

    greatg67 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    A big thank you! This is wonderful work.
  11. greatg67

    greatg67 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    A question, so you first need to install OpenVR and set it up for the Tracker correct? Then using the guide you can configure for games? Does this have to be done for each game when you want cancellation
  12. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Yes install first as guide says, Then for each time you use it you have to apply the settings in the guide, unfortunately they dont save or default back to the last ones you used. Once you get use to it takes literality no time, I do mine in 20 seconds, its done.
  13. dododge

    dododge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    For what it's worth the Vive tracker (2018 model) is supposed to work while plugged into USB, at least according to the manual. I haven't even done the wireless setup on mine and have only ever used a wired connection.

    That said, it seems to be very finicky about the USB connection. On multiple occasions I'd get everything set up and tracking but the moment I started driving the tracker would immediately (and consistently) disappear from SteamVR. When this happened, getting it to show up again could be an ordeal.

    As I recall, I moved it from a USB 3 hub shared with a bunch of other gear to its own port attached to a motherboard header, and that seemed to help.
  14. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    171Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I'm finding with the tracker that if I have the USB plugged in for charging and switch it on once steam VR is loaded it wont track,
    I always leave it unplugged an its fine, never lost racking so far and I have done loads of races now,
    once it is tracking I can plug in the USB for charging and it stays stable and tracks no problem.
  15. D.C. Moore

    D.C. Moore New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    NC USA
    Balance:
    89Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    Would it be possible for someone to post a step by step guide for setting up motion cancellation using an Oculus Rift for those of us new to this type of software and hardware (maybe similar to what is shown above for the HTC Vive) A video would be even better. So far I have been able to determine that I need to download OpenVR (done) and then remove the sensor from my rig and mount the right touch controller to the back of my chair. Quite frankly after that I am completely lost as far as setting up the software and making games like iRacing that are not run through Steam work. There are obviously some very smart people on this forum who have a much deeper understanding of the intricacies of these platforms. If you could step it out for those of us that are brand new to the world it would be greatly appreciated.
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    575Coins
    Ratings:
    +114 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    As far as I know (someone correct me if this has changed) motion cancellation still doesn't work properly for Oculus Rift. I switched to a Vive back around Christmas and am very happy. Only problem now is I'm ready to play Dirt Rally again and there is still no SteamVR support! =( I'm pretty sure if I run through ReVive I will have the same issues with motion compensation as running it on a Rift but I may try it just to be sure.

  17. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Balance:
    1,269Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    I got an email from nextlevelracing stating that VRHeadway works with the Oculus runtime. This is completely counter to everything else I’ve read regarding manipulating oculus sensor data at the driver level. Does anyone know how they are doing it?

    FeelThree have said they are waiting on new software from Oculus for their motion rig. We will no more later today when their kickstarter launches. Hey @Trip Rodriguez have you been moonlighting for feelthree? This looks a lot like your goatee man lol

    213D7BF8-85F9-4A86-A77A-CED9FEF94761.png
    • Like Like x 2
  18. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    575Coins
    Ratings:
    +114 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    LMAO, it does look like me a bit.

    I actually got Dirt Rally working via ReVive (but not running the Oculus runtime) using this guide https://github.com/LibreVR/Revive/issues/887 Scroll down about halfway and start with Raffi100 's list of steps, but read down farther before starting. I installed Oculus Home, copied the two DLL's, then uninstalled Oculus home and followed the rest of the instructions and it's running just as perfectly as I would expect if it was native. Motion compensation working absolutely flawless as well! Then I got myself a bit motion sick working on tuning a profile LOL.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. Clayton2318

    Clayton2318 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Delaware
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Joyrider
    Trip - a while back you mentioned you were able to get the Oculus to work by moving the cameras up to eye level, and closer to your face. Is this still working? It seems Vive is the better option, but I can't really switch as I just shelled out a couple thousand on the motion rig itself (and have been unable to use it do to the oculus issues)
  20. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Balance:
    1,269Coins
    Ratings:
    +97 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    So guys it seems it’s possible to run two oculus applications at the same time with the oculus runtime. It’s possible to make one of them invisible, it’s also possible to call the tracking data in the hidden app, manipulate it and then have that manipulated data passed to the second app. See where I’m going with this :)

    Do we have any rift owners in the group who are familiar with the Oculus SDK and willing to do some coding? It could even be incorporated into simtools.