1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Thanks for the replies,
    With the tracker mounted securely on top of the wheel base its pretty good, I think the vibrations coming from the wheel base are not helping though.
    With it mounted on the top of the seat not great but it wasn't secured properly, this was a testing phase.
    Before using this solution the tracking was rock solid just using the Pro but had to restrict to motion of the rig, still decent but always wanted more.
    With testing of the tracker on the rig I used a lot more motion, done a few laps and it was pretty good.
    I will secure the Tracker better today and do some more testing,
    I was going to purchase a DJI Osmo Mobile 2 Gimbal for £129.00 and mount the tracker on that then mount that on the rig, Any Thoughts on that?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,463
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,652Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,473 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Properly mount the tracker and rule out possible vibration/tracking issues first.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
  4. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Ok Cheers
    I will properly mount the track first, I'm using a carbon Fibre bucket seat so I will try it on top of that, maybe that will help take out some vibration.
    The one seat time is using looks great, I will read more into that.
    I will update the results from testing later today.;)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Ok Tested with Vive Tracker Mounted relatively securely on Top of Carbon Fibre Bucket Seat.
    Great News this is now working, I've tuned up the Yaw from 5 to 15 and the pitch from 10 to 30 for testing and its great, what relief. I'm driving the Porsche Ruf Track at Barber, This track has got it all for motion with tight corners, nice hills, some quick some slow, and places you need to use the kerbs, the Tracking is pretty much spot on, still room for a little improvement but more than useable, I will spend the rest of the day tuning the motion rig to get a good field of movement that I can enjoy.

    A few pointers so far, I've opted out a Beta, and I'm using the Set Zero setting I think their is a slight improvement with this over using reference tracker.
    I cant thank the maker of this enough, Top Man.
    Simx1.jpg Simx5.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  6. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Great to hear you got it working! :)
  7. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I just finished an extensive test session, I feel sick TBH, you take a bit of getting used to but maybes that my age. [​IMG] [​IMG]
    What i can tell you is you will need two hand held trackers or one tracker and one hand held tracker.
    One on the rig is fine I tried it in lots of positions, the one in the photo at the Top of the seat is the only position that worked for me.
    Every time you start you need to set the tracker in the steam extended settings and then that's it away you go, you can change tracks and cars as you go along without changing the settings.
    When you change track you get that annoying pulsing noise over the speakers that comers with steam and the vive controllers, all you do is touch the thumb button to get rid of it.
    Tracking is completely stable i would say 98%, I want it to be 100% so will take this further and invest in a gimbal later.
    Video Now ready
    [​IMG]
    Thanks again for support.
    If I can help just ask [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Have you tried moving the Base Station Camera closer to the Tracker?

    I think even with Motion Cancellation you still need to have your VR legs before going all out ;)
  9. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Been with the VR for nearly two years, I think the extra motion will take a week or so to get used too,
    I have two base stations, the closest on the ceiling looking at the tracker is two meters.
  10. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Just wondering how these trackers and gimbals are being attached to seats? Are you using clamps? Velcro...
  11. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    Camera clamp, with a 1-inch rubber isolator between the clamp and tracker. Everything is threaded 1/4-20 so it all just screws together easily.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  12. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    Thanks, did you get the parts on Ebay or Amazon?
  13. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,565Coins
    Ratings:
    +116 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    A motorized gimbal on a tracker defeats the purpose! You need the tracker to be able to move with the platform and not be stabilized otherwise it can’t act as a zero reference.
    Seattime is using the gimbal on the rift camera. Not a tracker.
  14. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    Amazon.

    1/4-20 camera clamp. Includes a detachable swivel head. The main issue is getting one that opens wide enough for the seat back. I also had to stick a block of wood between the clamp and the seat because there's a big gap in the back under the fabric.

    1" 1/4-20 isolator. The screw shaft is too long to go into the tracker so I also stacked a couple wide 1/4" washer on there.
  15. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Thanks, point taken.
    I’ve opted to try out this, 15 quid of amazon, I will let you know if it helps.
    I completed my first race this evening with the new settings and motion, it was fantastic.

    Attached Files:

  16. RiftFlyer

    RiftFlyer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Balance:
    1,565Coins
    Ratings:
    +116 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    Having spent a lot of time doing aerial photography and video with rc helicopters in the past I can tell you that vibration isolation is a tricky subject. There are a huge number of variables. Frequency and amplitude of the vibrations, mass of the load, elasticity of the dampers etc... if you want there are lots of things to try and tune the vibrations with the pad you linked above. You can add extra weight, fill the rubber boots with silicone, mount it with gyro tape or gyro gel pads (rc hobby store) or use bolts and washers to compress the rubber doughnuts. All of this will change its absorption properties. There is an iPhone app which graphs vibrations on the screen. You could use that to help get an idea of the vibrations of your platform while tuning.

    The big thing to avoid is causing the vibrations to increase in amplitude due to the isolation being too flexible.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Try using one base station much closer to the rig. I think from previous comments 600mm is ideal as it's less likely to lose any tracking.

    RiftFlyer is correct! The gimbal should be used with the base station/camera. This is what I meant but was getting camera and tracker words mixed up. You'll only need to use a gimbal with the base station if you are mounting it to the rig.

    If you do buy a motorized gimbal, try mounting your base station on the rig behind your wheel base on a gimbal in line with head height. With your tracker puck being secure and the base station on the rig it may make it a near perfect solution for motion cancellation.
  18. JMB3D

    JMB3D Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    491Coins
    Ratings:
    +29 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Good advice, this is all new learning and testing.:thumbs
    I've moved one of my Base stations directly above the Tracker on the ceiling so is now 700mm apart.
    I'm actually starting to wonder because I've opted out of Beta whether that could have an effect on graphics, although extremely marginal!
    However this turns out Right now is working very well indeed:D
    I'm a backer of the Pimak 8K so when that eventually arrives it will be more testing;)
    I will post my Xsim settings later today and would gratefully ask for some advice on fine tuning the rig. (4Dof)
    • Like Like x 1
  19. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Balance:
    649Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0 / -0
    While I admittedly have not dared to try it, even with a gimbal it seems like a very bad idea to mount a Vive base station on anything that moves. It's not a camera, it's a laser emitter with mechanical parts spinning around at high RPM inside.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    289Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    I'm not to sure of the potential issues one would have by mounting the Vive Base Station to the rig but I've seen many Oculus Rift mount their Cameras to the rig without issues. If I was a Vive owner I'd definitely do more research on this first before mounting it to the rig :)