1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    No worries mate. Thanks for all the info! Really appreciate it :)
  2. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    The motion cancellation software work with the current steam version, just need to updated to the latest motion cancellation version (V1.3).
    I use it with my HTC Vive. Sadly Rift doesnt work well with it, black lines (on my case completely broken because I have a 360 YAW system).
    If your system has almost no YAW, then Rift may work ok for you.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. splendiddd

    splendiddd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    Guys, Does anyone know if this will work with the Samsung Odyssey? I also have a Rift but i use the Odyssey for simracing and flight because the screen is so much better.

    I am planning making a new motion rig after 8 years but need to know if this could work. Because of the inside/out tracking. Would a controller of the odyssey work? Does it need to be in sight of the HMD? Or does it use the internal gyro of the controller to compinsate? Or am i totaly wrong here.

    Cheers
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2018
  4. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Why not just test it ? No need of an actual motion rig to test if the motion cancellation work.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. dododge

    dododge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    The controller would almost certainly have to be in view of the headset, otherwise it quickly stops doing positional tracking or worse starts drifting around. At least that's what happens when using it for normal gameplay and it ends up out of view for more than a couple seconds. I suppose in theory you could suspend the controller in front of you using an arm attached to the back of the seat or something like that, but I suspect (not tested) that having it far from the seat headrest would make the compensation a bit weird or less effective, assuming you could even make that mount stable enough to keep the tracking from bouncing around.

    About a month ago I had a Vive headset and tracker working for compensation, and I tried using an Odyssey with the Vive tracker. Both devices tracked their own position just fine, but their tracking spaces were wildly misaligned inside SteamVR. This is a known issue when mixing Vive and non-Vive devices and in theory you can set position and rotation offsets to get them to line up, but that alignment process is very manual and tedious and I never did get things lined up and working.

    I noticed a couple days ago that there is now a calibrator tool that lets you use a Vive controller to mostly automate the alignment process, and in his demo video where he auto-aligns a Vive wand with an Oculus touch, he then turns on a Vive tracker and it automatically picks up the alignment as well. That's hopeful that it might also work for aligning the tracker with the Odyssey but I haven't actually tried it yet.
    • Informative Informative x 2
  6. splendiddd

    splendiddd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    283Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    Thanks for the info. Maybe the vive pro would fill the gap to a plug and play solution, but for me its way to expensive for now. Especially since the Odyssey work great for me now .
    Anyway will test some stuff this weekend with the odyssey.
  7. dododge

    dododge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Yeah Vive Pro probably works out of the box but I'm not going to buy one either since I already have the Odyssey with the same resolution. I'm hoping that the new Pimax headset will also be easy to get going since it uses the Vive tracking system.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Alexander Asner

    Alexander Asner New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    33Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, SCN6
    I was worried about the same thing when I bought my motion rig but found out later that it was unnecessary. Depending on what motion rig you have for sim racing I would not really bother. I am using an Odyssey for sim racing with a prosimu 3DOF and the movements are very small. Your head is bouncing around in a real car as well and if you predominantly concentrate on forces and not movement meaning to heavily favor surge instead of pitch e.g. I would say that the movement helps to avoid motion sickness rather then induce it. I lately found that out when I was driving around without motion for a while. It took some getting used to and I had a strange feeling in my stomach for a few seconds.
    Now in flight simulation where you try to simulate a lot of the movement of a craft or in a rig with a lot of throw that would be probably a different story.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Do you think for your 3DOF if you mounted the Oculus Rift Camera to the rig so it's moving with the Traction Loss (Yaw) it wouldn't have the black lines showing?

    I'm guessing these black lines only show on Oculus Rift when the Camera is stationary and the Touch Controller tracking moves too far out of the frame with Yaw. It might be possible to eliminate this if the Camera moves with the Touch Controller?
  10. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Haven't tried yet.
    Without motion compensation it is now impossible to do this as oculus changed the code for sensor elevation in a previous update; but I haven't tried with the cancelation and a touch controller to see if the elevation reset issue is still there...
    I'll report back, if I test this.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    It would be good if you can test. Unfortunately I won't be able to setup my motion cancellation for another few weeks.

    Maybe try testing by turning the camera either left or right on the spot following the touch controller (replicating YAW/Traction Loss as if camera is mounted on the rig). If no black lines show up then this means that the camera following the touch controller is a fix for Oculus Rift users :)

    This is the first I've heard about the sensor elevation issue. What exactly is happening with the elevation with a motion sim?

    Cheers
  12. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    I'll try to do it soon.
    The black lines is not a really good way to describe the problem.
    It's more like when you start turning (yaw) the screen gradually get black(and somewhat distorted). If you yaw at 180 degree, screen is all black.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Appreciate you doing this yaw test! Looking forward to hearing what you find. Thanks

    I think I get what you mean with the black lines/screen. Once the camera capture point is out of focus it no longer generates the image in those areas causing you to see nothing (black screen).
  14. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Tested and not working. It is as I suspected, when the camera is moving/ especially tilting/rolling, the Oculus seems to reset the pose / viewscreen. Unless using a Gimbal stand as seattime, it doesn't work.
    So for me HTC Vive with motion cancellation is the only way with my 360d yaw.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018 at 18:30
  15. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    128Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Thanks for testing. Did you try just turning the camera left or right on it's spot? As if the camera was in a fixed position and is simulating moving left or right with the whole frame for Traction Loss.

    I've got a 3DOF Simx Simulator (Seat Mover) and the cockpit frame moves on top of the Traction Loss base. Only my seat has pitch and roll which the Touch Controller will be mounted to.

    I've attached a picture to show what I mean. Hopefully this makes more sense. My thinking behind it is the Camera is always in a stationary fixed position moving in the same frame as the Touch Controller when using Traction Loss yaw. It shouldn't lose the Touch Controller as it never leaves it Line of Sight. SIM OR SENSOR.jpg
  16. JMB3D

    JMB3D New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    10Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hello, and thanks to the maker and for all the info by members, a lot to catch up with.
    I use Vive Pro, high end custom pc, fasetech race cube 4 dof motion rig, up until now I’ve had my settings restricted for movement of which I’ve been reasonably happy with, however with the development of the Vr I hoped that I could turn up the settings one day,
    I downloaded and installed the open vr, I set a Vive tracker as the motion compensator and it worked, great.
    The only thing with only 3 hours of testing so far, I’ve noticed that the Vr view isn’t stable, not to bad on the straights and slow bends but in tight bends and especially if I mount the kerbs, rumble strips it’s worse, I’ve tried the Vive tracker mounted on top of my wheel base and behind my head on top of the seat, I’ve also had a few glitches where the tracking jumps and I’m out the car or sucker into the dash.
    I would greatfully request some feedback and advice to help me get the system stable so I can unlock the potential of the motion sims movement, I’m using it with IRacing only.