1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. benmax

    benmax Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ,
    I was using the steam vr beta and all was runing well.
    I downloaded the normal steam vr app and everything works perfectly.
    I just had a problem because I updated revive and forgotten to re-patch steam games used.
    I confirm that with oculus the motion cancelation feature still works great with assetto corsa pcars 1 & 2 and dirt rally.
    Fir vive i can't answer
  2. benmax

    benmax Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It works great with oculus
  3. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    814Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    I use on vive pro. In fact, motion canc. Its a soft. Made for vive, and your trackers... also works on oculus too.
  4. clyevo

    clyevo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    can you confirm cancellation for yaw works, last time i use the screen move with yaw thus creating a black bar at the edge
  5. paulopsx2

    paulopsx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    brasil
    Balance:
    814Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, yaw and black bars continue with problems, tested now on rift.
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I've gone back to mounting the camera on the sim.
  7. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +869 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I haven't been running the Vive Pro with motion cancellation yet. I've been waiting for the native support that still hasn't been baked in and with a low displacement 2 dof it's not completely necessary. But I don't think the Pro should be any different from the regular Vive in regards to motion cancellation. The Pro can use either 1.0 or 2.0 Lighthouse tracking and tracks fine either way. I've done it with both. I don't see any reason they would be different in SteamVR between them in regards to tracking but cannot say for certain.

    I replied again on the motion cancellation feature request thread on Steam but very few have chimed in so they don't really know how many would benefit or how popular it would make the Pro and Vive, especially on 6 dof platforms.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. clyevo

    clyevo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    The only for rift to work properly with the matzman plugin is if oculus adopt openVR completely just like vive
  9. clyevo

    clyevo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    185Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    What kind of native support is in development? Do you mean for motion cancellation on motion simulators or maybe a different approach to the problem. Can you point me to the steam forum threads. Thanks
  10. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have a '8K' Open VR Headset hopefully in my future - so I'm not too stressed :).
  11. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +869 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don’t know what, if any, progress has been made. I had a private discussion with a Valve employee who said they had it on their road map and it was a planned feature. It’s motion cancellation in general where one controller or a tracker is designated as a reference and other tracked items have its motion subtracted away. That would not only allow subtracting away motion, but also adding motion (as nauseating as that sounds.

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/358720/discussions/0/133261370015355414/

    No idea if this will help and it could even be that with the low numbers of requests that it may even have hurt.
  12. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    1,193Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    when I tried it, they worked badly, black windows appeared on the sides when turning, nor did it cancel the movement of the seat, I noticed that you brides on the opposite side, the image was not still
  13. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    So maybe I'm breaking new ground here, but I'm trying to use a Vive tracker (2.0) for motion compensation with an Odyssey headset and it's not going well. Has anyone managed to use that combination successfully? My tracker is attached to USB without using the wireless dongle (this is supposed to be a supported configuration per the documentation).

    If I use the tracker with a Vive headset, things work as expected. But the Odyssey has noticeably better picture quality so I'd really like to use it instead of the Vive. I can use the Odyssey without motion compensation, but my 4DOF has some fairly large movements and the visuals end up a bit floaty.

    I made some tweaks to "steamvr.vrsettings" based on what folks are doing to get Vive wands to work with a WMR headset. When I try to combine the two devices, typical behavior falls randomly into several categories:

    - Sometimes SteamVR completely fails at startup with error 301 "key component of SteamVR isn't working" which is probably some sort of catch-all error. In this case it can't detect any devices. Solution is to quit SteamVR and Steam (because it apparently caches information or holds some resource used by SteamVR). Then restart Steam, fire up SteamVR, and see if I get a better outcome this time.

    - Another common situation is that SteamVR sees the Odyssey and the tracker, but the tracker is flashing green meaning it's "connected but not tracking". In this scenario the base stations are not detected. Occasionally the tracker will even go to sleep after a while. Again, the only solution seems to be restarting Steam. This also sometimes happens after things initially started better, for example if I'm in the SteamVR grid scene and turn on one of the WMR controllers, sometimes the tracker and base stations vanish from the scene.

    - Occasionally SteamVR detects the Odyssey, tracker, and base stations correctly, but when I go into the SteamVR grid scene my position is crazy, such as 8 feet directly above one of the base stations with the yaw 90+ degrees off. If I turn on motion compensation, the camera does react to movements of the tracker but the result is also crazy.

    I have tried using the device offsets to move and rotate the little virtual tracker to the correct position (which is tedious because I'm hundreds of units away), but when I turn on motion compensation those offsets are ignored and it jumps back to to where it was.

    So I tried moving the HMD's offsets and angles to get my position down in the middle of the playfield where it belongs. An immediate problem is that the WMR wand, which was correctly positioned relative to the headset, doesn't follow the headset. So as I move towards the correct headset position the wand gets farther away and it becomes much harder to point to the right spot in the UI.

    I tried using the "advanced settings" floor fix but it just immediately crashes the advanced settings.

    Sometimes SteamVR complains that the room setup is invalid and requests I run the setup process again. If I try that, it seems like the procedure is not able to be completed with a WMR headset (for example it says to hold the headset in view of both base stations, and then never detects the WMR headset).

    I also can't figure out how to save/load/update profiles, despite seeing someone do it in a video and trying the same procedure. So anything I try with regard to things like offsets ends up being lost.

    Steam VR does at least seem to consistently place me in the same wrong position each time, so I'm guessing there's a file somewhere containing that information that might be tweakable.

    In any case, that's where I stand at the moment. SteamVR+Vive+Tracker works, SteamVR+Odyssey works, SteamVR+Odyssey+Tracker is a mess.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,718
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,793Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,891 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Interesting idea @dododge

    I would suggest you are likely to get better advice from the OpenVR-InputEmulator dev.

    It would also be helpful if you linked what guide you are following re "tweaks to "steamvr.vrsettings" based on what folks are doing to get Vive wands to work with a WMR headset."
  15. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Balance:
    829Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    The changes to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\config\steamvr.vrsettings are just adding some overrides in the "steamvr" section:

    "activateMultipleDrivers" : true,
    "requireHmd" : false,
    "forcedDriver" : null,

    based on http://help.triadsemi.com/steamvr-tracking/steamvr-tracking-without-an-hmd and this video

    For example without that first setting SteamVR only seems to recognize one type of device at a time, so it'd only see a Vive Tracker when a Vive is being used as a headset, even though the tracker is not dependent on the Vive for a connection.
  16. Scott Barton

    Scott Barton New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    Racecar driving coach
    Location:
    NJ
    Balance:
    144Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    Excited to try this! Can someone please post a quick HowTo for someone new to this who doesn't know or understand what everything does. I'm seeing a lot of conflicting information about what is and what isn't needed. Would also be nice so that other newbs don't have t o try to read all 19 pages.
    Thanks!
    • Like Like x 1
  17. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    327Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Hey mate,

    Do you think mounting the camera to a 3DOF seat mover rig with traction loss will fix this "black line yaw issue" with Oculus Rift?

    Say if I was to mount the camera behind the wheel base on the frame that is moving with traction loss and mount the touch controller above my head on the seat?

    There's so much head shaking in VR with a seat mover, hoping to cancel it out so I can see what I'm feeling.

    Cheers
  18. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    When the motion cancellation software stopped working due to a steam update. I mounted my camera back to a gyro-stabilised mount. Picture below from when it was fitted to my old rig. I have never seen a black line yaw issue on my sim, but it does not move that much in yaw - not necessary on my sim.

    camera mount stable.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  19. ANiMESoKAR

    ANiMESoKAR Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    327Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    That's awesome! Got any info on how to build the gyro?

    So you're not using the Motion Cancellation Software at all now? I thought some guys were running the older version to keep using the software.

    I've got a 150mm SCN5 traction loss so the movement is quite a decent amount. Just trying to figure out my best option before I go spending money on this setup. If I can't use my traction loss then I might pass until it's implemented properly with no black lines.

    Maybe if I use a gyro setup like yours mounted on the rig in collaboration with the Motion Cancellation Software (if it still works) with a touch controller on the seat that might be the best way to go?

    Thanks
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It's a camera Gyro - came as a kit of parts. I have a 6DOF so it can move quite a bit - have never had too many issues. I could not stay with the older version of Steam, as some of my Games would not work properly.
    • Like Like x 1