1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    in assetto corsa, you start it in steam vr mode, I just put a reference touch and put the compensation mode
  2. Eliottk

    Eliottk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    48Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Ok, I'm trying it with Project Cars 2 but I can'T get it working.
  3. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    and the turns because it does not compensate them? I want to compensate for the loss traction but if I turn a few degrees the image will be off as if I were looking at a square image, this is so?
  4. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Same problem, has it solved it?
  5. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    This is only for a certain motion platform. But i startet a request if this app could work out for other motion software also.
  6. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Here is the fast answer:
    Hi André.

    At this moment our software is dedicated to work only with our motion platforms to ensure highest possible compatibility and easy of use. We do not support 3rd party motion platforms because compatibility and performance issues. We just don't have resources to tune each case individually. Additionally introducing interface for 3rd party motion platforms would also allow our competitors to use our software for their products and it would involve complicated licenses enforcing procedures.

    Our course we might consider making VR HeadWay a separated product in future, but it will not happen soon.

    BTW. Does your motion platform support forward kinematics so it is able to provide absolute pitch and roll in radians to motion cancellation software?

    Regards
    Paweł Koczan
    MotionSystems
    • Like Like x 1
  7. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Is there a way to fix the yaw? every time the structure turns with the loss traction there are black stripes on the sides as if the screen were moving, that makes the cancellation totally useless
  8. bendrexl

    bendrexl New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm not sure if the developer is monitoring this thread; you could also comment (with your whole setup / settings details) in the GitHub thread the OP linked: https://github.com/matzman666/OpenVR-InputEmulator/issues/4#issuecomment-299575175

    I'm also going to be setting up a Rift on a 3dof platform soon, so I may be in the same boat as you with this problem. I'll update with my experiences.
  9. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks, I'll ask there
  10. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Sadly no, as some others said in the github thread, I also bought a Vive especially for this.
  11. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    And can not you cancel the cancellation of yaw with the software?
  12. Wagnard

    Wagnard Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    85Coins
    Ratings:
    +34 / 0 / -0
    Not that I know of, sorry.
  13. MWB

    MWB Drive it like you stole it!! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Occupation:
    Commissioning Engineer
    Location:
    U.K.
    Balance:
    323Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Hope your all enjoying whats left of your easter weekend.

    I've been trying to catch up with some of the developments, and give my rig a bit of a treat in the way of motion cancellation. For quite some time I've just been putting up the this problem, but a relatively cheep set of unused Oculus Touch controllers popped up on Ebay. $$$

    So I've mounted one of the controllers to my rig, I have decided to mount the controller just in front of my steering wheel.

    I just can't seem to get it to work!!!

    I have installed the (OpenVR-InputEmulator v1.3.exe) I can somewhat get it to work in SteamVR Home, if I move my rig the motion cancellation seems to work but I get black borders around the outside of the Oculus screen.

    I have tried to open PC2 via Steam and the cancellation stops working.

    After trawling through all 18 pages of this thread, I have seen that ReVive is being used to run the Games.

    I've installed (ReVive 1.2.2) and injected Dirt Rally and PC2. (I'm hoping I've done this correctly!!!)

    Dirt Rally loads differently and seems to be the most promising, it's loading through SteamVR but the motion Cancellation is not working!!!

    Likewise for PC2.

    Any help would be gratefully received.

    :think



  14. MWB

    MWB Drive it like you stole it!! Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Occupation:
    Commissioning Engineer
    Location:
    U.K.
    Balance:
    323Coins
    Ratings:
    +144 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
  15. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Doas someone own a Vive pro already? And if yes, doas motion cancelling work with DCS?
  16. traveltrousers

    traveltrousers Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    Timbuktu, Tombouctou, Mali
    Balance:
    251Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    No reason why not... it's on SteamVR so should be fine.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    24,183Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,222 / 18 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Does this still work since steam closed off the VR beta to allow the motion compensation plugin to work?
  18. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    What the....? They do it like occulus, throw out the hole community and build a fence around?!
  19. clyevo

    clyevo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    93Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    [​IMG]
    I am not at home so i cant try this, and i am planning to buy vive pro for this purpose.
    1. Can anyone try to opt-in VR beta in steam like in the picture and test if the plugin still works in this mode.
    2. Did anyone tried vive pro yet? Does it work as well or better than vive with the plugin.
    Thanks
  20. evolaco

    evolaco Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Spain
    Balance:
    944Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    for oculus there is still no solution for cancellation of movement?