1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VR Motion Cancellation - Time to test!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, May 6, 2017.

  1. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Doing my first motion sim tests of this now, I'll report back in a bit!
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  2. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Time to report!

    Sim: DCS World 1.5 UH-1 (NOT STEAM VERSION)
    HMD: Oculus Rift CV1
    Using ReVive inject

    Motion compensation is working, but not as I hoped. First thing is that I often see the edges of my "window" into the world if you know what I mean.

    The big problem is I don't think it is cancelling out rotational head movement, which is what I was really wanting. Rotating the compensating Touch controller rotates the "window" into the world, but the cockpit etc. I see are not affected. When I move it translationally the actual objects in the HMD move to correct.

    What really drives me crazy is that if I have the motion sim use pitch to simulate forward acceleration, my view tilts upward and now I can feel my legs are under the cockpit floor I see in VR.

    Is this supposed to compensate for rotation of the platform as well as translation? I sure hope so. =(

    Trip
    • Like Like x 1
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,751
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  4. misoswan

    misoswan Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Balance:
    849Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, JRK
    What really drives me crazy is that if I have the motion sim use pitch to simulate forward acceleration, my view tilts upward and now I can feel my legs are under the cockpit floor I see in VR.

    I Have to same problem. lol NOT STEAM VERSION,cv1 :( I will be waiting you next report... love Dcs world in motion platform
  5. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    It's good to know I'm not the only one this is driving crazy Misoswan.

    @noorbeast It looks to me like the developer hasn't commented since May 24th at that github thread? Has he been actively communicating elsewhere?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,751
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    No idea @Trip Rodriguez, but I would suggest posting there and give the dev some time.
  7. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I had time now to read all the comments on the github page and see that it definitely is supposed to correct rotations. I posted over there, but will report back with the results after I test with the Vive.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. speedraycer25

    speedraycer25 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    130Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I am using rift. I figured out that needed to turn off theater mode in steam then worked. Got it working but everytime the platform has movement it shakes everything in the game like an earthquake. Decided to downgrade rift back to 1.13 so I don't have to recenter in car camera every second while on the track. Frustrated cause know I can't play Assetto corsa ,use oclulus tray tool. It's seems like I'm not the only one having issues. I do not want customers getting motion sickness because I will be puting this on the floor for commercial use.
  9. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    331
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,751Coins
    Ratings:
    +181 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I like the sound of that. Sensor back on rig? None of the "improvements" since then have been for our benefit. How did you manage to downgrade? Won't it autoupgrade again?
  10. benmax

    benmax Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ,
    I'm also ta the same point and conclusion as you.
    After a copple of hours I achieved to configurate the motion compensation feature with Rift and Revive.
    I'm confused because it's not worked before because I didn't point the right .exe with revive to patch the game .
    I was having 2 steam folder with steam app and I didn't use the right one !!
    Now problem solved and I could check the motion compensation feature !
    Pcars : as my PC configuration I believe is at its limits , the quality with the headset is really bad and the motion compensation not really great also . I 've got lag and like speedraycer25 wrote like an earthqake .My view drops outside the car sometimes up , behind etc ...
    So bad results for me .
    Assetto corsa : it's a little bit better ( no lag and the view in headset is good) but always the same problem with the droping view when accelerating/braking !
    Anyway many thanks to the developper for his job and his support !
    Unfortunatly there is 2 options now for me :
    -roll back to the oculus 1.12
    -give a try with a HTC vive and try to sale the oculus
    Cheers
    Edit : or third choice an improvement of the motion compensation feature ;-) I would be very happy !
    Thanks
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2017
  11. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I am installing my Vive right now, I will report back on my results compared to Rift (DCS through ReVive it was unusable).
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I wasn't able to test much with the Vive yet, but what little I did the motion correction looked near perfect!

    I have a big problem though, and I don't know just yet how big it is. I spent ten hours struggling with head tracking issues, finally concluding that the lighthouse locations were definitely not the problem.

    I just now tracked it down; it's interference from my AC powered motion sim. As soon as I kill power to the sim, the head tracking works perfectly. =(

    I've got a couple things to try here, first is to move my PC away from the VFD's. Second is to try to use a metal enclosure to block EM interference from the VFD's.

    I ran all my motion sim wiring with significant shielding. The Thanos board is in a steel box, the signal wires are shielded security system cable, and the high voltage wiring from the VFD's to the motors is all running inside steel conduit. The only part of the system not shielded is the VFD's themselves and the two feet or so of wire between the VFD's and where they enter the conduit.

    If anyone has already solved this kind of problem with Vive please let me know...

    Trip
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2017
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,751
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just to be sure @Trip Rodriguez are you certain it is interference or could it possibly be vibration, as the Vive base stations are very sensitive to any amount of movement. How have you mounted the base stations?
  14. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @noorbeast The base stations are mounted to the walls with the included brackets, they aren't getting any vibration.

    It's definitely interference, the platform doesn't even need to be moving, just signal going to the VFD's.

    Good news though, I moved the PC a little less than 4 feet away from the VFD's and it's 95% good now. I'll look at moving it even farther to get that last little bit. Right now I'm totally satisfied with switching to the Vive for improved head tracking. It's amazing the difference it makes not having that rotational error we are all accustomed to dealing with, and also no camera jumping around either! It feels so much more immersive now without that rotational error.

    As for the Vive vs. Rift in general, my opinions often differ from others but here it is:

    Initially I felt like the Vive lenses were just terrible, that very small sweet spot people talk about. No matter how much I adjusted it I felt like it was just blurry. All of this was done in the new Steam Home thing. When I finally loaded up DCS though, I got a shock! It looked excellent! I think it's clearer than my Rift up close as the cockpit looks fantastic, though I do think it suffers a bit for distant objects. The difference in screen door effect is very slight, and not even a consideration for me. The wider FOV on the other hand is definitely an improvement!

    I'm 100% switching to Vive for the cockpit experience. I will miss the touch controllers, they are super nice, but actually the amount of time I spend doing "other" VR stuff compared to simming is very small. The Knuckles controllers look like they might be great, we'll see.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,751
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    109,012Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,897 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You may want to check out the VRcover slim 10mm or 6mm covers @Trip Rodriguez, they increase the FOV further and help make the most of the slightly smaller sweet spot, as they put the lenses closer to your eyes.

    https://vrcover.com/product/htc-vive-memory-foam-replacement-velour-10mm/

    https://vrcover.com/product/htc-vive-foam-replacement-6mm/

    I use the 6mm and the Deluxe Audio headstrap makes it much more comfortable: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/got-my-vive-deluxe-audio-strap-today.10422/

    The Valve knuckles controllers, which eclipse Touch, are already shipping to devs, so I am hopeful they will soon be available and hopefully included with the upcoming LG SteamVR HMD: https://www.vrheads.com/valve-knuckles-controllers

    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Index Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    867
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    4,726Coins
    Ratings:
    +869 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I had not seen that Knuckles demo. That's amazing! The finger tracking looks near perfect and the ability to do complex cockpit interaction looks totally there.

    Unfortunately they rest in the palm of your hand so going back and forth between a stick/yoke and finger and hand cockpit interactions may be an issue.

    Shared cockpit things where one pilots while the other dials up nav or comms or whatever with systems will be nuts.
  17. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  18. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hey guys, does anyone know if it's an easy thing to do to use Vive controllers and lighthouses with a Pimax 4K? If so, what about using a SteamVR tracker puck or even a steam controller for head tracking with the Pimax?

    What I'm getting at is trying to get this motion compensation working with Pimax 4K. The other option, which might work really well for me is if I can get a TrackIR or similar setup working with Pimax and disable the gyros. Someone got this working with DCS a while back but I don't know if it is still possible and I don't have a TrackIR any longer to test with.

    PS- I know the Pimax 4K has it's disadvantages, but I'm going to be trying it out as some DCS pilots swear by it.

    PS- Back on topic, I discovered that like some others I can't use the motion compensation with my Bass Shakers running which is a shame. I hope that Matt gets out a new version with a possible fix before too long.

    Trip
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017
  19. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I've been watching this thread with interest, but am still using my close/level with my head - gimbal stabilised tracking camera with my Oculus CV1, which is still working a treat - bass shakers and all, somehow though my setup does not work for everyone Eg @SilentChill :confused:.
  20. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @SeatTime How much angle and translational movement are you using? You are on 6DOF if I recall correctly, right?