1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Vive Pro announced

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by noorbeast, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Being able to read your gauges is pretty sweet. One of the other benefits not mentioned is the fact that you can run with a much lower level of SS; allowing you to turn on more eye candy.
    I tried out and passed on both the Rift and Vive. Bought the Odyssey and knew 5 minutes in that it was a keeper. I imagine the Vive pro will be the same. but with lighthouses to set up.
  2. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    7,978Coins
    Ratings:
    +965 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You'll use a smaller ppd (or SS) because you start with an higher resulution, but in the end the number of pixels that your gpu has to render it's almost the same, so I won't be much optimistic on being able to turn on more eye candyness (with the same hardware)
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +689 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @Doon1 - Lighthouses are trivial to set up. Only takes a moment and unless you move them, only needs to be done once. Setup step takes longer to explain than to do. I’ve only set up a DK2 in Rift land but would guess that it’s also trivial for the Rift. The WMR headsets use inside-out tracking which is more complex computationally and introduces more latency in tracking than either Constellation or Lighthouse. That’s the trade off.

    @Blame73 - But if rendering at the display resolution, you do lose the subsampling step. Don’t know how much that adds to the process but I’d bet that rendering at the Pro/Odyssey resolution is going to be expensive enough that it will take Volta or Ampere to get back to supersampling again. I can't wait! :thumbs
  4. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    7,978Coins
    Ratings:
    +965 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I'll update (from scratch) my hardware just when the new VR gen is released, and it's not going to be cheap...
    Until then I'm keeping my 1070 and the 4670k (maybe a 4790k that's the max my MB can handle).
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +689 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah, VR is an expensive treadmill to be on if you go for the edge. But it’s so damn cool! I’m really hoping gen 2 uses eye tracking and foveated rendering to kind of hold a line on computer requirements. Brute forcing it is tough. I think we’re now at the point where VR will need those kinds of things to overcome the bandwidth limits updating the displays and calculating the images or else it’s going to be really tough to keep advancing after the Pro.
    • Agree Agree x 4
  6. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I know what you mean. I bought a 1080ti just for VR. I just hope the next gen will have foveate rendering so I can hang onto this card for a cycle or two.
  7. PIM1

    PIM1 VR Racer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Occupation:
    Fitness Instructor
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6, Motion platform
    Hi, really looking forward to the pro but worried this will cost $500 so that means £500 in uk. My reasoning is the oddessy is $350 without the delux style head strap and HTC will just add a little more on etc. Hope I am wrong.

    So what price do you think and why ?
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,874
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,838Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,237 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Idle price speculation may be a fun part time pasttime but it can do more harm than good, as was the case when the CV1 Rift was released and it was way above expectations.


    The Vive Pro hmd is a first quarter release so we will find out the price within months. Meanwhile for those who are interested then now is the time to start squirreling your pennies away.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
  9. phreezee

    phreezee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    IT Guy
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    412Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    7,978Coins
    Ratings:
    +965 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  11. phreezee

    phreezee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    IT Guy
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    412Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I priced out the base stations and controllers and it's cheaper to buy the original Vive bundle with the headset than to get them separately with the new HMD. Not sure why they didn't give a bundle price for the HMD as well.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +689 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    They must be waiting on the 2.0 other stuff to ramp up. My bet would be on the Lighthouses since those have some specialized parts. Probably simpler to get one thing out the door than the full kit. My preference would be the full kit but oh well.

    But I made the jump. Can’t wait for the higher res for flying and driving. Now I just need Volta or Ampere and I’ll be good for maybe a year? :grin
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10,874
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    85,838Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,237 / 34 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The bundle release with gen 2 base stations was always going to be released late this year, not now. The Pro at the moment is really meant for prosumers as an upgrade for their existing Vive.
  14. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,696Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    I will wait until they make bundle with new HMD, maybe together with wireless adapter.

    Right now I don't think I could sell only my Vive headset without base stations and controllers, who would buy that? I first wouldn't..

    Anyway, could I get 499 € for Vive bundle bought in 9/2017, 2 bases, 2 controllers, included some VR protective cover and spare foams?
  15. phreezee

    phreezee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    IT Guy
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    412Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Epic fail, the Vive Pro bundle is $1099 USD and includes the old 1.0 controllers and base stations. Can't imagine the price with the 2.0 controllers and base stations.

    https://blog.vive.com/us/2018/04/03...for-1-0-tracking-free-viveport-titles-galore/

    So today we’re announcing the Vive Pro Starter Kit available on Vive.com starting April 5. This bundle pairs the Vive Pro HMD and two Vive 1.0 controllers and two 1.0 base stations for $1099 (USD, regional prices vary).
  16. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +689 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Not really. Apparently the 2.0 Lighthouses aren’t available in quantity yet or it would be a 2.0 bundle instead. The 2.0 Lighthouses are supposed to be a less expensive design to manufacture but that’s not the only consideration in pricing.

    HTC has said that the headset-only package was intended to give present Vive owners an upgrade path and allow people to upgrade now if they wanted. The 1.0 bundle and the 1.0 starter pack of Lighthouses and wands are to fill the gap where people who didn’t already have Lighthouses or wands could buy a Vive Pro without doing as some have been and buying a full 1.0 Vive set to get the parts and also buying the Pro.

    The Pro is expensive but it’s the best available at this time. The resolution boost is at the sweet spot for simulations - especially seeing dials and gauges in aircraft or turns in the distance and turn markers in cars.

    With the WMR headsets and sets like Go and Focus pushing the low end, and so many buying at the low end because of the price, HTC had to realize any new headset, if it was more expensive, would face competition that would cut into sales. It’s only a guess, but to avoid that competition it looks like they are going for the business market with the Pro which is less sensitive to a few hundred dollars price difference if the features are there. While everyone else is going low, they went to the high end and planted a stake. They also dropped the price of the 1.0 by another $100.

    I don’t see a fail at all.
  17. phreezee

    phreezee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    IT Guy
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    412Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    HTC has alienated their followers with their pricing and has faced a huge back lash online.
    If they had released this bundle for $799 with the 1.0 peripherals, they might have had a chance.
    The Pro is definitely not high end outside of pricing and the bump in resolution was not significant and SDE still an issue.
    If it was targeted toward the business market they should warranty sweat damage, but they do not. Just more marketing BS to justify their pricing.

    The Samsung Odyssey has the same resolution at 1440x1600 and the bundle is $499. The lack of trackers is negligible for seated/stationary sim racing.

    With Pimax 5k/8k coming out later this year, HTC will definitely lose market share if they don't do price corrections.
  18. Zed

    Zed VR Simming w/Vive

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2017
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    3,617Coins
    Ratings:
    +689 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Believe whatever you want, but it’s a unique product in an already small market. Incremental upgrade or not, many people are quite willing to pay $800 for the features it offers. Businesses especially are.

    I know you guys think they are ripping you off, but I have a feeling they realize that selling the Pro headset at $399 would get them a lot more sales, a lot fewer people badmouthing them, and a much quicker bump in market share. If they could do that, why wouldn’t they?

    There are people that devote their careers to maximizing the profit in a product. HTC is a big company and no doubt has a few of them. Right now, at whatever costs they have to make each unit, my guess is $800 maximizes profits. Something will need to change in their equation for a different price to do that.

    The other thing is just the cost to manufacture. In short runs, costs will be higher than long-haul runs. It’s an advanced bit of kit and the molds, fixtures, test stands, etc, to build those is a huge investment. They need to be assured of making that money back. And "but, but, but the Samsung Odyssey", you should know Samsung is making the displays and we don’t know costing to HTC. The rest of the Odyssey is pretty cheap to make and because of that, Samsung can price lower and sell more - further reducing costs to manufacture. Those controllers for Odyssey are just hunks of plastic with LEDs on them so the cameras can follow them. Much cheaper than the Vive wands which have pretty close-tolerance and specialized electronics on each tracking sensor and multiple sensors per wand. Lighthouses are also significantly more expensive than cameras. HTC may not be able to do price corrections.

    So, with the Odyssey more in your price range and more suitable to you for simming, it sounds like that’s the best solution for you. But your take on the pricing of the Pro is flawed. They priced it where they priced it, probably out of necessity not out of any animosity to users which sure seems to be the attitude on so many boards.

    Their chances may be better than you think. The Pro seems to be sold out in lots of places now. Last I saw Best Buy, Newegg, and Microsoft still had them but that was a while ago. The bean counters may have nailed it.

    Mine just got here! Time to go play!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Blame73

    Blame73 Yet it moves!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,128
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    7,978Coins
    Ratings:
    +965 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    The lack of trackers is unbearable for me (I play 99% sim racing). No tracking makes me puke in no time
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    192Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I'm also suprised that the price is that high. Its the same as the initial price for the Vive, but without lighthouses and controllers, I was guessing that it would be included at that price, and the Pro headset alone would be about the same price as the Vive package...

    If i bought the Pro I probably couln't sell the old one without controllers/lighthouses, and it is two expensive to just be collecting dust...

    So I will wait until the price drops or till the true next gen. I am a bit worried for the future of VR, it seems as most people (and reviewers) forget about racing/flying and therefore it looks like VR is dying, which could end up beeing a self-fulfilling prophecy(!)

    If i didn't have Dirt Rally or Project Cars 2 i'm sure that my Vive wouldn't be used that much, as there is long between real games...