1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

VFD's and 3phase Induction motors FAQ corner / pls. Read all first

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by speedy, Dec 23, 2013.

  1. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Hello what's up speedy? You don't know me, but I know you lol.
    I was hoping that I didn't need a gearbox.
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  2. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Here is a gearbox:
    TEC FCNDK50- Right-angle Worm Gearbox for 4 Pole 80 Frame B14 Motor (motor is not included).
    Ratio: 15:1
    Output Speed: 91.3RPM for Input Speed at 1370RPM (50Hz)
    Max Output Torque: 69Nm
    Efficiency: 79%
    Max Input Power: 0.85kW for 4 pole motor.

    Output with 0.55kW 4 Pole Motor - 0.43kW x 91.3RPM at 50Hz - 45.4Nm at 1.5 Service Factor.

    Lubrication: Synthetic Oil, sealed for life and maintenance-free
    Input flange and shaft socket to suit IEC 80 Frame Motor. 19mm bore diameter, 120mm flange with 4 x M6 Tapped holes equispaced on 100mm PCD with 80mm register.
    Weight: 3.5kg

    There is another just like it, except for different mounts: Model FCNDK50
    Input flange and shaft socket to suit IEC 80 Frame Motor - 19mm bore diameter, 200mm flange with 4 x 11mm holes equispaced on 165mm PCD with 130mm register.
  3. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    But what speed?
    [​IMG]
  4. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    I would think, the lower speed is better, since we need to be about 25 rpm.
  5. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Wow you said 50:1. I don't know why I posted that 15:1 :confused:
    50:1
    https://inverterdrive.com/group/Gearboxes/TEC-FCNDK63-27RPM-right-angled-Gearbox-550W/
  6. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Oh ok, I was hoping the driver controlled RPM and would allow 20-30 RPM without a gearbox. Much to learn grasshopper.

    Edit: I would much rather the smooth look over the TEC I linked, but can't find a motor/gear pair that comes close to the price.

    [​IMG]
  7. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    :cheers Thanks for that info! Caught it while reading this again.

    Thank you!
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 25, 2017
  8. Mmcool

    Mmcool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    1,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 7 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  9. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    For a 180 degree crank arm that moves top to bottom with its maximum speed in 1 sec. then a full revolution is achieved in 2 seconds => the RPM of this crank arm is 30 ...

    With a gearbox that is a 50:1 ratio the motor speed should be in the range of 1500 RPM or higher with a normal VFD settings " No over frequency driving is needed " .

    The gearbox should be rated with the same HP as the motor .

    This used motor is from USA and the gear labeled having a torque of 450 lb-in with an output speed of 125 RPM ...
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SEW-EURODRI...664544?hash=item3acd9c2120:g:S4oAAOSw8gVX6TmV

    this one is new condition having 926 lb-in and 12-72 RPM ...
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/SEW-EURODRI...677148?hash=item1a25f0a35c:g:wUIAAOSwTuJYpczi

    I love SEW EURODRIVE:thumbs .
    Have Fun :popcorn
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2017
  10. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    "ThatDudeThere Stated: Edit: I would much rather the smooth look over the TEC I linked, but can't find a motor/gear pair that comes close to the price.

    The TEC design "allows" for quicker dissipation of heat with the fins..........may not be as much for "eye candy" but sure does the job.

    Tom
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0

    Interesting motors. My first concern is having slightly mismatching motors if I can't find 3 exact.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Good point, and I did consider that maybe the fins are needed because of the cast iron. Also, "why did they use cast iron? Is it because their motors get hotter than others?" I do like the smooth look, but I also like this industrial classic look, but it will be more to clean the fins.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Extremely informative videos :thumbs guys ...
    You have to watch and understand all the VFD related wiring/operation here ...
    And as mentioned before all the needed programming through the front panel for a VFD is just the start/stop timing and what terminals to be used for the operation commands & the frequency commands .




    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  14. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  15. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    NOT needed here ...:thumbs
    As long as you're using a gearbox that will prevent the load from spinning the motor's rotor generating a feedback voltage to the VFD ... otherwise the VFD will handle the start/stop/reverse pretty much easy .

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. That Dude There

    That Dude There Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    430Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 1 / -0
    Thanks! I found a GS1 VFD used that I couldn't pass up, so it's on the way! (I have to stay off of ebay until I pay some bills first) :(
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    14,918Coins
    Ratings:
    +429 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I use GS1 VFD's in my setup. Great product.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Some Things that are necessary for any simulator ...


    Main Circuit Breaker ...
    abb-s202-c2-abb-mcb-600.jpg

    Indicator light ... that are useful to see if you have a good power to your devices ... they comes with different voltage ratings for all operating voltages stages .
    3-Pcs-AD16-22D-S-Green-Yellow-Red-LED-Pilot-font-b-Light-b-font-font.jpg DSC00024.jpg c6cd03b8-1a6a-2cbf-9762-162fe35b4827.jpg





    A "Kill switch" or "Emergency switch" that a must be used with the power source of the motors or the motors driver ... some models come with indicator lamp and some of them comes with a KEY for the ON state ...
    577c05b2daffcbotões,comutadores e sinaleiros.jpg download.jpg 16475-9963801.jpg

    These "Emergency switches" can provide about 3A max. for operating a CONTRACTOR like next pictures in case of using big Amps AC- voltage ... I suggest using a 220v coil [A1-A2] contactor type as it can be easily wired in parallel to the hot input without any external power supply and still gives you a full operation control .
    s-l1000.jpg 3446583.jpg


    Those Plugs are very useful and cheap ...
    5pin.JPG gbmelec_155634845_s.jpg


    For Cables / Computer / Control shielding ... I suggest this Aluminium Tap .

    3203-Aluminum-tape.png
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,554Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,269 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform



    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  20. Konsta

    Konsta New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    103Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hey guys,

    first of all thank you for all the informations in this thread.

    im just doing some researches on which AC-Motors i should use for my 6DOF stewart platform.
    For a lever of about 160 to 200 mm and a overall platform weight of approx 200 kg i chose these motors with 50:1 wormgear (which is selflocking from external load at this size) and VFD; output speed 56 RPM 136 Nm.
    From my calculations, for the static load approx. 6x 55 Nm are necessary. The rest of the torque (81 Nm) is for acceleration reserve and reserve in general (i would like to reach at least +0,5 G).
    With VFD the lever should rotate by 180° at 10Hz in 2,7 seconds (0,06 m/s for Heave) and at 60Hz in 0,45 seconds (0,36 m/s for Heave) and should be (theoreticall) able to reach 3G, which will be limited either by physical or software limits to +0,5 to 1 G (hope so, im waiting for exact values of mass of moment inertia from motor and gearbox by supplier).

    I'm not sure if the speed / torque is too high or low, as opinions drift apart in forums.
    Maybe some experienced users could give me a Feedback, if im completely wrong or on the right path to a AC actuated 6DOF :sos.

    Greetings

    Konsta