1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tutorial Using Oculus Rift with a buttkicker/transducer

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by GWiz, May 22, 2019.

  1. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    74
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    677Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I do all my simracing in VR and thought this might be useful for those who do the same and have trouble getting their bass shaker to work nicely with the Rift. I don't currently have a separate sound card and so use my butt-kicker using the bass channel rather than a proper program such as Simvibe or Simshaker.

    The rift can now mirror it's audio and you can get a bass shaker to work relatively simply using this method but it's possible to get much more control using a free program called Voicemeeter. The idea with this is that you have your game pointing towards the Voicemeeter input which can then copy and alter the audio to other devices. I have mine pointing towards the Rift (headphones), my speakers (For the buttkicker) and also to a Virtual Audio Cable (Another free program).

    Annotation 2019-05-21 193556.png


    I then feed the virtual cable back into the buttkicker and by using the equaliser, you can fine tune if you want the low or high rumbles to be more noticeable as well as having finer control over frequency cut-offs etc.

    Annotation 2019-05-21 193650.png

    Annotation 2019-05-21 193729.png


    This may be overly complicated and arguable may introduce a bit of latency to the rumbles, but my butt doesn't notice if it does! :grin

    I would presume that getting a separate soundcard and running one of the shaker programs would give superior results, what are peoples views on these? One big downside of running a shaker off the bass is that you get rumbles where there shouldn't be any. (With putting on the windscreen wipers in project cars 2 for example!)

    Anyway, hopefully this is of some help to those who have a relatively basic hardware setup like me.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You can do everything with Simhub. its available here: https://www.racedepartment.com/downloads/simhub-diy-sim-racing-dash.10252/
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,959Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,129 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2019
  5. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    74
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    677Coins
    Ratings:
    +40 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thanks, I just discovered Simhub the other day and it's great. I've been using the shaker section to add in effects for suspension effects and wheel spinning. Because I use a rift which uses USB for audio, I don't need a separate soundcard either. (Not that they are expensive anyway). I've been feeding the Simhub into the Aux input in Voicemeeter which allows both bass audio effects as well as the specific effects from the vibration software. Takes a bit of fine tuning to make sure everything doesn't get too muddled, but I enjoy a bit of tinkering!
  6. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    45Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm using the motherboard onboard sound for simhub and the oculus sound as my in game sound. Whenever I need sound outside of the rift I just quit simhub from the taskbar. I only have 1 transducer hooked up to the left channel of my amp so I hooked a regular speaker to the right channel. Just flip the balance to the speaker when I want sound.
  7. p00ky

    p00ky Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Self Employed Laser Cutter
    Location:
    Wales
    Balance:
    304Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey noorbeast, sorry to bother you but you seem to be the man in the know :) I have the simtools diy license, I did pay for it supoose to get it for free but does that mean I cant use the GameVibe plugin? do I need the pro license? & if so is there an upgrade path from DIY to pro?

    I've ordered a buttkicker gamer 2 & just looking into ways of implementing it beyond it being driven simply by the game audio & wondered what your thoughts were.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,543
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,959Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,129 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes a Pro SimTools license is need for all companion app module access, like game Vibe and Game Dash:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/marketplace/categories/official-companion-apps.32/

    Upgrading from the DIY to Pro SimTools license can be done by logging into SimTools.us. There you will find an upgrade path for a DIY license to Pro for $29.99: https://simtools.us/member-login/

    Use the email you purchased the License with, and if you don't have a password, click reset password.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. p00ky

    p00ky Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Messages:
    69
    Occupation:
    Self Employed Laser Cutter
    Location:
    Wales
    Balance:
    304Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey man, thanks. I did have a quick look yesterday on simtools.us but must have missed the option, I'll take another looker once the buttkicker has arrived. I do love a good upgrade :) & thanks again, you really are beyond helpful, we n00bs salute you sir :D