1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Using Chinese actuators?

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Abdulb, Sep 3, 2015.

  1. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,772
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,336Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,479 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Page 5 and 6 of my thread has some pics of my Levers and motor's, And for pot mounting go with something Directly on the shaft but incorporate "Flex couplers" to protect the Pot" motor's from Pgsaw should have a 1/2" or 12.7mm shaft, so you'll need the Appropriate Couplers. 1/2" to 6.35mm Links can all be provided when the time comes. My flex couplers can be seen on page 18
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2015
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Not sure how simple you want.
    You need a "sensor" in this case a Potentiometer mounted to "read" off the motor shaft or the controller will not know where to motor position is. It took me a bit of time in the beginning to understand this as well.
    @Nick Moxley , I think has more detailed photos of his set up.
    But heres mine 2014-03-28 10.35.20.jpg
    I drilled a hole into the back of the motor shaft the size of the pot shaft. In hindsight now I do not drill right through both, but enough to tap a small grub screw into the top part to tighten against the pot shaft so it holds steady.
  3. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I could get away with using an average coupling for the pot shaft, right? But how would I add a threaded end to the other side of the gearbox where the lever eventually gets added on?

    Like in this picture that @Nick Moxley posted, what is the giant nut going on? And how is that attached the gearbox? I see a black coupling with a grub screw, is that really all it needs? So I could just use a normal coupling, put a grub screw through it and couple it with a threaded shaft?
    http://s150.photobucket.com/user/da...review_image_0_26492742x_zpse667a059.jpg.html
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,772
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,336Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,479 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The large Nuts "pinch" the Gear box but Aren't technically enough to prevent it from Turning when loaded or something goes wrong, The Grub screws are there to help with that, I have since gone on to Also Use a codder pin on the Tightening nut as you can see in my Flex coupler picture.

    The 2 Nuts have been Super squeezed together then Welded on the lever end....So i just slide the lever and main shaft as 1 through the motor, Add the tightening nut, Tighten, add codder pin to tightening nut, Add flex coupler, add pot. Done.

    this should help seeing what they look like,

    [​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 2
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If using rose joints then have conical spacers for maximum movement, or consider traditional tie rod ends: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/heim-rose-joint-conical-spacers.72/

    If using solid shaft keyway gearbox's then levers can be constructed like this, held in place with 2 grub screws. Some use a bolt going all the way through the shaft but keep in mind that weakens it a little:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,556Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,752 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I used these to increase the angle available on mine:

    $_12.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    OH MY GOD. I was so frustrated all day because I couldn't understand. All the threads just skip over this step like it was nothing and I couldn't figure out any way to do it. Thank you all so much. I'm a little too embarrassed to tell you guys what was confusing me. But let me tell you this, the dumbest person of the day award does go to me.

    @noorbeast That idea seems like the stronger solution, but I'm going to have to go with what @Nick Moxley posted.

    Now. I have a very good idea in my head of the structure for the sim. I'm going going to have to wait for my computer to get unpacked (just moved from overseas recently) so I can draw it on Sketchup.

    I understand how the tie rods and motors will be mounted. I'll be using JRK. I'll be using a universal joint from a car to mount the bases. I think I want to use a 360 degree potentiometer just in case. I don't know if I can learn the software bits just by reading. But is it hard if I were to wing it? How much am I looking at for PSUs? Nuts and bolts excluded, what else do I need to start looking into?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just so I am not confusing you there are different types of gearbox shafts, some are hollow and you can use a bolt through them and easily use welded nuts, as @Nick Moxley does, but other gearboxes have solid shafts, so you need to consider other options. In other words how you choose to mount the lever depends somewhat on the gearbox chosen.

    There is plenty of information to help setup JRKs: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/jrk.8/category

    Do download and follow @bsft's excellent JRK guide, ask question if you find something confusing but don't 'wing it', you can easily fry a JRK if you wire it the wrong way. A little bit of research and patients will save a lot of frustration and potentially money.

    You can use cheap 500w LED PSUs from Ebay or modify sever PSUs, which are really cheap: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...ver-power-supplies-as-cheap-powerful-psus.54/

    Posting your plans is a good idea and members will comment and make suggestions.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast I'm not sure how to choose gearboxes. So I figured I would go with the pgsaw option posted earlier. Are there better options for not a lot more?

    I'll definitely look into those. Thanks!
  10. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Just to add. It depends on how heavy you are and what you intend to build. A "standard" seat mover like Nicks, will move 120kg ish with 25:1 boxes on the motors. Although if you wish a little more sturdy setup, meaning the boxes hold when there is no power, then use 50:1. Of course you would have a slower reactions, but a suitable lever and good profile settings will overcome that.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    @bsft I weigh 70kgs. I'm not sure how much my cockpit will weigh. I'm planning to build a tubular frame out of stainless steel tubing. It will basically be the front end of an F1/open wheeler style vehicle. The tubular frame will then be used to build fiberglass components to add the body panels to. I don't think the weight should exceed 120-140kg. I would like to move the whole cockpit. The projector screen will be mounted on the wall in front.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  13. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast 120kg-140kg should be weight of the cockpit with me in it.

    I have a very rough drawing on paper right now. It won't make much sense to anyone but me, haha. As soon as my computer gets unpacked, I'll draw it up on sketchup. I was thinking of a foot mount design too.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The pgsaw motors with appropriate leverage would easily toss you around then.

    You can wait to unpack but a photo of a hand drawn sketch is enough to seek member views on what you have in mind, you can always refine plans later, but whatever works best for you.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    50:1 box motors foot motor mount for sure
  16. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Can you recommend any? I've tried looking for many on eBay. I could do so myself if you could please tell me what sort of specs are considered decent.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,144
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,338 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
  19. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,772
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,336Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,479 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Cheapest Known working motor's have been linked already, Anything new will be a guess and might be more hassle's then you are prepared to deal with.

    The 5th post on this page covers mounting on Solid shafts.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  20. Abdulb

    Abdulb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I'm 99% percent sure I'm getting the those Pgsaw motors. But I was just wondering how people mount levers on various types of shaft. Just out of curiosity. How do people make the keyway kind of levers? I know the Pgsaw motors have a tube through the gearbox, so it doesn't concern me really.