1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom Upgrade 3DOF from 2DOF

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by cyberxu, Sep 24, 2021.

  1. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello All,

    It took me a while to get back building Sim again. Too many great designs and ideas out there that makes me so hard to decide which one to choose from. So I ended up with tis. Please pitch in ideas if you see something wrong with my design. I could use all the help from you all.

    Attached photos are my testing for my electrical and software / hardware..... making sure it will runs first. haha!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    By the way, Could someone verified the 10k pot pinout diagram is actually correct?

    Attached Files:

  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,191
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,768Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Are those wiper motors?
  5. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi noorbeast, yes they are wiper motors (off honda odessey). I have already did the ground mod which i read from forum.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,191
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,768Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am not sure that wiper motors will have adequate power to drive a traditional 3DOF, if that is the design you have in mind?
  7. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    it did cross my mind, my second option is to use the third motor for loss traction movement.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,191
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,768Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,758 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    With wiper motors traction loss may better suit their somewhat limited capacity.
  9. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @noorbeast I love your DX Racer compact build by the way. like the idea of subwoofer post. only if i know how to weld, i definitely follow your foot step. haha
  10. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Question about sabertooth 2x12 dip switch? Do I use option 1 or 2? This is the first time I use sabertooth.
    upload_2021-9-24_22-49-18.png
  11. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I finally got my 3D printer back online..printing my pot holder. Here is more updates and picture of my current build. Also finally received the couplings for the pots. Still awaiting for motor driver (IBT-2) to arrive from China. Because I m not sure my sabertooth 2x12 is good enough. Cross my fingers.
    upload_2021-9-30_14-8-46.png
    upload_2021-9-30_14-9-33.png
    • Like Like x 1
  12. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello All,
    More pictures of my test project. Next will be wiring and SMC testing!! Wish me luck!! HAHA
    upload_2021-10-7_14-7-56.png
    upload_2021-10-7_14-8-22.png

    upload_2021-10-7_14-8-42.png

    upload_2021-10-7_14-8-59.png
  13. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Finally received my IBT-2 today. I followed the SMC instruction for 2 Motors...Getting some action on SMC utilities. But My Motors doesn't move when I turn on power!!! its seem like I can't turn on the motors on SMC utilities. is it a defected IBT-2? Could anyone help?

    upload_2021-10-8_21-14-35.png
    upload_2021-10-8_21-8-3.png
    upload_2021-10-8_21-11-16.png

    Attached Files:

  14. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Does anyone know what I did wrong? I followed my wiring schematic, everything seems right. I just can't turn on my motors. Trying to play with Max limit and Clip Limit, nil joy!
  15. Ties

    Ties New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    110Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think you must turn youre pot manually. Set Max limit and clip limit 250 and place the green feedback line in the middle. Then youre motors can be turn on.
  16. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My pots has arrived...woohoo...can't wait to wire them up.
    upload_2021-10-13_16-3-9.png
    • Like Like x 1
  17. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks for you feedback, I found out that i was using the wrong type of pot. my new pots has arrived, will wire them up and hopefully everything else will work normal. will post more pics as I process.
  18. Ties

    Ties New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    110Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Great! I hope you are get them work :)
  19. cyberxu

    cyberxu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    AME Planner
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Balance:
    746Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    My latest testing of all motors!