1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Unwanted Driving Force GT Vibrations

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Pedro Pablo, Dec 29, 2016.

  1. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Edit:

    Please read this post, now i have a worse problem regarding to the wheel. Please, any help or advice will ge appreciated

    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/unwanted-driving-force-gt-vibrations.9445/#post-120766

    --- Original Post ---

    Some time ago i've bought my first wheel, a Driving Force GT and im happy with it, but im in plans to change it for a G27. Also i'm attending to some game conventions in my city so i'll bring my PC with a lot of racing games and the wheel itself to let the players drive with it, here's an example: https://www.facebook.com/speed.motion.crew/videos/1722682618060311/

    The problem is, when i hook up the wheel to my PC starts the calibration but when it ends the wheel start to vibrate and with no intention to stop.To stop it i need to leave it in a ceration rotation, and the most small movement it start to vibrate again.

    IDK is this problem is common, i'll try to reinstall the firmware from my PC, but i hope to not open the wheel and check there, because im going to sell it in a future. Any help for this peasant? :sos

    Here's a video. Maybe the sound is a bit low, but take a look of the wheel closeup
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2,389Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Loose/broken optical encoder would be my guess, going have to open it up and check the slotted disc on back of motor.

    edit, l looked at few pics of the insides of df gt and it looks like it uses a pot for positioning instead of an optical encoder.
    lt maybe that the pot is getting scratchy/noisy, try unpowering wheel and turn wheel back and forth near the centre, it may get better or the pot is too worn and needs replacement
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  4. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    I've opened the wheel and there's a gear connected to the motor that's keep moving even with the wheel centered. IDK if it's the encoder or maybe a mechanical issue, i never opened the wheel beofre so i dont know to to work with it, maybe getting more deeper to the wheel and see what's failing

    I'm thinking to do some cleaning or even grease again the gears, also there's a bit of dust on the wheel (and more dust and even dirt on my pedals) so I need some advice of cleaning and grease

    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  5. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    You might want to take a look at the encoder wheel, that's the most common source of problems with Logitech's wheels (DFGT, G25, G27...)
  6. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    What i need to look at the encoder?

    Edit: I've got the encoder of the wheel (inside of a plastic black box), there's something that i can do there?
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2016
  7. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    PS: thanks to me now i've got a unsueful racing wheel. Trying to open it and looking for the encoder, when i assembled it again now it doesn't turn it all, it's stay at it certain position and it doesn't complete the calibration. IDK what i did wrong but i messed up :(

    I'll wait for a professional opinion
  8. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    It surely was already broken, it's a cheap plastic wheel. Logitech never seemed to want to solve this problem
  9. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Well, it's a shame because i was really hoped to fix a small problem, now IDK what i can do. I cant sell the wheel here because I live in Chile, unsless someone want to pay the shipment.

    This i have done to the wheel and what happends after that:

    • I moved the encoder
    • Now the wheel makes a sound when it turns
    • When it starts to calibrate it doens't complete the turn
    Seriously, any help will be appreciated, i need to get the wheel operative soon as possible :(
  10. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,045 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Have you seen this?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Yes, now i'm going to watch it again and see what i've done (like the linkin park song)
  12. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2,389Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    When you say that you moved the encoder, was the encoder just spinning on the shaft or did you move it by turning the gears?
    Be careful, that plastic encoder is fragile.
  13. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    It was an encoder inside of a plastic black box, a step side from the motor
  14. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2,389Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    @Pedro Pablo
    Is the encoder loose on the shaft?
    I would say it is slipping. Turn your wheel while looking at the encoder, does it spin. If spin try gently putting finger on encoder, does it slip or spin.
    l would say it is slipping freely now.
  15. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    I'll try that, because i've disconnected a cable from the encoder and now the wheel can calibrate but doesn't come back
  16. OZHEAT

    OZHEAT Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2,389Coins
    Ratings:
    +102 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    @Pedro Pablo
    Are there broken spokes on encoder? if not just apply the fix for slipping encoder wheel.
    Don't try to remove but get some nail polish and put less than a drop between shaft and encoder, let dry then try.
  17. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Ehm, what do you mean with shaft? Sorry, my english >.<
  18. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    This is how looks the encoder right now
    20161229_221409.jpg
    20161229_221440.jpg
    20161229_221420.jpg
  19. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    For now i have this options to do in my wheel:

    Last edited: Dec 30, 2016
  20. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    First to all, happy new year for everyone!
    Second, on the next day of the last post i've connected the wheel and guest what. IT WORKS AGAIN! But now it's make a cranky sound when it turns. but nothing seious. I'm thinking to lubricate it with grease on the gears soon, but IDK what kind of grease. Also, i've checked that the encoder wheel is not 100% straight or parallel with the electronic board, but IDK that will be a problem.

    Now the encoder looks like this (noise included)



    And if you ask me if the vibration still present, yes, it still present, but for now im not going to touch the wheel again, well, only for play and to bring it to some conventions (hoping that the users will be careful)
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2017