1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Troubleshoot sfx and gs-5

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Justin M, Feb 29, 2020.

  1. Justin M

    Justin M New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    89Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    I am currently running a sfx100 setup with thanos controller with a simxperience gs5 seat (for iRacing). Well, not exactly.

    the GS seat throws a ton of errors when the SFX is running. I’ve only gotten both to work together twice for two partial sessions.

    I can’t properly install the simxperience seat if my SFX is powered on. If I get the GS5 running then turn the power on for the SFX it gives the seat controller a time out error and the seat and sim commander software have issues and crash.

    The sfx100 works very well regardless of operating conditions. They are running o. Different ports and that shouldn’t be the issue. We replaced the simx controller.

    I’m at a loss to get these working together. It’s really confused the guys at simxperience as well. Has anyone had any issues like this? I will take and and all help. This is leaving me with a very expensive brick of a racing seat.

    I’ll buy someone a bottle of something nice if you can help figure this out!
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,676Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,684 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It may be a usb port band width issue, just because you plug into a different usb port does not mean you get a separate hub, often they are shared. You can use USBview to see what USB device is plugged into and shares a controller.

    Attached Files:

  4. Justin M

    Justin M New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    89Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    thoughts?

    Attached Files:

  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,890
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    122,676Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,684 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It looks like everything is hanging off the same xHCI controller, so it may be a USB bandwidth issue, the only way to really rule it in or out is to try a pci usb card, the best, so often the most expensive ones, have a separate controller per port, cheap ones tend to share controllers between ports.
  6. Justin M

    Justin M New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    89Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform, 6DOF
    So earlier I tried switching one of the devices to a different USB port. It worked 3 times in a row. Tomorrow I’ll tinker more and have a better idea. Very promising though.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,679Coins
    Ratings:
    +399 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, SCN5, JRK
    Most of the times it's just separating some USB cables into another ports. I wouldn't use GS-Seat + SFX in the same usb hub, for example both devices connected to motherboard or both connected to same external USB hub. Especially since SFX motors produce lot of EMI, there could be a lot of disconnections. I hope you have some external self powered USB Hub or PCI USB hub, it helps a lot in these cases.

    It's also good to use some ferite cores on those USB cables. Just in case, I've actually put ferite cores on pretty much all USB cables like pedals, button box, SFX controller etc, it doesn't cost much.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Guzz226

    Guzz226 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    12Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    What was the other idea?
    Have you solved it?