1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tronic's AMC motor motion-controller with pwm/servo output

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by tronicgr, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    No!!! Your 2DOF is super very realistic! Good job!!!
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    yes I saw that link , its a good design
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    your comment
    "Hehe, exactly like coin-op arcades... lol"
    I resent that. LOL on end or not
    • Old Old x 1
  4. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Oh noes... someone stole your idea...

    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 21, 2014
  5. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,181
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,683Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,245 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Fully agree. Only when you have 6 completely independent axis – which is certainly not the case with a Stewart platform – you can use the 3 rotations and 3 accelerations straight out of the plugins. Otherwise you will first have to translate them into the position of the 6DOF platform. And this is where a math plugin would come into play.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,843
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    35,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,993 / 10 / -0
    Because you can mix the outputs in SimTools itself, One motor can output multiple DOF's.

    let's take for example a Rock'n'Ride vs SimForceGT (frex)
    Let's take an old Rock.n.Ride as an example.
    It would use 2 motors - one for Sway and one for Surge.
    The axis assignments would look like this.
    1.jpg

    Now take a SimForceGT style char (frex).
    Where they have 2 motors in the back.
    The motors need to work together to achieve Sway and Surge.
    So the axis assignments would look like this.
    2.jpg

    Both simulators produce the same output to the rider, but both simulators have their motors in completely different spots.
    I hope this helps!
    yobuddy
  7. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    And you can mix heave with pitch to get this...




    But still.... that would work only on 2D plane surface math... we are talking about carefully coordinating the motion of 6 actuators that have to move in parallel to recreate positions of the platform, with desired offset of the COG and crossover limits... Just too complicate to achieve the inverse kinematics math by just mixing a couple of values.

    Last time I checked the equation was going like:
    L(i)= sqr( ( (plx^2)+(ply^2)+(plz^2)+(rp^2)+(rb^2) ) + ( 2 * (r11 * p(i)x + r12 * p(i)y) * (plx - b(i)x) ) + ( 2 * (r21 * p(i)x + r22 * p(i)y) * (ply - b(i)y ) ) + ( 2 * (r31 * p(i)x + r32 * p(i)y) * plz) - ( 2 * (plx * b(i)x + ply * b(i)y) ) )

    And that is to calculate only one of the legs... o_O
    • Like Like x 1
  8. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    But of course, there are members here that already storming my PM, cause they don't like to have real 6DOF math... that's fine... Cya...
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  9. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,843
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    35,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,993 / 10 / -0
    There is no reason SimTools could not have a math section.
    It's just that no one has asked yet is all.

    A Stewart platform can for sure be driven the way you suggest,
    but I can't really think of any others types of simulators that would use a math plugin?
    I would have to explore more of what we would need in a math section and what other types of sim's would use it.
    I know there is the older "6DOF Master" software around here somewhere I could take a look at. (anyone know where it is?)

    I'm always willing to extend SimTools as far as I can (and time allows lol).
    yobuddy
  10. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Balance:
    4,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 3 / -0
    Hi
    @yobuddy YES PLEASE !!

    At the moment I have a design where the base motor pairs use the same pivot point on the top platform, so in theory without the 6 dof math's, I can use 4 dof, The two that are a problem are Surge and Sway. But with a plugin I can use all six.

    regards Terry

    6dof final base with mod motors position1.jpg
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014
  11. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,843
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    35,499Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,993 / 10 / -0
  12. telfel

    telfel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    170
    Balance:
    4,729Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 3 / -0
    Hi
    Not taking anything away from the wiper motor rig its a great effort, but there must be some mixing of the dof outputs, the demo video that best shows the 6 dof independently is this



    Sim Tools makes available the 6 dof force values, but for a true stewart platform these values need to be processed to give the required platform movements without one dof affecting the other.

    I'm not dissing anyone's efforts to create a 6dof platform just using Sim Tools but there must be some interaction and stress on the motors.

    regards Terry
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,940
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,569Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,833 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Telfel, that explains the questions that you had posted in my thread. Sorry that I did not understand at the time. Nice video.
  14. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,062Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,834 / 32 / -1
    Imho, the 6dof, as implemented here, is only possible due to its limited range of movement with short levers, and the motor connection points at the platform being spread out evenly and far apart, which allows equal distribution of the platforms weight, but further limits movement while allowing more overshoot/undershoot the system can handle without binding up. I would be willing to bet though, if you could track its motion, it does not track accurately and gives false cueing. Without a math plugin making minor adjustments to all the motors allowing them to work properly in unison, the lack of such adjustments must be borne out in the motion instead!

    But that’s not to take away from the excellent results achieved without using 6dof math and just making a few minor adjustments in the SimTools axis settings!
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2014
  15. Gianni

    Gianni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    141Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    Hi everyone,
    I am having difficulty in finding a program that can decode this .cod file into .Hex format.
    Tronicgr, or anyone else, can you please advise what program is suitable or can be used?
    Thanks
  16. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 27, 2014
  17. Gianni

    Gianni New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    141Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 4DOF
    Thanks again..
    I cannot access this site? Will try later..
  18. gzezelj

    gzezelj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sombor, Serbia
    Balance:
    - 92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Can anyone help me? My controller was working well for 3 years, and suddenly starts to show those results(see photo). Left wiper motor is always at maximum values, instead both in middle positions. What could be wrong? Is it left pot?
    [​IMG]
  19. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    ask on his blogspot http://motionsim.blogspot.com.au/
  20. gzezelj

    gzezelj New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sombor, Serbia
    Balance:
    - 92Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0