1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tronicg 6 DOF - Professional Grade - 5000.00

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by cthiggin, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,949 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Looks good - nice work, wish I could afford to spend that much on a sim.
  2. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    currently mechanics 1000€
    and looks at the date of my first video!
    how mutch for Force Dynmaics?
    I take my time.
    I save ....
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    longer lever translates to faster linear speed.
    240mm long lever on 30 rpm motor
    If I had 30 rpm motor, I need 180mm at least, long lever to get the same linear speed as I do now
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,876Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,423 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Im a little bit late to the discussion here but thought I would have to say something.

    I have 150mm levers on my rig and my 12v DC motors dont have an issue with speed/weight/shite. Think this video proves that.






    I currently have another 5 motors I am waiting for a 6th motor to start on my 6DOF project. I will have 300mm of movement possibly more with 6 motors hooked up im sure it will be able to move me no problem, I will be using an HMD so will have no need for lifting the weight of monitors and the rest of the weight that goes with them.

    6 cheap PSU's, 3 cheap Arduinos and either 6 motomonsters or the cheap chinese h-bridges and a few bits of steel and a seat. Its not going to cost me more than £500 to get my rig up and running.
    • Like Like x 4
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    precision
    in my case:
    I have chosen 30 rpm relative to the movement of 180 °
    30TR = 180 ° / s
    Then I chose my run: 480mm
    either a cam 24 cm
    and I will adapt the puissanc depending on the load and acceleration I want.
    2G

    this is not truly transforming a rotation
    in linear velocity
  6. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    SilentChill
    engine power?
    you should see a similar video to my mine to see vibration and truly compare.
    I saw your simulator, it's cool! ;)
    your engines are big they must be powerful.
    on my vidéo 100Kg
  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    @riton, I said, “Do you expect to impress people when showing a non-loaded AC motor? Show us this on a rig please.” How is this stupid or rude? A video of a motor that is not loaded like it will be when it is in use on a simulator proves nothing imo. And I said please to showing us this on a rig, and that is rude? Whatever. Then you say this, “I'm sick of your unprofessional remark”. I don’t think you really know what rude means or you are just another hypocrite.

    Yes we can! I wouldn’t call it a conflict though, just a debate. Its just that I have yet to be convinced by what I have seen so far that an AC motor can equal or better what a DC motor is capable of.

    Below is a video of my rig so you can judge for yourself. While a 6dof is impressive, I don’t feel it is really necessary for a racing rig. My rig is only 3dof, but until I see a 6dof that will move like this, I will stick with my 3dof DC motor rig. (note: This video was shot in 1080p but my video camera shoots at 30 fps and not the 60 that my monitors are displaying)

    Ps Please overlook my monitor on the left that is showing the Milky Way, lol. It is a DLP set and it’s DLP chip is going bad on me. There is 2 pixels out at the top of my right monitor too! I have to put my side monitors at about a 25 degree sideways tilt to achieve the proper viewing aspect but apparently they don’t like being off level because the center monitor that is level is just fine. But the truth is, I almost never look directly at my side monitors anyway, only with peripheral vision, so I don’t even notice the dots most of the time.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. cthiggin

    cthiggin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    670
    Occupation:
    Self-Employed
    Location:
    Montgomery AL USA
    Balance:
    15,114Coins
    Ratings:
    +434 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    BlazinH,
    Looks "GOOD" man. Good driving while having the crap shakin' out of you.

    Tom
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    Thanks Tom! The truth is it is actually easier to drive with motion as long as you are receiving the correct feedback from your rig imho! But so far, I have remained retentive as far as the crap is concerned, lol.
  10. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    you all have, on the whole much criticized AC motor, brief.
    the language does not help to understand the remarks.

    I bring my video contribution to show what he can do.
    you will judge may be less severely AC motors
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,949 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Unfortunately 41mm/s is a bit slow for a car sim and that worm screw gearbox has a efficiency of around 65%. The efficiency will also become allot worse under a heavy load. I'm although still experimenting (with some new kit on order) in my spare time (even though I have a working 5 motor sim), so we will see what pops out.
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    This discussion is still going on.
    Its like the JRK - thanos controller discussion that went on in the x-sim3 site. it was 3 months of comparison until the 2 people that spoke up and continually provided evidence were eventually banned.
    Overall, @riton has shown what a lever does apparently under load, so we will have to take his word for it.
    Its a 30 rpm motor with a 240 mm CTC lever, so thats one of the reasons he gets such good twitchy reactions. Overall linear speed.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,671
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,344Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,949 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I don't think anyone is criticizing your choice of big AC motors, if I had the dollars it would also be my choice. But to say you cannot build a working 6Dof with DC motors is just being similarly blinkered.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    CYBERMONDAY special: $100 off on all AMC1280USB orders until Mon Dec1 11:59PM PST.. :)
  15. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,185
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,268Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,836 / 32 / -1
    What is your point @bsft?

    Why?

    Since we are making comparisons here, I am using a 65 rpm motor with a 200mm lever. I can’t say for sure what my motor’s power rating is though because I don’t trust the source providing it now. They could be anywhere between 600 to 1200 watts.

    Thanks @riton. When you get a video together please show it to us! I’m not completely against AC motors. Some of us are just a little skeptical of how fast an AC motor will change directions with high frequencies such as road vibrations, etc. (heave). It would be great to see a video that proves I don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to AC motor comparisons with DC motors. :)
  16. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    I have no interest in telling anything.
    I read a lot,
    AC motors are just right for the great movements ......
    they do not vibrate, do not transmit the track ....
    it's been 7 years since I have these engines, and since I have a correct control board I have excellent result.
    I just show you in video, with a close up on the cam, very well seen on the video, supported and not supported.

    on this point with an AC motor, correctly dimensioned correctly, it has almost no effect. charging or not charging no difference almost.

    if you want to compare a power equal, it's simple a close up on the cam support and we'll see right away.

    Video is a very good way to give evidence.
    I do not speak without being sure of what I say.

    you have videos of different speeds. 7.5 rev / 15tr and 30 very

    there is also a comparative video with a servo motor :
    60 rpm servo motor


    30 rpm for my motor
    • Like Like x 1
  17. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    an AC motor does not lie!
    if he can not lift it falls, I have a video that shows this.
    the cam falls under the weight.

    Then if you still want to lift the load, increase the acceleration ramp, but the result is bad.

    so if I want to show the performance you need a motor with the right power for good load.

    With a DC motor, it will slow down under the load if the load is too large.

    Imagine if I had a motor 60 rpm !!!
    it is too fast.
    also my friends with his servo motor 60 rpm decreased its speed
    in games.

    how to be on the DC motor is not overloaded?
    should measure its speed under load.
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Seriously @riton , you have shown us many videos and given us specifications, and we have complimented on your work. Its like you are spamming your own thread with information overload.
    Why do you persist in doing this?
    Comparisons constantly between AC and DC motors.
    It has been discussed how many times?
    Again, what you have done is great work, and you have obviously taken and shown videos to support that.
    Again, if we want to use DC motors, we have the democratic right to.
    Same with you using the AMC, if we want to use something else, we can.
    There should be no more need for your comments like
    "how to be on the DC motor is not overloaded?
    should measure its speed under load.
    "
    Its not needed. People use what they want and or can afford.
    C'mon, let it rest, its starting to annoy people.
  19. riton

    riton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +103 / 3 / -0
    of course no problems.
    just a comparison.
    ;)

    I tend to deepen the test and comparisons. Sorry.
    not to be disagreeable
    • Friendly Friendly x 1