1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Triple Screens with Motion Compensation?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Nicki9knuckles, Jan 23, 2023.

  1. Nicki9knuckles

    Nicki9knuckles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2022
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    Hey all,
    I was just checking out this youtube video
    where the guy has a motion platform, and big triple monitors and he set up TrackIR to compensate for the motion to give the correct perspective in his monitors.
    I have VR and I have already set up motion compensation for it, but I also have triple screens and I enjoy driving/flying on both. Has anyone else set up a similar solution on triple monitors? And if so how do you like it? Was it worth the effort?

    Thanks!

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,773
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +417 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Trackir looks interesting

    Some sims like RF2 already move the image to suit the motion and physics
  4. Nicki9knuckles

    Nicki9knuckles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2022
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    really? Can you give more details on that? How does rFactor 2 know where your platform is, in relation to the monitors ?
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,773
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +417 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I think its called head movement or something similar. You can also remove the horizon stabilisation. RF2 has the best physics for a motion sim imo

    You can adjust the seat height, i guess it knows the height of an average driver
  6. Nicki9knuckles

    Nicki9knuckles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2022
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    ah ok, I think we might be talking about slightly different things here.
    Take traction loss for example: in my motion platform, my entire body is moved to the right. But my perspective on my triple screens dosen't reflect this movement, so it appears that I am now more in the right side of the car.
    Using something like TrackIR it uses a censor to check where you are in space, and adjusts the perspective in game based on where you are in the physical world. So while driving this makes you feel more attached to your car when using a motion platform.
    In the video I attached above they show how they set this up with a motion platform and trackIR to make this compensation.
    It seems like a pretty neat thing to set up. You can do something similar when using VR by attaching a censor to your platform, so some third party software can tell the VR headset how much to compensate your movements by. There are some threads on this site that talk more about that set up for VR but I haven't seen any one talking about setting up compensation for triple monitors.
  7. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    a long time ago I try to find a solution to comp my single monitor to look wider, and I found AItrack and opentrack software. its free diy to get a head tracker.
    now that I found your thread, makes me want to try it again with my new upgrade to triple monitor and traction loss.
    will report how my experience with it when I get a time to jump on my rig.
  8. Nicki9knuckles

    Nicki9knuckles Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2022
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Balance:
    452Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Motion platform
    Awesome @itsumairu ! let me know how it goes! Good luck
  9. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    already test it with AItrack, and its not that good.
    it track my face not the rig it self. so better use another approach.
    so I use aruco paper marker tracker, and works better, but it need improvement to place the printed on the right place on my rig.
    I will share my setup when I finished it
  10. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello there.
    just wanna give you a great news.
    I just found this, and it works best of all option.
    using gyroscope of phone, you can get precise tracking that you need
    https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/wiki/Smartphone-Headtracking

    ---
    edited

    I place my phone on the pivot (2DOF using flange joint + TL), and it do the magic just fine.
    CHEERS!
  11. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I made video about it, check it out
  12. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,773
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,785Coins
    Ratings:
    +417 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    this is a different approach

  13. itsumairu

    itsumairu Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2021
    Messages:
    171
    Occupation:
    Psychologist
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Balance:
    254Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    it is. :grin
    I think with this solution, your head can still move and looking to your surrounding freely.