1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Triple monitor

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Eliseu, May 28, 2020.

  1. Eliseu

    Eliseu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    What is the best option for a triple monitor 27"?

    Flat + Flat + Flat
    or
    Flat + Curved + Flat

    Thanks
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    6,801Coins
    Ratings:
    +210 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    bigger is better - i use 32"

    i guess it means the screens can be further away and not on top of you

    i don't think 3 x curved screens is necessary
  4. Eliseu

    Eliseu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Is true, bigger is better, but is more expensive.. I bouth 3 x 27" flat + curved + flat

    IMG_20200607_193236__01.jpg
    Now is time to make the monitor supports...
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    6,801Coins
    Ratings:
    +210 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i was going to build a triple monitor stand - but when i priced up to buy the parts I realized it is better to buy one already built

    i got one 2nd hand expecting it to need modification - but it worked perfectly

    i used a GT Omega

    its well built and sturdy an can easily be made wider or taller

    https://www.gtomega.co.uk/products/simulator-cockpit-triple-monitor-stand
  6. Eliseu

    Eliseu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I can't use a Standart triple monitor stand because i will fix the monitors in the chassi...
  7. Andrew McArthur

    Andrew McArthur New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2020
    Messages:
    8
    Occupation:
    Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    47Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    3 x curved definitely
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    6,801Coins
    Ratings:
    +210 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i thought about attaching monitors to my 6dof - but a friend advised against it

    they get shaken to death and fail

    VR is a better solution
    • Like Like x 3
  9. Eliseu

    Eliseu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    136Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    I hadn’t thought about that detail, I’ll follow your opinion ...
    I will make the support in order to put it on the chassis (while it is not moving) with the possibility of fixing it on the wall for when it has movement ...
  10. susocalfail39

    susocalfail39 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    galicia
    Balance:
    216Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nice VR, the best for simulator. Currently I can run automobilist 2, and rfactor 2 with a lenovo explorer and a gtx 1080 at 90 fps, it looks great with these mediocre glasses, imagine with some oculus or index bufff bestial, with the movement you think it is inside the car, vr is the maximum in a simulator.
  11. MrWolf

    MrWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    Balance:
    18Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    If using curved monitors also consider the monitor radius (curve) relative to viewing distance as this will impact the outcome. Some manufactures will sell the same / similar spec monitors with different curvature to suit different applications.
  12. Damien602

    Damien602 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2020
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I havent decided on monitors yet for my sim. One thing i was considering is that 3 curved monitors would be nice, but the price for 3 monitors starts to approach the price of a VR headset. And then there is the weight, the vibration as mentioned, getting them the right distance and height...