1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Tommys simulator powered by wipermotors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Tommy, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi all!
    I think its time I start a project tread now. I found this forum a couple of weeks ago and started to do some research. At first it was a little difficult to understand what is needed to get the simulator working, but I think I have everything under control now. :)

    Update:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AEnnlsAkjD4

    The equipment:
    Computer
    Samsung 32 LCD
    Logitech G25
    +
    Momo seat
    2 wipermotors from Toyota Corolla
    Car battery
    PCB:s
    Components for AVR-controlller 1.5 and H-bridge 1.2b + Potentiometers for the wipermotors + LCD

    Here is a picture of what I have to start from:
    [img600px]http://home.mnwa.net/~tommy/Simulator/Picture%20054-1.jpg[/img600px]

    I started the project by making the PCB:s. The PCB:s started to cost ~40€, wich is pretty expensive. The reason is that I bought more fluids than nessecery and they were pretty expensive. This was the result:
    [img600px]http://home.mnwa.net/~tommy/Simulator/Picture%20049-2.jpg[/img600px]

    I found the seat at a local car forum and bought it yesterday. I also bought the wipermotors from a junkyard.
    [img600px]http://home.mnwa.net/~tommy/Simulator/Momo.JPG[/img600px]

    Next step is to order all the components for the AVR-controller and the H-bridge + The potentiometers + the LCD from http://www.reichelt.de. The problem with http://www.reichelt.de is that you have to order for over 150€ if you dont live in Germany. I will order the components with Jandersson on the forum and the total price will then be just over 150€.

    Big thanks to Michael.N for making the list of the components we will need. :cheers:
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have now made a drawing of what my simulator will look like. Do you think it will work? I want to make it as small as possible because I live in a very small apartment.
    [img600px]http://home.mnwa.net/~tommy/Simulator/fardig2.jpg[/img600px]

    [img600px]http://home.mnwa.net/~tommy/Simulator/fardig.jpg[/img600px]
  4. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Some pictures of the progress.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I hope this will be stable enough
    [​IMG]
  5. ouioui

    ouioui New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi tommy! a project that begins well but your pivot under the seat seems too early! :?
  6. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi ouioui! Thanks for the comment! I thought that you want to have it as early as possible to keep the weight down on the wipermotors. Another reason to have it as early as possible is because you want the seat to turn from side to side, not to move the whole seat from side to side. At least this is what I have thought. Hopefully it is correct. :)

    I tried to sit in the seat when I powered one of the motors today and it seemed to be pretty heavy as it is for the motor. It may had been the battery that wasnt strong enough. At least I hope so.

    I will update with pictures tomorrow. :)
  7. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Picture update as promised :)

    First a tip to those who want to keep it as cheap as possible. Get a couple of these from the car junkyard. You will probably get them for free:
    [​IMG]

    Cut them in half and weld a couple of threaded rods on them and you will get this:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. Michael N.

    Michael N. Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Germany, NRW, Düren
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Hi Tommy,
    have you already thought about, where to install the Potis?.
  9. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Michael!

    I think I could attach it to the back of the wipermotor by drilling a hole in the axle that the arm is attached to. But then I need some kind of gearing and I dont know where to find that. I have to search trough my RC stuff to se if I could find something there. Any other suggestions?

    Does anybody know what the gear ratio inside the wipermotor usually is?
  10. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    997Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
    Hi Tommy
    i put them here now CIMG4389.JPG
    the gearing are from Conrad
  11. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi Christian!

    That's exactly were I was going to put my potis :highfive:

    What gear ratio do you use? I found some gears that should give a ratio of ~10:1 on a crashed RC helicopter I have got. Do you think that could work? The potis are 10-turn potis which means that only half of the potis's range will be used.
  12. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    997Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
    the big gear wheel 50
    the small gear wheel 20
  13. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    418Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    With 50:20 you would have not enough resolution IMO, as a half crank turn would just turn the pot 1,25 times.

    To nearly use the full range of 10turn pots I'd recommend something like 1:18 (half crank turn turns the pot 9 times)

    Of course these ratio are just if the gears are connected to the crank axis.
    If connected dirctly to the motor axis, it should be something like ~3:1

    Regards
  14. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    1:18 is pretty extreme. Maybe it is better to try connect the potetentiometers directly to the motors then, or do you think it will work good enough with 1:10? I guess it depends on the potentiometers precision.
  15. egoexpress

    egoexpress Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,842
    Location:
    Germany - Frankfurt/M
    Balance:
    418Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 1 / -0
    with 1:10 you would just use 5 pot turns.

    Using full range would give you ~1000 positions, using just 5 revs just the half.

    The higher the resolution, the better the motion quality.

    Mounting the pots directly to the motor shaft is possible as well, but more difficult imho.

    So it is up to you...

    Regards
    Christian
  16. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi all!
    I finally got the components :yippiee:
    They are faar more than I expected. I will start soldering later tonight.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Big thanks to Michael.N for buying the components for me!!! :cheers:

    Regards
    Tommy
  17. Schnullerbacke

    Schnullerbacke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    226
    Occupation:
    Photographer / Videographer
    Location:
    Germany near Munich
    Balance:
    369Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Holy shit, Tommy :D - there's a lot of soldering work waiting for you...

    Good luck !!!!!

    Bye,
    Chris
  18. Michael N.

    Michael N. Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Location:
    Germany, NRW, Düren
    Balance:
    611Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Yes Good Luck Tommy :) , you will need it :D .
    I hope you don`t get much trouble with soldering and everything is working immediately :)
  19. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    997Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
    Hi Tommy
    now i have 50:10 gearing, its much better
    have fun
    regards
    Christian
  20. Tommy

    Tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Finland, Vasa
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Hi
    Are you using a 10-turns potetiometers too? That means you are only using 1/4 of the potentiometer range and it works good?

    I have btw soldered the two cards now but I noticed that the components for the LCD are missing so I will go buy them on friday.

    Regards
    Tommy
  21. tronicgr

    tronicgr

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Maybe someone should write a small multiturn pot installation guide on wiper motors to have it available for beginners on the WIKI !!


    Regards, Thanos