1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Time for upgrade 2DOF to 6!!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by poman, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    ah ok, i get the picture, i have close to zero, basicly i would have to move out the motor shaft more toward the tips of my triangle to have my arm flipped 180deg on the inside to have a 90 deg angle, or close to..., well thats a lot of work !!! hummmm...tks i will do some testing this week-end.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Shit! I will not be able to play with your HTC Vive this weekend :(

    :grin
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    HAHA! @r3df0x !!
    But i have a good news for you, YES you will be able come to play...because i will be needing your 2 hands to help me for the test :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Ok, so i did a couples of test, to find out i will be needing another dedicated 120v circuit, breaker went off pretty quickly, its an old house which didnt had many circuits for today's need, thats the easy part :)
    My friend and i were able to find a balanced position in rest mode(power off) and standby mode(power on) with me sitting in the seat, but my 2 front motor came VERY hot, too much to keep my hand, so we tried putting one gas strut in the front and it is too strong and it was bottoming in level position, as time went fast, i still need to do other tests and certainly find less strong gas strut(mines are 40kg), but i have 2 big questions:

    1. if i give my arms more angle, say close to 90 for the standby position, you say it has more strenght, but does that also mean that the motor will need less current to hold it there, therefore less heat?

    2. does my arm absolutly need to be horizontal in standby position to work properly?...i believe that as long as the maximum position during simulation doesnt go over verticalally and goes back down, or up depending, it would still be ok...
    tks
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,444
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,164Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,728 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @poman Haven't looked back through the thread, but did you ever do any load testing on this motor/gearbox/arm setup? What could it lift?
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,758 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The motor will not work as hard and hence create less heat when it can maximise the use of available torque to maximum advantage.

    The arm position should be relative to how it best needs to be positioned relative to the rod, not the horizon.
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My arms are at about 20-30 degrees at normal position dunno if that helps or not lol :D
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    tks silentchill, i will modify the angle, it is going to make the hole thing higher, will probably need to make a step lol!!
    I will have to pay a visit to the junkyard this week-end to have an assortment of gas strut to try out a few other things, been busy at other things lately, but cant wait to have it running, i will also need to figure out how to set my axes assignment.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,758 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    While you are messing around with modifications if you haven't already then you may want to consider higher mounting points on the top frame, which lowers it and improves the COG, bringing it closer to your chest area. @SeatTime designed his 6DOF that way and @SilentChill modified his to get a better COG. You will still need to clamber in, but it would not be as high.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  10. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +390 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Hint...
    6DoF_frame.JPG 6DoF_complete_3.PNG 6DoF_bottom_frame.JPG 6DoF_top_joints.JPG 6DoF_complete_1.PNG
    • Like Like x 3
    • Creative Creative x 1
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,046
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,527Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,939 / 17 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    congrats!
    I do like the "before/after" effect!

    from thinking to reality:thumbs

    1.jpg
  12. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +390 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  13. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Hi all,
    I have been away for a while, but back with an update, still have a heat issue with motor that drives the back, where i will be seated, but solved the front issue and finished cutting and assembling the wooden platform, still have to do the finishing touch :)
    I also gave the order to a local shop to weld the supports for the joystick and gas trottle for my x-52.
    Oh, and i forgot to mention that i had to wire a new 120v circuit especially for this, since i have an old house there are many things on the same circuit , projector, computer, Vive etc...i had a breaker popped at 1st try, but since i am an electrician, this was the super easy fix :)

    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2016
  14. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Hi all, i finally was able to work on figuring out how to set my axis this morning, great feeling to see the right movement :)
    But on the other hand, i still have issues with heat, it goes from one motor to the others as i move and swap stuff, very annoying but at least i see changes and i eventually will figure out a way to make it work.
    I also dloaded the most recent plugins i needed, but to my surprise, i didnt saw Dirt Rally !!!! Silentchill used it if my memory is good...i must be blind or something LOL!!
  15. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,444Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @poman, would love to see a video of axis movement :)
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,758 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,552
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,577Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,336 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    FANS YOU NEED FANS !!!LOTS AND LOTS OF FANS !!!
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Hi,
    Back with update, and VERY HAPPY to report that the heat issue is mainly solved with the seat position and strut position, still need to install fans as @SilentChill said which i missed in his thread(thought only the strut was enough to play hourssss, but clearly see them as i watched is thread again) but as i write this, power is on since i did testing with myself, the vids the writing and all is pretty cold so far, btw i did changed the internal wiring on one motor with bigger size wire and new brushes and didnt noticed any difference compare to earlier, the wire still came hot, that was before i find this set-up, and for the axis yesterday, funny note; while i was trying to set the roll, i found 2 other axis by mistake lol :), as i was mixed-up since i have 3 motors that needs to be reversed due to their physical position. I also have a second vid posted showing some motor grinding noise that i am not sure what value in SMC3 might be causing that, any help is welcome :) i also need to smooth out the rattling your heard, that might be in the axis assignment i guess...any help there too is welcome. I also noticed when i tested the axes that when you loose track of the slider, the seat jumped abruptly and noticed the floor was shaking pretty hardly, not sure if i will need to put a support leg in the basement to minimize the stress lol, like i said, old house :) it would be pretty easy...think i will :)



    here is the motor noise vid:
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2016
  19. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,782
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    18,888Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,494 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Does the Funny sound change when you adjust the weight in the seat ? might just be the sound the motor's make when there being "loaded"

    Also where did you get brushes for the motors ?
  20. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    sound is there when platform isnt moving, standby mode, too much noise to know if it is still there when in motion :)
    Brushes were picked-up at a local motor shop, very cheap.
    Now i need to find something to couple and seal a fan to my motors, 3 inches diam. like others did, will do holes to suck air at one end and holes at other to extract.