1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Time for upgrade 2DOF to 6!!

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by poman, Dec 5, 2015.

  1. zigzag49

    zigzag49 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Balance:
    563Coins
    Ratings:
    +220 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Well done nice work;)
  2. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Tks. Decided to solve the problem by having my arm and the M12 screw welded, left them at the local shop, will have to sand and repaint them afterwords, i will also make a hole in the same screw after all the adjustments are made, mean spacing to clear the motor body and all, and put a lock pin in there, didnt wanted to weaken the screw too much by having 2 holes, thats why one of them will be replaced by the welding.

    And can you believe that i completely forgot to order my arduinos !!!! LOL getting that done tonight and while im there, gonna order some heat sink for the motomonsters and that should cover the ordering for things i cant find around.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    I'm Back with more updates, still waiting for power supply and arduinos that i forgot, and the gas shock, received my carpet and installed it, it wasnt that easy LOL, had to install rubber mat underneath for dampening and floor protection, installed the emergency stop button which will act as the "ON" switch for the DC power through a power bar that had an "on" switch(will see later in my electronics lay-out), going to bypass it with e-stop. Also finished drilling and fitting the upper platform to match my rig frame, what is left to do is the drilling of the dowel pin into my arm shaft which i will be doing with one of my coworker which is a machinist cause i need precision there, probably next weekend and then almost all mecanical part will be done.

    And to my dissapointment, i will have to forget the laser operation for my eyes, since i am getting too old, i would have needed to have one eye that see close and the other far, which make me loose quality in both ways, and i would have had probably needed half glasses to work in front of computer, all that for 3600.00 cdn dollars...not worth it, on the other hand my friend found a site where they sell adaptors ring(especially for VR) for round lenses that i would have to order from a lenses manufacturers, will see when i get the VR...getting closer :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Interesting discussion on the Glasses and VR.....I was under the impression you can run them With your glasses on ? Now you mention Adaptor rings......Are they replacement lenses to match your prescription or are they just something to allow you to wear glasses with the headset ?
  5. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @poman Great to see you back here , life sometimes gets in the way of our tinkering LOL but hey , all great stuff.. Im learning from your progress and will be changing some elements of my design to reflect what you have done.
    Seeing your work here shows why ideas exchange work, Quality stuff Poman that's no Bull Crap :) your attention to detail bodes well for this project ,
    Still waiting for my kangaroos before I can play again ( develop/ Tinker seems better choice of words ) they sent me one of the 2 I ordered and the other is on back order ( Bummer ) .. Excellent work my man and steady but sure progress , Kudos to ya good buddy
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,799
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,226 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The first gen consumer VR HMDs add IPD and lens adjustments, plus have a wider viewing sweet spot. Even so if you have fine frame glasses they can be worn. I wear glasses all the time but have found I don't need them for VR.

    You will also be able to get prescription adapters: http://vr-lens-lab.com/
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2016
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,402Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Awesome, So being nearsighted might be a bonus then as i can clearly focus on stuff within 10-12" of my eyes and might be able to get away without them with the headset on....sweeet, thanks for the info.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Yes, @noorbeast and @Nick Moxley , VR-lab is where my friend showed me it can be done, but since i can see very good closeley, does that mean that if i look far in the picture i will see fine? if yes thats good news for me, will have to live in a VR world all the time LOL!!!
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,799
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,226 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Many people who wear glasses will get away without wearing them in VR just by using the built in adjustments. So you may well not need glasses in VR.

    There will be a much smaller minority where their eyesight issues are outside the possible range of the built in adjustment and the choices then are wear your glasses or get prescription lenses.

    One thing that using the adjustments will affect is FOV and some VR fanatics may choose to get custom lenses so they can maintain the largest FOV (closest to your eye), even though they could get away without them by reducing the FOV. I guess it comes down to personal preference, the amount of time you spend in VR, the nature of your eyesight issues and of course costs.

    In the not too distant future bionic lenses may be the best option for everyone, for everything not just VR, where you can have better than perfect 20/20 vision: http://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/o...ive-you-vision-3x-better-than-20-20-1.3078257
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast , nice future for vision, good to know i very well might not have to wear glasses in VR, tks for info :)

    So here is the latest advancement, my coworker and i were active yesterday to drill that dowell pin hole to keyway the axel, went in perfectly, all is mounted very solidly, little dissapointment on the motor side as the result of this assembly i found out there is a slack in the gearing that makes me hope it wont affect too much the quick direction change, crossing fingers...few wiring to make then test thoses motors, and at that point i will need to move the beast in the living room as it wont go through the door if i keep assembling the top receiving frame.

    I also received all the electronics and as you can see on the pics, i have 2 way to mount everything that will be visible on that free mat i got from GTR simulator with the nice stiching on top, i wouldnt mind any suggestions on that :) as i said previously, that board will be mounted upwards with a bit of an angle to ease cooling, will be framed on 2x3 studs with most wiring hidden behind.

    I also started looking at the arduino, read that it can be supplied through the USB port, as you can see, i bought a multiport USB 3.0 with its own power supply, you guys think it will be OK on that side or i need to plan wiring 12V through the big power supply?
    TKS ALL again for help !!! 20160213_160008.jpg 20160213_160127.jpg 20160213_160413.jpg 20160213_163323.jpg 20160214_124206.jpg 20160214_124225.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,799
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,412Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,226 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  12. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast , tks, the gas strut are what i have in mind as well, just like @SilentChill , i ordered them through alliexpress, and they are 1 month past due, i wrote last week and they still dont answer me and i am beginning to be angry at them, that is the only thing i still didnt get.But i didnt tought it could remove some play in gearing, interesting !!

    I also noticed that one of them is more difficult to move by hand, hope it is nothing wrong.
  13. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Well, finished wiring motors and test power supply and motors are wired correctly, as i said in my previous post, one of them had a harder movement by hand, to my dissapointment, it is what is probably causing it to go slower, posted a vid of it, and i also have a bad power supply, cant complain too much as they refund me for coming late and a bit dented, as i am an electronic technician, i will open the darn thing and try to fix it myself b4 i order another one....ho well...we aint having quality theses days, just cheap price, then throw away and buy another!!! polution!!!
    Also @wannabeaflyer2 , just would like to know please what is the lenght of the rods i need to cut, i could figure it out approximatly from your drawing but i would prefer a more exact measure, tks a lot again :)
    So the left motor is the one who is harder to move.
    here is what i hope will work...the thread to my vid:
  14. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @poman I just hit the workshop to measure the length of my Rods and they are 400mm Center to center, .. , this can be tweaked to suit your needs and typically seeing as how you have the rose joints at both ends then there is some fine tuning that can be done. I think I read somewhere that the distance between the motor actuator arms and the height of the platform aim to form an equilateral triangle ( something to do with the clever Kinematic maths involved ), but as were using Simtools I believe this may not be the same issue.. ....hey that man congratulations on reaching a great milestone ie , things wired up and spinning and NO BLUE SMOKE Lol always a good sign in my book,
    im not sure how to advise you regarding the slower motor but is it possible that they have sent you the wrong gearbox /Motor Combination ?

    Yo Might take a look inside the offending motor to see if the bt=rushes are mounted correctly , I say that because on one of my brand new straight out of un-opened box I had intermittent operation , only to find out the Brush tensioning spring had broken ... ( You know you gamble with stuff from china but thats the risk vs Price point we can afford )

    Excellent work @poman ,,, as always watching this project like a hawk :)
  15. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @poman I just hit the workshop to measure the length of my Rods and they are 400mm Center to center, .. , this can be tweaked to suit your needs and typically seeing as how you have the rose joints at both ends then there is some fine tuning that can be done. I think I read somewhere that the distance between the motor actuator arms and the height of the platform aim to form an equilateral triangle ( something to do with the clever Kinematic maths involved ), but as were using Simtools I believe this may not be the same issue.. ....hey that man congratulations on reaching a great milestone ie , things wired up and spinning and NO BLUE SMOKE Lol always a good sign in my book,
    im not sure how to advise you regarding the slower motor but is it possible that they have sent you the wrong gearbox /Motor Combination ?

    Yo Might take a look inside the offending motor to see if the bt=rushes are mounted correctly , I say that because on one of my brand new straight out of un-opened box I had intermittent operation , only to find out the Brush tensioning spring had broken ... ( You know you gamble with stuff from china but thats the risk vs Price point we can afford )

    Excellent work @poman ,,, as always watching this project like a hawk :)
    • Useful Useful x 1
  16. BondeX

    BondeX Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Occupation:
    EE
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Balance:
    1,452Coins
    Ratings:
    +61 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  17. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    @BondeX , i previously hasked and didnt get an answer, cause i saw a list once somewhere with 6 and in another picture i saw 3, since they were cheap i decided to order 6 in case one is bad also...
    @wannabeaflyer2 tks for info, gonna write to the seller, and also, would it be wise to wait to attach the upper platform with rods that i wired and tested the ards and motos?
    Tks
  18. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    683
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,798Coins
    Ratings:
    +893 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Poman I did not have an issue with fitting my upper platform once I got the motors running in the right direction , the main safety thing I found was during the intialset up and testing phase sometimes things go wrong and tje big danger is the motor spinning the act) )uator arm 360 degrees , ( feedback fault , Calibration fault , loose wiring etc ) so be very aware of hands and finger being in the wrong place ...

    The clearance between the frame and arm by design are generally hand chopping distance so limit switches to minimise this scenario are a must ,

    I would say that Other than the above safety scaremongering I would say fit the frame but No Riding till your sure you have full manual control and then it does what it should do when driven by software/ Game ...

    Your Gonna love the first lime your project moves under your control , Be safe and have Masses of fun mate
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  19. poman

    poman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 0 / -0
    Been hard at work to work on the electronics panel. I had new ideas during the process which gave me more work even if i reused stuff from my previous rig(see post 25) but it was worth the effort as you will see on the pictures.

    Also got news from the seller of my bad motor, i swapped the motor with the same gearbox and the problem is still there so it is the gearbox that is bad, he wanted me to send back the whole assy but i am trying to get him to send me one instead with the prepaid return paper and reuse his box...well see if he agrees (finger crossed). I also found out about my bad power supply(which has been refunded) that if you hear something banging while you shake an electronic part...there is something fishy bout it LOL, it appears that a coil is loose inside, just to tell you how transporters are very nice with our parts !!!

    Now on to testing motos which ....i hope will not end-up like @SilentChill being frustrated with bad ones, i especially ordered 3 more in case and hope it will be enough, had them from e-bay through a 5 stars seller. Now on to reading on UNO's software and stuff...

    Also decided to go with HTC vive for VR elmet even at that price, oculus would end-up bout the same price with their controllers and reviews says that HTC has more flexibility for future games etc...orders will open tomorrow at 10.00 ET and i will be ready :)
    Also just a quick tks to my long time best friend @r3df0x who tagged my post and became a new member
    20160228_082556.jpg 20160228_082610.jpg 20160228_082633.jpg 20160228_093317.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2016
  20. r3df0x

    r3df0x n00by Racer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    IT technician
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    245Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Hi poman, it's me, your long time best friend :)
    When I saw the first pictures, I thought you'd done a blackboard (to note your races and your results) :grin
    But in the last picture, I understand. Wow, very good idea the installation of PSU on some part of your old cockpit. It's great and clean! :thumbs
    Great work, don't let go ...

    Salut poman, c'est moi, ton meilleur ami de longue date :)
    Quand j'ai vu les premières images, j'ai pensé que tu avais fait un tableau noir (pour noter tes courses et tes résultats) :grin
    Mais sur la dernière image, j'ai compris. Wow, très bonne idée l'installation des PSU sur une partie de ton ancien cockpit. C'est super et propre ! :thumbs
    Belle job, lâche pas ...
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2016