1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

The night I realised I need a kill switch

Discussion in 'Off Topic - All other stuff here' started by Zippo246, Aug 31, 2020.

  1. Zippo246

    Zippo246 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    I'm still very new to motion, and was foolishly impatient. Just finished building my rig, fired up DCS using FlyPT's amazing software, and airstarted in the L39. Decided to try out ALT-S to test output start/stop hotkey. All I did was shutdown engine in flight.

    Okay, opportunity to try out a deadstick landing....not on a runway....without ever tuning the software. This thing was throwing me around, making a racket, my wife opened the door to see what was going on. I asked her to turn of power to servos. 10 seconds seemed like 2 minutes. Wife asked me to give her a heads up next time I want to do that - I advised between gasps that if I knew this was going to happen, I wouldn't have let it happen.

    The keyboard stayed on the tray because I was unsuccessfully punching ALT-S,
    which was doing nothing (it just knows....) but there were keyboard keys lying all over the floor.

    My warthog throttle jumped of its tray (now zip tied down as an interim) and crashed onto the floor, its own weight shearing its USB cable.

    I have ordered parts for a kill switch and will get that happening this week. I was successful in resoldering wires to Warthog PCB, and have tested that it is working again as advertised.

    This was a bit of a scare for me, I'm still a bit gun shy, and won't test more until I get the e-stop connected but looking forward to learning more as I continue.

    Cheers, John
    Warthog.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,264
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,524Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,453 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A hard way to learn a valuable lesson ;)

    A rig should be thoroughly tested and dialed in before being cut loose.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,065
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +862 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Yeah, e-stop switch is necessary to be sure that the servos won't move at times, if simtools is still connected. But you could use of a force offline switch as well, that prevents motion without shutting down the servos. Not sure what controller you are using but for the AMC-AASD15A, this is available:

    https://www.tindie.com/products/bajer/emergency-stop-switch-with-led-indicators/

    Thanks
    Thanos
  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    11,291Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,535 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Always, always and always test outside of the rig before going in.
    Even outside I got my scary moments, if not in risk of physical damage, it's the money damage.
    In my rig I have two emergency buttons:
    One in the rig and one outside on the electronics. We never know!
    And using keyboard or mouse in those situations is near impossible, please assign a joystick button for that, you can do it in Mover.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. Zippo246

    Zippo246 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Hi Thanos,
    I'm using your controller, and have ordered parts to do just that, your instructions in your manual are really good, thanks.
    Bed time now. I flew the L39 again using Simtools and haven't scared myself, there is a bit to get my head around.
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Lesmore222

    Lesmore222 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    205Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    If you hit the kill switch on your wheel will that accomplish the same thing?
  8. caddyboy0103

    caddyboy0103 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    21Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hopefully everything is ok... it could have been worse
  9. Zippo246

    Zippo246 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    Hi Caddy, yep, it could have been much worse. All is back to normal in the world (this little sim space at least) and I'm a bit wiser.
  10. andres50

    andres50 simulador de vuelo (flight simulator 2020)

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Occupation:
    mecanico
    Location:
    pamplona
    Balance:
    - 63Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    [QUOTE = "Zippo246, post: 204312, member: 27933"] I am still very new to the movement and was foolishly impatient. I just finished building my rig, powered up DCS using FlyPT's amazing software, and booted up on the L39. Decided to try ALT-S to test the exit start / stop hotkey. All I did was turn off the engine in flight.

    Okay, chance to test a landing in neutral ... not on a runway ... without even adjusting the software. This thing was spinning me around, making a fuss, my wife opened the door to see what was going on. I asked him to change the power to the servos. 10 seconds seemed like 2 minutes. My wife asked me to let her know the next time she wanted to do that; I warned her between gasps that if she had known this was going to happen, she would not have let him.

    The keyboard stayed on the tray because I couldn't press ALT-S,
    he wasn't doing anything (he just knows ...) but there were keyboard keys all over the floor.

    My boar throttle jumped out of its tray (now zipped up like an interim) and crashed to the ground, its own weight severing the USB cable.

    I have ordered parts for a kill switch and will get it this week. I had success re-soldering wires to the Warthog PCB, and have tested that it works again as advertised.

    This was a bit scary for me, I'm still a bit shy and won't try any more until I hit the emergency stop, but I hope to learn more as I continue.

    Cheers John
    76314
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2021