1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Thanos Direct Drive

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by Gadget999, Jun 5, 2020.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I am going to try and find a diagram for wiring in torque mode

    At present the wheel powers up and resists movement in both directions making a squealing noise
  2. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,004
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,962Coins
    Ratings:
    +832 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Sorry, I just don't have the time to spend on the computer looking at manuals trying to decipher the mige functionality and parameters. If I had the unit to my disposal, its a different story.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok it works !



    The problem I was having was caused by not having the correct frequency set (it was factory default)

    PA 53 needs to be set to 150 hz

    It may fine work on other frequencies, I will test in due course.

    My thoughts are the Mige Servo driver is quite sophisitcated and capable. It might also be an excellent choice for a 6DOF sim

    The Thanos TDD board is working prefectly and the wheel has very smooth operation.

    I will get it hooked up to the pedals and send you all a working vid when I find time

    I will do a write up with the correct pins and servo settings later

    :)

    (the USB connection interference problems were cured by using a quality USB cable)
    • Like Like x 5
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2020
  4. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    quick update - I have had the wheel working using a H Bridge to flip the voltage from + to -

    the support from MIGE has been very poor and I have purchased a AASD-30 so i can use this wheel the same as the rest of the community. Waiting for it to arrive

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    on a more positve note i have enjoyed playing and learning about servo motors

    this 'little' toy has arrived today

    its a 180 3kw servo with a 20 bit resolution (i think that is over 1million steps per revolution !!!!)

    I bought it as a bit of a bargain and have not decided what to do with it - i may fit it as a external motor for a wheel or use it as a sim actuator

    3KW and 57 NM - its got some balls !!

    Attached Files:

  5. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    Are AASD drivers compatible with MIGE motors?
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
  7. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    How did you confirm?
    Are they the same manufacturer?
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    No they are different manufacturers

    However the AASD is the industry standard
  9. pooh

    pooh Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    517Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    Quick question - I'm about to order 130st but i have doubts if the 30nm version is really needed or can i take 25nm one. Fanatec dd1 vs dd2 is 20vs25nm... The bigger one is 4kg heavier.
    I've already prepared the wheel:

    8CFE9131-0516-4571-B734-3626D03FCA47.jpeg E40E5D77-D08E-4B0E-B7E6-042DF41D6260.jpeg
  10. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    the 25nm motor should be fine
    • Like Like x 1
  11. pooh

    pooh Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    517Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    in the meantime i've found this info:
    https://flowracers.com/blog/fanatec-dd1-vs-dd2-wheel-base/

    interesting part is:

    The Power
    This brings us on to the main difference that more advanced sim racers might look at – the power difference. The DD1 offers players a peak torque of 20 Nm, with the power never dipping below 15 Nm. This is very impressive, both for a sim racing wheel in general and a direct drive wheel in particular. This is more power than beginners need, and usually enough for more experienced racers as well.

    25% More Power
    However, if you want even more, then you might want to go for the DD2. It offers a peak torque of 25 Nm, with the power never going below 20 Nm. This is towards the extreme end of the torque scale and is far more than a beginner would ever require. This high level of torque can be dangerous if you are not careful, and that is where the additional kill switch can be a very useful thing to have.


    it seems that only the bigger servo can deliver 15Nm and even that will be equivalent to DD1 and not DD2. Peak power is higher but constant torque is better on Fanatec it seems. So i will take the bigger one in this case - i can tune it down if needed...
    • Like Like x 1
  12. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    @pooh
    Large motors have large EMI.
    Solving the problem can be difficult.
    Can you deal with it?
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    from what i know the wheel has to be turned down to 30% to feel realistic

    the bigger the motor the more heat it will dissipate and should not get as hot
  14. sedesa tatasa

    sedesa tatasa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Balance:
    390Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    That's interesting.
    Things may be different for a 200v driver.
    The extra voltage for PID control is sufficient
    at low speeds even at 100 percent torque.
    Heat is a problem, you should use less than 60 percent
    if you follow the specifications of the motor.
  15. Spart

    Spart Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Kauno kaimas
    Balance:
    224Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Iam also wondering about power usage "from the wall", lets say if motor is at peak torque will it draw all 2.3 kw that its rated ? Iam asking couse my diy rig is already estimated to draw up to 2.4 kw and my house breaker trips at 3.5 kw so I am afraid to trip the breaker with this diy direct drive wheel added .
  16. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    you will never need it at full power - keep it to 30% and you will get good fidelity and low heat
  17. Burgunder

    Burgunder New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
  18. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,089
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    the bigger motor will generate less heat vs the smaller one for the same amount of work
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. pooh

    pooh Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    517Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    i have similar issues and i hope i found the reason on page 2 - when i bought 7 DB25 cables, they were supposed to be straight ones and after measuring them with multimeter it became obvious i will need to resolder...
    so i resoldered all 7 as for AASD for AMC controller... and it looks like wiring for TDD is DIFFERENT.
    will resolder today and let you guys know...

    here's my thread:
    https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/issues-with-tdd.15518/
  20. pooh

    pooh Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Balance:
    517Coins
    Ratings:
    +60 / 0 / -0
    after resoldering DB25 it works well. now i have nasty issues with EMI and my button box on the steering wheel which is connected via USB cable. i'm not sure what is the problem here - the cable is sensitive to EMI or the board itself (arduino pro micro). when it's connected with particular cable it works ok if taken away from servo. if i put it close to servo then it registers button presses randomly (like pit limiter in the middle of a turn :) )
    will try to shield it. still have plenty of ALU tape.