1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Thanos Direct Drive with AASD 30 driver

Discussion in 'Direct Drive Wheels' started by Gadget999, Sep 28, 2020.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok this is a build of a mige 130 st servo motor with aasd driver and Thanos circuit board.

    (Originally I built the wheel using the mige servo driver but it was not compatible with the Thanos TDD smoothing board)

    Today I powered everything up with the emergency stop button wired to the TDD

    The wheel came to life with a faint humming noise
    The wheel was resisting motion in both directions

    I looked at peacemakers notes and changed some parameters on the aasd, see attached picture

    After a restart the drive came up with error 9 (before the restart the board was responding to the encoder and index seemed to be working fine)

    Is there a way to reset the aasd and start again ? I am guessing I have set a parameter wrongly

    Pics attached

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 28, 2020
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Alarm 09 is a encoder error. Resetting power will clear it. If it continues to come up there is a failure in the encoder or controller eprom problem.
    FN04 will reset all the parameters to default.
    I have used it several times....:)
    • Informative Informative x 2
  4. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Is that custom made DB25 cable?? You need to use a DB25 male-male straight Molded off the shelve... these ready cables have all 25 wires pin to pin on each end and proper shielding that is much needed to deal with any EMI noise from the servo drive.

    About resetting the AASD drive parameters just do this:

    Select Fn004

    No need to enter a value. Just press/hold the Set button and it displays Pni n then press/hold Set again.. displays go... done... Remove power and plug back in..
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I reset and reprogrammed the aasd

    Sometimes ineould get error 9 and sometimes i would not !

    The tdd board does not seem to be finding the index

    Yesterday it was finding the index and lighting up as the wheel was turned

    No idea what is wrong, I suspect the encoder has gone bad :(

    Are all the pins on the encoder cable used or is it just a,b,c z +- ?
  6. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF

    If you made custom db25 cable you probably didn't use shielded cable to shield the signal wires from EMI from the servo drive... and yes all ready straight cables have all 25 wires in them.

    Also I usually make sure to have plug the servo drive db25 plugged on the TDD board, and powered before I power up the TDD by plugging in the USB cable.

    If the z index calibrates as soon you plug the usb cable, then perhaps you have ground loops, which in this case you need to run a wire from the metal shell of the usb connector to the ground screw of the servo drive.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @Gadget999 If you go to DN023 and turn the motor by hand does it act like it is counting the encoder pulses correctly??
    dn-23 Rotor absolute position
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2020
  8. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    i will test it and upload a video


    thank you for the help
  9. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Here is a video of the error, the tdd board is not turned on




    The encoder reads correctly if I go into DN023 :)
  10. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Hold on... why you connected the encoder directly to the STM32???????????? Its wrong!!!

    The encoder from the motor only connects to the AASD drive!

    And the only cable that connects to the TDD board is the DB25!!!!

    You are trying to wire it as an Argon????
  11. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Also the exposed wires is a big no. Proper shielding does not mean wrapping the cable with electrical tape...

    Attached Files:

  12. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @Gadget999
    Are you still randomly getting the AL-09 error ??
    I see you have removed the hood from the encoder cable.
    Is this because you were inspecting the cabling ??
    Since you are using a DIY db25 cable consider mounting the TDD board on the side of the AASD with double sided tape or Velcro.
    The cable then only needs to be a few cm long..
    I mounted mine in that fashion. (I am not using the TDD board only because they were backordered at the time)
    Here is a link and picture of the EMF filter I use with great success.
    www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07L24HHXY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  13. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF

    take another look - i think you may be mistaken ?
  14. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    yes i was checking the wires for any issues

    I like your idea for an emi filter - I have one laying around I may be able to use


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    it looks like the encoder plug may not be a good fit - I will screw it down into place and check again
  15. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    @Gadget999
    Thanos is absolutely correct about the need for proper shielding of Motor cable and the Mains cable and the DB25 cable( unless it is only a few cm long) when using these servo motors.
    The encoder cable can be left alone as it is not a "Generator" of EMI but seems to be just a real good "receiver" of the others EMI
    I have been a electronic trouble shooter all my adult life and I have never seen such an electrical interference generator as these servos.

    The Motor cable is a massive source of EMI.

    The AC mains (220v) 0r (115) radiate like crazy also. Hence the EMI filter.

    If you would like to see this for yourself.. and you have an Android smart phone.. Install "EMF Detector" on your phone. It is free on Google Play Store.

    It is most enlightening:):)
    Also.. again,, Is the AL-09 alarm continuing???
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2020
  16. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    That would be the worst place to place the STM32 controller and exposed wire...

    eemf9.jpg


    Use a shielded db25 cable to move all emi sensitive electronics and wiring at least 4-5 feet away from the servo (or place them in metal enclosure)...
  17. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    It works fine here. No interference problems. That is just the way it is on my particular installation.
    I agree that the separation of components is a good practice.
    And shielded cabling is also the proper practice..
    Simply no argument
    But
    Your "mileage may vary" as they say.. I happen to get away with it and there are so many cables in a "Real World" motion simulator reducing such cabling makes for a more aesthetic appearance and maybe better engineering practice.
    A ancient old @noorbeast once said ""
    Behind every good motion simulator ... is a jumble of wires 'n stuff
    :):)
    All in good fun.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  18. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok pushing the encoder connector down very firmly has fixed the error 09

    Vid here



    However the tdd board does not appear to see the motor/encoder/index

    The 25 way cable is wired by myself but is a shielded cable

    The leds were working yesterday, but not today !

    How do i reprogram the board ?

    I will try and order a 25 way moulded cable, but i doubt it will arrive anytime soon
  19. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    346
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,300Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    I doubt you need to touch the board...
    Have you tried changing Pn191?


    PN191 = 1 (Simulation of torque command direction - try 0 first)
  20. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,039
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    5,233Coins
    Ratings:
    +851 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    You will need to connect either the ST-link programmer from a discovery board to the appropriate pins, or get a separate ST-link programmer that has all pins connector so you can plug the ribbon cable.

    See this video that I used Discovery board:
  21. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,155
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    8,099Coins
    Ratings:
    +259 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Ok it would appear the aasd is not transmitting encoder data for index

    I have put a scope on the inputs and outputs to and from aasd

    There is a small pulse for a and b

    But i cant seem to find an index pulse

    Is there a way to configure what the aasd transmits and is there a gain for the values ?