1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

test simtools+stepmotor

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Bordiin, Jul 25, 2016.

  1. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I was thinking about this Nema motors...
    As always, there is a trade-off, they have lots of torque, but kinda slow, if you want them to get fast, they loose torque.
    So, you can use higher pitch screw (10mm pitch in this case) than common dc motors to get a little more speed until some point.
    @Bordiin , I think if you add a pair of gas struts to release some weight from the motor, you can get even faster response.
  2. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes they are really strong, i tried use nema 23, but i have some problems with torque in high speed, maybe the SCN5 or SCN6 the are using a drive to microstep, so you can reach more speed without loss of torque.
  3. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Maybe, i need think about, and find the best place to put the gas struts. but know i think that the motor can lift 150Kg, with this speed, but i will test later and informed you :D
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Bernd Manger

    Bernd Manger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Occupation:
    Measurement and control mechanic
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    960Coins
    Ratings:
    +252 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hello Bordiin,
    I don't know which nema23 is used in the SCN6.
    On this site are many of them available, even up to 3Nm.
    http://www.omc-stepperonline.com/stepper-motors-nema-23-stepper-motors-c-1_22.html

    Here are 4 pictures of a data sheet from another provider showing some torque curves. There are models for lower or higher speed.
    nema 23_Seite_1.jpg nema 23_Seite_2.jpg nema 23_Seite_3.jpg nema 23_Seite_4.jpg

    Have you thought about moving as well the pivot point as the motors closer to the balance point of the rig.
    So you need less movement (speed) of the actuators to reach the same swing amplitude of your rig.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @Bernd Manger I need test, but i'm thinking in build other actuator and put in front, or change use 2 in front and 1 in the back,
  6. LI JIAN HUI

    LI JIAN HUI Learn 2DOF maker

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    CHINA
    Balance:
    257Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor
    Feel a little noise, it sounds normal? Do you have any influence on the game?
  7. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    It's normal, because the high speed.
  8. Rudolf Jan Horak

    Rudolf Jan Horak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    Simulator Maintenance Student
    Location:
    Devils Lake, ND
    Balance:
    181Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    The stepper motors must give a good shimmy action. What plug in are you using for your game? Or is that a default (the one that it came with)
  9. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
  10. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    After a while here it's my final project :D
    IMG_20161121_115709742.jpg IMG_20161121_115740968.jpg
    • Like Like x 8
    • Winner Winner x 4
  11. obobo

    obobo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2016
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    1,262Coins
    Ratings:
    +76 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    nice form
    • Like Like x 1
  12. My.stAr

    My.stAr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    668Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    nice to see someone using stepper motors:thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  13. xiejin

    xiejin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    CHAINA
    Balance:
    37Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Nice
    • Like Like x 1
  14. pab61

    pab61 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Balance:
    527Coins
    Ratings:
    +39 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    This is great, thanks for all the info Bordiin. I'm looking at adding a seatbelt tensioner and wheel mover to my sim rig (I cant move the seat, my rig is too heavy (although, seeing yours has got me thinking, I've seen 13Nm Nema 34 Motors are available, imagine what they'd be capable of lifting!) so rather than build a seat mover I was planning to move the wheel instead) (will start up a build thread soon). Was looking at stepper motors and was wondering how strong I'd need them to be, seeing 3Nm motors lift your whole rig makes it pretty clear that motors like this will be more than enough to make the seatbelts tight, and move the wheel back and forward on sliding rails.

    One question (for Bordiin, or anyone else who knows), looks like the motor drivers are the same or similar to the ones I was looking at, they don't interface directly with the PC do they, I'll need an Arduino between them, is that right?
  15. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello @pab61 Yes you'll need one arduino to axis and one interface in simtools for axis too.
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,614
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,486Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    By all means post in your native language, but please also include an English translation via Google Translate. It saves other members time trying to work out who may need help and who is just posting a comment.

    We have bi-lingual speakers from many different language groups so if Google Translate really messes it up they can help clarify what was intended.

    There is a specific section for native language based social interactions: http://www.xsimulator.net/community/#international-social-chats-and-conversations.155
  17. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform

    testing the strength of the motors. with 135kg. and my new toys to improve my simulator :D

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  18. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,318
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    25,013Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,367 / 10 / -0
    Very, Very Nice Looking rig @Bordiin!!
    Well done buddy!
    yobuddy
    • Like Like x 1
  19. xytras

    xytras Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    germany
    Balance:
    587Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hmm steppers were the first thing that came to my mind when I started with my 2DOF. Since it is pretty difficult to get some good motors for a reasonable price here these steppers seem to be a good choice.
    There are 13Nm steppers available around 100 EUR and with driver around 140 EUR. There are cheaper TB6600 / 5A boards available but I guess they would burn. What driver is used here ?
  20. Bordiin

    Bordiin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +95 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hello @xytras, I'm using a 3Nm steppers I paid 60 EUR (http://www.kalatec.com.br/motor-de-passo-5034-349) the specification of the motor and the drive the company recommend this one (http://www.kalatec.com.br/drive-de-motor-de-passo-str8) I paid 200 EUR. STR8 is for 8A, it's a little bit expensive but is one of the best drive here in brazil.
    You need to check the current of the motor. And with you use the motor only to move de seat not all frame like me you can build with a nema 23 and use this TB6600 board