1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Started ordering stuff... Countdown to 2DOF build.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Archie, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looking forward to the official Nordschleife in AC though! And the rest of the Dream DLC for that matter.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks mate. Do you feel the gear changes through the motion? Side to side motion looks good for what I can tell.
  4. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @GIB SimRacing - Yes you do, it's hard to tell on the video as the video is angled up slightly. You get the "punch" as you go into gear.
    Also, (and why I prefer this track) you feel all the dips. It's a mind trick, there is one drop before a sharp right hander where you fly over the crest and dip down, on the sim your stomach goes (well it does for me), but sim only "drops" a few degrees. (About 5:27 in the video)

    You feel the rumble strips and all the bumps on the track and it really affects how you enter turns. A lot of bends on Nords have an adverse camber and you feel the car start to lean and then the pitch and sway kick in to "feel" the bend as it flicks you across.. It's hard to explain.
    Around 2:50 in the video you will notice I slow right down. The car bottoms out on this bend and you feel the "grind", if you hit this bend at speed you beach and fly off into the barrier. The same is true on the upward exit bend, floor it on the ascent and it will spin out, you can "feel" this start to happen.

    I used to think I wanted to get thrown around on my sim, but I much prefer subtle movements and when you are stuck under your seat belt it really amplifies the effect. GET YOUR SIM BUILT :D I'm excited for you!!!!!
    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2015
  5. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,782
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    18,888Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,494 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Darn, wish i could release the video i have of some F1 2015 testing in Assetto. Shows IMO what a F1 driver should be feeling after many of hours viewing on boards and specifically the head motion a driver is seeing.

    Over time you will refine your profiles and setting's to get an even better feel for what you are after.

    I would personally try with less sway and more heave and surge. FYI modern F1's dont have much "surge" to the shifting although to access our throttle brake pitching we need to run it and pending the game/mod the shifting surge can be rather uncomfortable due to the amount of shifts your doing. 8 gear's is A LOT of gears to bang up and down lap after lap.

    I also suggest clicking on the AI driver and seeing what that "F1" is really capable of in Pcars. Unfortunately if you've tuned your profile to driving a F1 like a GT, then the AI drive will feel REALLY rough.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Agree @Nick Moxley - I'm a newbie in terms of profile creation and force settings. I like the feel I have now and will likely refine it over time. When I play pCars from the helmet cam with the TrackIR switched on, it's a completely different game. I can barely make any of the corners at speed!!! With Oculus it must be intense!!
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,254
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,250Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,760 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't have pCars but the Rift literately puts you in the driver seat.

    The biggest Rift issue for racing is resolution, or lack thereof, and you really need to be familiar with SweetFX to really make the most of what the DK2 has to offer. To give you an idea of how much a difference graphics tweaks can make to what you can 'see', within a given resolution, my highly tweaked setup for War Thunder and the DK1 has just a little less close up cockpit detail but is far superior to the standard Gaijin DK2 offering for distance, sharpness and clarity.

    The Rift does force you to focus on refining motion profiles, as miscues in VR tend to make people feel off.

    In my opinion if you were surprised how much your motion sim brings to the experience then the Rift is at least that again.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Very nice! I can't wait to experience all of that! It is amazing what you can trick your brain into.

    Parts for my rig are slowly building up and soon it will be time to dismantle my sim and start modding. I always have a pretty busy schedule during the week so weekends are really the only time to get stuck into it.
    But I reckon I'll manage small bits and pieces during the week.....who needs sleep anyways?:p
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    The foot motor design is a good design, for a full frame, nice movement.
    Mine only had 7 deg total angle for surge, but with a good profile, it felt a lot more.
    Then again, it had 17 deg sway, so I had to settle the sway to suit.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Finally managed to get a video of my Sim in motion from the view of the Motors.
    Showing the general range I get, with a few crashes as well for good measure.

    The angle of this video makes my sim look like it's really leaning back. It's not, its the angle of the camera and the taper of my sim making it appear that way.
    When motors are in the middle the platform is level.

    Video link: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9UVNikjcBjCaU11T2JBVVZ1QVE/view?usp=sharing
    • Like Like x 2
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,254
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,250Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,760 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You are getting a fair range and precision of movement there @Archie.

    A couple of minor observations, if you ever consider some further reinforcing. It looks like the front frame can flex and absorb some of the finer heave movement, which does not look like it is transferred to the seat, at around 1:55. The motors also seem to be able to induce some movement of the base board they are attached to under extreme loads.
  12. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey @noorbeast - Aah, yes I never actually noticed that. Looks like a cross brace just in front of the pedals and in behind the steering column will fix that.

    Base boards do leave the ground under extreme movement, Might need to counterweight the front base....
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    OK - What the hell happened to Assetto Corsa hmm???

    Let me explain...

    Fired it up and noticed it had gone to 1.1.3.
    Went for a drive and wheel and pedals not working well. (stupid game I thought... not winning me over)
    Ran the wheel calibration and pedal calibration again.
    Chose Nords and the Lotus EXO car.

    Went for a spin expecting to turn it off after a few corners and go back to pCars.

    ITS AWESOME!!!!!

    What happened??? You all know pCars is my go to game at the moment, but last night AC was something just epic.
    Motion Profile has not changed, but the sim was humming. I literately spent 2 hours just lapping on Nords.

    The sensation of speed is excellent. It did not stutter before for me at all, but something has changed.
    It's smoother than Smoothy McSmooth the winner of last years "I'm Smoother than Smooth" competition in Smoothtown.
    • Funny Funny x 1
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    AC did an update and its upset the re-modded cars you can download. I found out today. The rfactor converted cars on acmods.net need fixing. Kunos knows this and so do modders. Give it some time.
    The laser scanned nords is Awesome. really good
  15. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Dammit!!! I'm really hanging to get back to AC and my sim is spread across several rooms at the moment. Once I get my rig going again, I will meet you in "The Green Hell" @Archie !!!:cheers
    Well better get back to building...
    • Like Like x 1
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Its only some of the cars in the ACMOD.NET page , the escort and jag seem to be the issues so far. Delete them and see if it runs. My game did
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,254
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,250Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,760 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I got warnings with the Ford and Holden V8 Supercars and so deleted them.
  18. GIB SimRacing

    GIB SimRacing Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Barossa Valley, SA
    Balance:
    1,484Coins
    Ratings:
    +245 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Shame there are no legal V8 mods yet.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  19. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    the mods are not illegal, they were converted from old rfactor to AC, problem is, the kunos update code is different to the mods so the mods and game have to be fixed.
  20. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    534
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    540Coins
    Ratings:
    +506 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi all
    there seems to be error with cars

    :- you pick a car to load and it fails to load



    for this in the car data folder there is an aero.ini (open in notepad) you must change the header to version 2
    [HEADER]
    VERSION=2

    and delete the [DATA] section example below but not the [WING 0]

    [DATA] ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    REFERENCE_AREA=1.5 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    CD=0.445 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    CL=1.6 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    FRONT_SHARE=0.40 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    CDX=1 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data
    CDY=1 ; OBSOLETE SECTION. Must copy to keep AC from crashing, but use WING section for body data

    this has worked for a few mods I use

    I found this info online hope it helps
    • Useful Useful x 1