1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom Started ordering stuff... Countdown to 2DOF build.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Archie, Jan 9, 2015.

  1. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Well, finally order some Worm Drive motors today with the stock 25:1 gears from MD (AU)

    Firstly, I am spending WAY to much time on this forum.. I read a design and think "Yep - Thats the one" Then I read another and go "Ohhh, thats a good idea" I'm an eternal tinkerer, having built a full size MAME arcade machine from scrap that I am always adding something too... so I can't wait to get started on a motion sim.

    Quick question for the Aussie based builders that use JRK's. Where are you getting your boards from?

    I thought they were quite expensive until I discovered MonsterMoto's are like rocking horse poo and can cost almost US$60 anyway..

    So far, my shopping list is:

    2 x Worm Drives 200W 12V - Ordered from MD
    2 x JRK 12v12 - Tracking down....
    2 x Dell 750W PSU (2950) with power mod / fan mod. Order next week
    2 x 10K Hall Effect Multi Turn Pot Order Next week.

    Frame build of either 25x25 Steel RHS or tubular steel... not sure yet....

    I'm also toying with the idea of fitting two 10kg Servos to pull the racing harness tight under braking and full acceleration to give that "chest tightness" feeling...

    Actually, so many frikkin ideas in my head...putting them into practice will be the challenge.

    Will keep you all posted on my progress...it will be slow.. I work crazy hours with limited budget!

    Thanks for everyone who has given me advise thus far.

    Cheers,

    Archie.
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,196
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,596Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,268 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    @bsft here is from Sydney and uses JRKs for breakfast ... :grin
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah - @bsft has been a massive help and is one of the people I stumbled upon on YouTube that got me here... Him and @noorbeast (thank or blame?!?!)

    :grin
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,059Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Oh you will curse us in some of those confounding moments @Archie, but the community here will help out through those and the end result of your own motion sim is just magic...despite some unexpected frustrations and possible skun knuckles along the way ;)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2015
  6. dedas

    dedas Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    101
    Occupation:
    IT Manager
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    279Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Succes with building your 2DOF gear:grin
  7. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks everyone.

    Has anyone had experience with the dell 2950 psu? Does the fan come on when needed like the HP dps-600?

    I have some smaller HP psu from a 1RU hp server but max amp is 26A. Would that be enough power for one motor / jrk combo?
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,393
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,053Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,698 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi, you don't need servos, just connect the back of the harness to the frame via some good size springs and when the seat tilts forward under braking it will automatically tighten the harness. It is what allot of us already do. I buy my JRKs from the OEM.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just giggled to myself for over thinking it... I have seen those and thought it was some aesthetic thing. Simple and effective...cool.
  10. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,782
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,147Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,493 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    The Fan Runs FULL Tilt when you power it up, Sounds like a JET Fighter taking off. LOL

    In all seriousness tho, Im pretty sure there is Zero documentation on weather or not the 2950's will kick the fan speed Up if its needed. I however feel that The Idle "fan mod" speed is MORE than adequate air flow to cool the components. I do know for a fact the 600pb's have the ability to Up the Fan speed Even with the fan mod done. Granted the Build thread on the 600's is 100's of pages long VS the 2950's which is essentially just a Pin out link.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks Nick,

    I was just about to take my chances and hit purchase on two 2950's when two HP 600's popped up on eBay., so I get those. Half the cost of the 2950's to boot!

    I work in IT so have a few psu's lying around, but they are all 26amp psu's from 1ru servers.
  12. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,059Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The benefits of an active and helpful community!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,782
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,147Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,493 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Seeing as you got 25 boxes, Ill assume your Not a Big guy. Only reason i went with 2650's for buddy's rig is the fact he's a Big boy and I never ever wanted to have to worry about lack of Wattage for fans and accessory 12v items he plans to run. Plus i got them At a SMOKING deal for 15$ a pop. So cant really say No to that.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    agreed, one can never have too much power on hand
    off topic, like this guy, never too much power, even if it is just over 2000hp at the wheels
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am a big guy at 110kg, but more height and width than round :)

    Got me worried now.. Should I have gone for 50:1 or 60:1 boxes??
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,059Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It really depends on the rig design @Archie, with a traditional shoulder mount seat shaker 25:1 should be fine. Worst case you can always change gearboxes, I did.
  17. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Chances are I will come across more DELL PSU's through work at some point so will grab some then.

    @bsft posted an awesome video of a foot mounted motor platform which I really liked the movement of.

    Thanks @noorbeast - I an doing a rough design of the sim which I will post here soon.

    What I can't seem to figure out in my head is the weight/COG maths.
    I keep seeing the sim like a wheelbarrow where the foot mounted motors are the handles (so to speak.)
    You can move a wheelbarrow easy from that point (the handles) as the weight is over the wheel (pivot)
    However, try that from the loaded end and it would take way more effort.

    I only post that observation as an example as I'm trying to understand the dynamics of it all :)
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,987
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,059Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,684 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes a foot mount will work, just keep the mount point for the motor rods above frame height, as per @bsft's original.

    A round pipe is a far easier way to determine the COG than math, and a lot more fun too, just include yourself, controls and anything else that is part of the rig and have a mate roll you and the basic frame back and forth to find the COG.
  19. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Make the motor mounts a bit higher of the frame, so its above toe level and space the motor wider than the 450mm I had them at and 25:1 with 40mm CTC levers will move you no probs
  20. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    as per instructions, set everything up on the frame and roll him on a piece of pipe to find the balance point, then make a mark, and put the pivot under there.
    balance point.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 1
  21. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,686Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,371 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Awesome stuff.

    I love this place! :D
    • Agree Agree x 3