1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

so whats the verdict? Oculus or Vive?

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Boomslangnz, Jun 26, 2016.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    While there are ways to stream gaming video from a computer to something like GearVR it is not a good idea @Pit. It is a sub par experience in many ways, including but not limited to the lack of positional tracking, and the additional latency can make people sick.

    GearVR is fun for its intended purpose, so getting it as a freebie when you need a phone anyway is a great deal. But it does not match high end PC based VR.
  2. Map63Vette

    Map63Vette Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Balance:
    471Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    It's not typically quite that easy as the GearVR isn't necessarily designed to mirror a computer screen very easily. It can be done with some apps that will stream either wirelessly or over a USB cable, but quality can vary a fair amount and it's really just not quite the same. I played around with a Google Cardboard setup with an old phone of mine and TrinusVR to do screen mirroring, which worked, but wasn't the best. I think the bigger issue is the games tend to use the Oculus runtime and straight screen mirroring doesn't necessarily, so the game might not recognize your phone as a VR headset if that makes any sense. Wireless is off the table too, the bandwidth is just too low and quality is pretty awful (at least in my experience). It's fine for something like watching 3D videos or pictures, but I'm not sure streaming games to one is quite there yet.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Cartti

    Cartti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    180Coins
    Ratings:
    +58 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    I got Htc Vive. Tracking is way better in terms of smoothness and precision compared to rift that i have also tried.

    With motion sims it's a whole another matter. You can't bolt your vive lighthouses to your motion rig as it has moving parts inside and loses sync if moved. What that means is that you have to keep it separate from your rig and if you have a rig that uses massive angles up to 30-40 degrees your head tilts with it and you are suddenly looking at your racing cars floor or roof when accelerating/decelerating. It feels really unnatural to tilt your head while accelerating to see straight. I would go with the Rift for rigs that use high angles so you are able to bolt your camera to move with you.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What you can do is mount the Vive controllers to the Rig, which should give you instant tracking of it. Unfortunately I have not got around to seeing what it will take to come up with a way to offset the rig movement from the HMD view, as that is what motion cancellation is.
  5. stomper

    stomper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Timber Treater
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Hi all, before I look at purchasing a VR headset I am wondering if anyone on here themselves or knows someone that uses VR with monocular vision. ( sight in only one eye).
    Will VR work for me as I have lost depth perception and can no longer watch anything in 3D. Cheers
    I'm not sure if I should post this here or start a new thread.
  6. crammy

    crammy Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Fabrication
    Location:
    essex
    Balance:
    4,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +323 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN6, 4DOF
    I think the principles of the vr would work like looking around and getting slight feelings as that is all you will see. It should be no different to how you are now in theory as you have no depth of field in real life viewing I'm assuming
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is always a good idea to try VR before you buy, as it is a significant investment and even the consumer versions are not for everyone.

    I expect that while you miss out on stereoscopic vision, with positional tracking when you move your head you still have parallax as a strong depth cue. That is what you should already be used to IRL.
  8. Mic_n

    Mic_n New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Curious with the Vive (I have one, but no motion sim).. The standard room-scale setup puts the two lighthouses up with channel 'b' and 'c'. I've seen somewhere that people have been able to set it up with just a single lighthouse (set to channel A? seeing conflicting info on the purposes of that around the place) to use for a purely seated move, similar to the Rift.

    If that's the case, then unless the lighthouses themselves have some sort of accelerometer in them (entirely possible) that can internally detect a positional change, and raise a 'sync fault' issue themselves, I'd have thought you should be fine to attach one to a sim? Without a second one connected, there's no relative motion between them, so no conflict in the signals received from the HMD tracking the two..

    Has anyone out there tried it out like that? Performance wise it should be no worse than the Rift when running on the one lighthouse.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Lighthouse channels allow for different modes, either syncing wirelessly or via the included sync cable.

    While Lighthouse is technically capable of having more than 2 base stations running at the same time, as they are capable of varying the modulation frequency of the semiconductor lasers, the same is not true of the Vive HMD. The current first gen Vive HMD and controllers are hard-wired with bandpass filters at fixed frequency.

    Basically what that means @Mic_n is that you can have 2 base stations for a Vive play space and have a single base station for a seated sim play space, but you can't run them all at the same time. It has to be one or the other.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. Mic_n

    Mic_n New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Very informative, much appreciated. Any idea in regards to mounting a single station though, as would be done with a rift? Would it actually throw software issues, or is it just the risk of physically damaging things with the moving internals?
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The Vive will work just fine with a single base station for forward seated experiences, like the Rift, just turn the C base station off and start SteamVR with just the B base station.
  12. stomper

    stomper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Occupation:
    Timber Treater
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Are there any places in Brisbane where i could try the oculus and/or the vive.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  14. Mic_n

    Mic_n New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Sydney
    Balance:
    342Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    sorry, should have clarified "with that lighthouse mounted on a moving sim".. There have been suggestions earlier of the moving lighthouse losing sync, I'm wondering if that's true even with only that lighthouse active. If & when I go down the track of building myself a sim, it'll be for use with my Vive, so I'd like to know that it's actually do-able before I put in that time and effort ;)

    I do like the idea of somehow mounting the controllers there and using them as a 'zero' reference in software, but that does add an extra layer of compute and wrappers that might not really be needed?
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can't mount the Lighthouse base stations on a sim, they have moving parts and are not made for such use.

    If you plan a race style sim with fast precise and relatively short axis movements then you will not really notice the lack of motion cancellation using the external mounted base station. If you plan a large axis movement sim like a 6DOF Stewart rig then the lack of motion cancellation is an issue.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,166Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hey guys I throw this into the round: http://www.osvr.org/hdk2.html. I am just collecting all information, could be a option to Oculus Rift and Vive.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Honestly OSVR is still a hacker/dev device, despite starting to move toward a more consumer orientation. It is not a Vive/Rift competitor.
  18. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,995
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,166Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,000 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Why not? It has a TrackIR camera and seems to be very good and much cheaper than Oculus (no controller and ear phone etc) - still under development and in deed only a few games are yet supported.
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,158
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,093Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See Norm's summary at 6:45, the display is sub par compared to the Rift and Vive, there is no actual tracked controllers standard, the break out box is only 1M from the HMD and is designed as a belt clip, the SteamVR plugin is alpha, plus a bunch of user reported issues: https://www.reddit.com/r/OSVR/search?sort=new&restrict_sr=on&q=flair:Technical+Support

    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. monicamary

    monicamary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    299Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    I have to agree with you. I looked at the HDK2 as neither the Rift or Vive ship to my country and the HDK2 is significantly cheaper while still matching the specs (on paper) of the other two HMDs. Yet, the HDK1 had many problems and people have had issues setting up both versions. Just search black screen HDK1 to see all the people who had endless troubles trying to get their headset to work. The HDK2 is still very much a dev kit(it using an arduino to process the inputs from the acclerometers and gyros). I have also heard that its optical quality is nowhere near that of the Rift or Vive. Personally, I think that it is a great project and that it will push VR forward, but it is certainly not an easy to setup, plug and play devices. Non devs, beware!
    • Agree Agree x 1