1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Simulated Wind using MonsterMoto and ArduinoUno

Discussion in 'SimTools compatible interfaces' started by SilentChill, May 15, 2015.

  1. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    why not a Vortex Cannon?
    Ha, ha !!

  2. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Here is my video on the effects of the air flow straightener on the wind simulator.

    You see about a 30-50% increase depending on where the Anemometer is.

    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 2
  3. Rudolf Jan Horak

    Rudolf Jan Horak Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    Simulator Maintenance Student
    Location:
    Devils Lake, ND
    Balance:
    181Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Motion platform
    Silent Chill, just when I thought I had seen it all, someone can create something totally new. I am amazed. Just like you added wind I wonder if things like smoke could be added?
  4. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,514
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,232 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes with the correct values from a game you can create anything :)
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  6. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0

    My air straightners were designed a bit different Richard. The honey comb side also has a 10,5mm straight pipe, with a small edge on it. This way i can snap them right over the fan outlet and there fixed. For safety i will add a screw or some tape, but it's not necessary.

    [​IMG]hebergeur d image

    I did some testing myself today and i totally agree with your findings in the video. At 60cm the wind is noticable stronger. It's more a beam and less spread out. Great find :thumbs


    My airstraighters are 60,5 mm long : 25mm honeycomb + 25mm straight pipe + 10,5 mm mouting (over the oulet)
    If anyboy is interested, you can download them here below:

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,574
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,511 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  8. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Avenga76 : when we are using ultrasonic PWM with Motomonster, we cannot stack it anymore on the arduino
    The clock tweak can only be applied on some pins (which are not compatible with MM).

    Do you have any idea to make your beautiful box accept un-stacked boards?
    Thanks! :)
  9. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    I still had to rewire my rig to accomodate the windsimulator. I made a stupid mistake and blew up both my motoshield and arduino:mad:

    Luckily i had a spare motoshield in stock and a replacement arduino arrived today. I got everything installed in arduino box (designed by richard :thumbs)

    So tonight i was ready to go and feel some wind, but gamedash kept crashing all the time. It took me all night to diagnose the issue and it looks like some of my USB ports are not compatible with Simtools and i needed to replace a USB cable. The strange thing is that my GS4, DSD shifter and CSP HB which where all connnected to the same hub/cable/port worked perfectly fine.

    On the Iracing forum there's also a programm for the wind simulator in Iracing, which works without any problems on that same usb port/cable/hub.

    I had the honeycomb airstraighters installed, but while in theory they should perform better, i took them off and prefered the turbulent wind more.

    [​IMG]


    Will have another go after re-alining the fans to make a final decision to race with or without.


    My friend Martin, who has started the same project, had another problem: As soon as he switched on the power on the motoshield one of the transistors exploded

    [​IMG]


    A lot of trial and error :D
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,574
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,511 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,514
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,058Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,232 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Blown Caps like that usually 99.9% of the time mean wrong 12v polarity in my experience . Simple mistake to happen but it does and I have too lol :D
    • Like Like x 1
  12. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    Thanks I got pcars working but could not get Dirt Rally to work. I tried both options, but in gamedash the vehicle speed stays at 000.


    Am I missing something? I need some help here guys.:sos
  13. HoiHman

    HoiHman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +143 / 1 / -0
    First of all: hug:@SilentChill for writing the code, sharing it with us and starting this topic. It's another great addition to my rig.



    MOTOSHIELD

    Actually we both got our MM at one of the recommended buyers on that list : http://www.ebay.com/itm/191674295987

    My friends MM exploded, but mine has flaw too. :( Today i found out that at full speed one half side puts out 9,5v and the chip get really hot, much hotter than the good working side. The fan connected to that side runs noticably slower.

    The chip on that side seats higher on the board. Which is probably the cause of the problem. This makes 2 out 3 ordered board faulty. I ordered another one, but it's starting to feel like a lottery.


    GAMEDASH CRASHES

    Gamedash crashed everytime i loaded a race game, but it worked fine with nolimits2. At first i thought it was usb related or even perhaps the com port of my GS4 was the problem. If i ran nolimits 2 once, the other games worked fine too, untill i closed gamedash.

    Turns out that the gamedash crashes were not USB related, but due to wrong settings in gamedash. I did put the math values in every game, but forgot to adjust the settings in the output tab for each game. :oops:

    Though i post it here if in case anybody runs into the same problem

    [​IMG]


    DIRT RALLY STILL NOT WORKING

    What ever i do i just can't seem to get dirt rally working with the windsimulator. When i run the game i the speed in gamedash remains at zero. I have edited the hardwaresettingsconfig.xml and tried port forwarding in SC4, but still no go.

    Here's a screenshot while the game is running

    [​IMG]

    What am i doing wrong here? If any of you guys could help me out that would great.

    :sos:sos
  14. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Hey guys.

    I just thought I would share the latest addition to my controller box.

    A total redesign of the lid with a 50mmx50mmx15mm fan

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Here are some photos, ignore the wires hanging out because I haven't wired it up fully yet.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Here is a shot of it running

    [​IMG]

    And here is a shot looking down through the spinning fans. Right over the heatsinks. I even lined up my supports with the ones in the fan so there is 0% obstruction.

    [​IMG]

    The side vents are working really well also. You can feel a blast of cold air coming out each side.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,574
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,511 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Just brilliant!

    Can you add the 3D file for others? I think this one is going to be really popular!
  16. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yeah, I will upload the files tomorrow hopefully. I just want to do some tweaking. The fan sits about 0.5mm above the caps and I am not sure if that is too close. I might pop in up another half a mill to allow for a bit of extra clearance.

    I also want to try it with the fan wires in place, just so I can make sure I have enough clearance for them.

    When I am all happy with it and finished tweaking then I will upload the file.
    • Like Like x 3
  17. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Made some VERY minor changes and printed out a new lid.

    I am a bit of a perfectionist so I probably didn't need to make these changes and they aren't even noticeable but they are.

    -Added 0.5mm height so there is now about 1mm clearance between the fan and the top of the capacitor (I was worried about other peoples boards with caps that were not quite flush with the board)

    -Made the little hooks on the fan 1mm smaller so it is easier to get the fan in. I thought the old hooks were a little too long.

    It 100% perfect now. The fan fits like a glove, it is so tight that you sort of need to wiggle the fan in there but once it is in then it ain't going nowhere. It is toight, toight like a toiger

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    Last edited: May 14, 2017
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,574
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,511 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  19. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,377Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,861 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @HoiHman : maybe your friend could use Red & Black wires instead of blue & brown wires... it could help preventing reverse polarity ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  20. Avenga76

    Avenga76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Messages:
    518
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Balance:
    3,214Coins
    Ratings:
    +830 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks. I have some other stuff that I have designed sort of along those lines that I will be announcing soon. I have been really busy designing stuff :) :)

    Tested the fan on my test box running the 10A TMC blowers.

    With no fans I stopped my tests at around 70-80 degrees.

    With the 50mm fan it hangs around the 30 degree range. This is even lower than the 42 degrees with the 6A Seaflo blowers without a fan.

    Plus it has this awesome red glow from the LEDs on the MM. Looks really awesome

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1