1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimTools - What's Next for development

Discussion in 'Breaking News' started by yobuddy, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,967
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    37,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,115 / 11 / -0
    @pmvcda,
    Thanks allot, you rock buddy! :thumbs
    Just to be clear, its expecting roll, pitch,and yaw in degrees and heave, sway and surge as g-forces?
    I agree, a sensor on the rig makes the most sense I think.

    I was wondering if an arduino with a 6dof board would work for the sensor, but in my tests, the sensor always drifts over time.
    So I would really like to play with one of these sensors to see what they can do.
    Anyway thanks again,
    yobuddy
  2. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,967
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    37,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,115 / 11 / -0
    Just kind of brainstorming here, but is seems to me that mounting the sensor to the back of the headrest would be the best location?
    Maybe on a slider or something, so we can quickly slide it (up or down) to the head location of any rider.
    Then unless I'm mistaken, we don't need any math for approximations for head height etc...
    Any thoughts on this?
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2021
  3. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,676
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,788Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,783 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Forgot to mention that.
    Sway, surge and heave are in mm.
    Yaw roll and pitch in degrees.

    Any sensor could work, we need something that can send data to the pc.
    Srs is using this: https://m.pt.aliexpress.com/item/40...tedetail&spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.3a714c4dEFdmb1
  4. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,676
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    12,788Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,783 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    We want to cancel the rig motion, so it should be mounted on the rig (the part of the rig that moves).
    And it can be any place on the rig. No measures needed.
    That idea of the head is for the motion.
    When we generate motion, it should be thinking on the head/neck for the sway/surge mixing in roll/pitch.

    I want to test that sensor to be sure there's no drift, specially in dislocations. Doubt there's nothing.
    If we get accelerations we need to integrate to get mm. So we are going to acumulate errors. Rotations are not a problem.
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2021
  5. Dschadu

    Dschadu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,909Coins
    Ratings:
    +135 / 1 / -0
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,967
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    37,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +4,115 / 11 / -0
    @Dschadu,
    Thanks , appreciate it!

    I believe I understand now, we want the displacement of surge, sway, heave in mm.
    (Or how far it has drifted from its origin in mm)
    @pmvcda,
    Thanks again!
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2021
  7. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    263Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    They have an IMU on the YawVR and a virtual tracker driver that uses the data from it. The yaw axis is going to drift with any IMU. I think a great cheap (or expensive if you want) driftless optical solution would be to use data from opentrack. Then you can use any device opentrack already supports. https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2021
  8. Soliire

    Soliire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    42Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I needed SimTools at least because other programs didn't support the solutions I was making. I needed different developers in different fields for my game, and I even hired iOS developers.