1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
yobuddy

SimTools v2 - Video Ride Player v2.2

Play video ride films reformatted or created by the Video Ride Creator.

  1. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    It will be VLC, as I already have a working version built on it.
    But as I understand it thou, VLC still needs to support VR?
    yobuddy
  2. Shige Tanaka

    Shige Tanaka FREX Actuator Supplier http://www.frex.com/gp/ SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    FREX
    Location:
    Osaka Japan
    Balance:
    - 189Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    VLC VR support plan seems existing and it will be with VLC 4.0 according to the latest post of VLC forms on May 07 2018.

    • Like Like x 2
  3. Shige Tanaka

    Shige Tanaka FREX Actuator Supplier http://www.frex.com/gp/ SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    FREX
    Location:
    Osaka Japan
    Balance:
    - 189Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  6. LaserWars

    LaserWars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    hello, I wish I could launch the movements of a simulator just for demonstration every x minutes. Is it possible to launch the player via a batch?
    During my tests it starts but the video is not loaded.
    If you even have a solution to just execute the movements recorded in the text file it interests me because the video is not useful to me.
  7. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    Play the video with the Video Ride Player and minimize the video maybe?
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  8. LaserWars

    LaserWars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    0Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Thanks for reply. Is à solution but there is no loop mode on player.
  9. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    You can complete a race in Live for Speed, and then replay your race and it will loop over and over with motion, if that helps buddy.
    Take care,
    yobuddy
  10. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi Guys, I really would like to play 360° videos with video ride player for the telemetry option. But actually, it seems that the player don't support this format.

    Do you think this option will be deployed?
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The option will eventuate, but it needs a sound basis for a compatible free player to build it on, and the sensible choice would be VLC, as it is open source and plays most file formats. But to be complete VLC needs VR support and thats not due until the 4.0 release: https://vrscout.com/news/vlc-media-player-vr-support/#
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2020
  12. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi everybody, I'm always in search of a better experience for immersive 360 video. Today, I'd like to know if it's possible to drive a wind simulator with video ride player.

    If you find how to do to read 360° video with video ride player, I'm always waiting about a solution...

    Thank you!
  13. Errol

    Errol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    - 84Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, 6DOF
    VLC has VR support now but the video has to have it's metadata set to indicate it's a VR video.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,582
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,221Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,140 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That will give @yobuddy something to play with, as a foundation.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi everybody,
    I work hard to make an experience player. since a few month, I'd like to play the simulation and a 360 video at the same time. I made my program with unity and Claudio silva's unity plugin. I'm nearly getting to have it functionnal.
    But when I try an expérience who worked fine on video ride player, it's more slow in my program that it's in video ride player. For exemple, one of my experience is a ride who run in 23 FPS. With Unity, I send one frame every 0.043s - 0.044s (23FPS) and it's more slow than in video ride player.

    Can you explain me if I made a mistake?

    Thank you.
  16. Franck TALBART

    Franck TALBART Franckarts

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    - 265Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey Team,

    I would like to launch the player from bash using a video filename as a parameter:
    Code:
     .\VideoRidePlayer.exe .\main.mp4
    The player is launched but it does not open the video. I would need that feature to embed the player in an Oculus project.
    Could you add this quick feature please?

    Thanks a lot for your advices.
  17. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    Well, I tried making a lua script for VLC that simply collects the timestamp and sends it over UDP to simtools.
    Seems simple enough, and it would make VLC a native VR-360 video ride player.
    Got it all done, tested, and then loaded it in VLC only to learn VLC can't use outside library.
    So in short, We can't use UDP from VLC extensions. arg... lol

    Well unless VLC is compiled with the proper flags to allow an outside library to be loaded.
    But if we have to go thru that every time, it sort of make the extension scrips sort of pointless.
    As we could simply memory hook the needed timestamp I believe.

    Still a few things to try, But this one seemed too simple and strait forward.
    Take care,
    yobuddy