1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules
yobuddy

SimTools v2 - Video Ride Player v2.2

Play video ride films reformatted or created by the Video Ride Creator.

  1. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,547Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    @yobuddy Great news !

    I bought the IMU 9DOF razor from Sparkfun, and it's really easy to use (with sd card embedded) : https://www.sparkfun.com/products/14001
    Which data transmission system do you use for motions ?
  2. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
  3. hooshang

    hooshang Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    258
    Balance:
    219Coins
    Ratings:
    +149 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hello @yobuddy
    first thank you for the nice app and then,is it possible to assign any short key(keyboard) for the bottons like
    Play,Pause ,Stop and Open folder in the Video Ride Player?
    truly
    Hooshang
  4. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    @hooshang,
    It's hard to assign keys that we know for sure won't be used in anything else.
    I added shortcut keys to another app i did, and I only had problems, as it interfered with other apps i had running.
    I think it would need to have the shortcut keys configurable to be future prof.
    Or maybe copy the same layout of another well known player.

    After GameVibe goes live, I will be revisiting the whole Video Ride package.
    The creator needs to be able to sync and import new telemetry files.
    And few other things I'm sure.
    Maybe we can add some shortcut keys to the player while all this is going on.

    take care,
    yobuddy
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  5. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    How can I use vidéo ride player with an htc vive?
    Have you got some vidéos démo?
    Have you got an howto configure the api to work with simtool?

    Thx
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In the long term it would make sense to integrate VLC support, as VLC is open source and can play just about anything, including 360 degree videos in the beta branch. Unfortunately VLC does not yet have VR support, so it may be a while.

    I did post some other possible VR players a while ago, but I am at a Christmas party so you would have toi do a search for that post.
  7. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    ok thank, you for your answer.
    I will try to run video ride player and vive video together.
  8. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    556
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,547Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Does it work ?
  9. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    hi,
    I haven't tried yet. Sorry.
  10. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello everybody,
    Would anyone have videos already encoded with telemetry information to run the simulator?
    Can you tell me where and how to download exmples?
  11. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thx for your answer yobuddy.
    I already knew video ride creator, but not recorder. I have download it, and I don't understand how it works... When I run it, I just have "record" and "make video" buttons. How can I make a Telemetry file?
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It works with any game that is compatible with SimTools, just record a race/flight game with video ride recorder, and then video ride recorder will create the video and telemetry so you can replay or share the experience.
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  14. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Ha Ok I understand!
    I thought that I can make a telemetry file with my keyboard for example. I wish I import this file in vidéo ride creator and I mix it with a 360 video file from youtube for example.
  15. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello,
    I'm encountring lots of problems with the video ride player and creator.
    First of all : I have video ride player installed on my computer. I have simtools correctly installed and my DIY licence activated. I hav drag and drop the vidéo ride player plugin on the plugin manager. But, I can't see the vidéo ride player in the game manager. What's happen???
    secondly, I have generate a telemetry file with an arduino and MPU 6050 (I'll post the howto later, when my project will be finnished) but i don't understand how to import it in a video with video ride creator...

    Could you help me please?

    capture vrp.png
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,583
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,731Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,844 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The DIY licence does not cover Video Ride Player etc. See https://simtools.us/license/ for what each license covers.
  17. Pitchoun511

    Pitchoun511 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Perpignan
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    OK excuse my ignorance

    All right with a professional licence.

    For the second question, it's ok too. I generate a file with video ride player (vrp), and I rename my file with the vrc file's name...
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2018
  18. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,788
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    34,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,940 / 10 / -0
    There is no syncing telemetry to a vid file yet...
    It more setup to be able make any 4d or 5d ride film to be SimTools compatible.

    Take a look at the Video Ride Recorder if you want to make instant ride films from anything SimTools is compatible with.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
  19. Shige Tanaka

    Shige Tanaka FREX Actuator Supplier http://www.frex.com/gp/ SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Occupation:
    FREX
    Location:
    Osaka Japan
    Balance:
    - 189Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 6DOF
    I could write the 6DOF data on 360VR mp4 video by Vido Ride Creator and hope to see it with Oculus Rift through "Open VR Video Player" for example.
    Is there any way to start the motion data with the player same time?

    Thanks in advance.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,571
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    114,132Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,137 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    See my earlier comment, it makes sense to ensure all VR HMDs have VR support when implemented, and while there are a range of possible players that could be supported I would suggest VLC integration, though in the end it will be up to @yobuddy to decide what gets implemeted: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/simtools-v2-video-ride-player.9776/page-3#post-146781