1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

RaceRoom Racing Simtools Challenge Leaderboard

Discussion in 'Virtual Racing League' started by RufusDufus, Sep 21, 2013.

  1. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    This is setup as a trial only... To see how much member interest there is.

    The Challenge:
    Your best hotlap in the game RaceRoom Racing Experience. This is a free to play game with additional in game paid content.
    I have chosen the RaceRoom Raceway - Grand Prix track using a Hillclimb Icons - 134 Judd V8 car as they are both free game content.

    How to Enter:
    Install the RaceRoom Racing Experience Game (and get working with simtools and your motion sim)
    Start the game and go to the in game leaderboard
    In the leaderboard headings set filters for:
    • Track: RaceRoom Raceway - Grand Prix track
    • Car: Hillclimb Icons - 134 Judd V8 car
    • Difficulty: Get Real (because we're motion sim racers)
    Select another player to use as a ghost car and click the "Challenge" button
    Put in some laps, tune the car, get your best lap time
    Post your results here noting:

    I will aim to manually compile the results into a table below and keep updated as new times are posted (for a trial period only). If all goes well hopefully we can find a better way to maintain the list?
    • Like Like x 2
  2. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    Leaderboard

    Code:
                    Username
    Position        xsimulator.net        In Game Name              Lap Time              Date Posted
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1 (update)     Mestarn               Torsten Mestarn Edvinsson 1m22.443s            21 Dec 2014
    2              prilad                Alexey Priladyshev        1m22.737s            12 Nov 2013
    3              pitstopp              Kai Herchenhan            1m23.902s            18 Oct 2013
    4              RacingMat             Racing Mat                1m27.681s            17 Oct 2013
    5              RufusDufus            Craig Hoffmann            1m27.899s            20 Oct 2013
    6              Historiker            David Gibson              1m36.109s            15 Oct 2013
    7              Value1                value one                 1m48.670s            27 Oct 2013
    
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014
  3. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,615
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,560Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,142 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    Good time for first time:)
    Promise, i will!!! We have to be patient, it needs time and effort to establish a online racing "gamers" community, so dont be disappointing if it takes some time until more user come in here.
    I will RaceRoom definitely give it a try (the game looks very nice) and push as hard as i can to top your fastest lap @RufusDufus :)

    Unfortunately i am not home until sunday evening.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    all right rufus dufus, rub it in. I am knackered after last nights sim abuse, so it will be at least a week before I get a change to put RaceRoom Racing Experience Game on the 'puter.
  5. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    Haha that's funny... I had to post my lap time quick to guarantee I would be in number 1 position for a while! ;) Talking about being knackered - I have a stiff neck at the moment and I reckon it is from the sim.

    Happy to wait for your time, as Rene said we need to be patient. Hopefully though as people post lap times others will jump on board.

    No need to wait for a perfect run either, I'm happy to update times if you do a better lap at a later time. :thumbs
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I might get to it today, but my home is being invaded by my wife's family today :(

    Last night must really have wiped you all out, I checked the mumble server this morning (night for you but didnt find anyone online.
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,837 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi guys !

    Of course, I registered ;-)
    but RufusDufus, is it possible to play without STEAM ? i can't find the download...
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It looks like they are using the Steam interface only now. I like Steam an try to use it exclusively (easier to keep track of the games that I have) but I do understand why people would prefer not to be tethered.

    Another great feature of steam (for me) is the friends list and ability to grab friends right into the game.
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,837 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks for this answer : i'll jump into it (for free !)
  10. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Installing it on my motion platform as we speak ;)
  11. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Last night I didnt bother, too tired. Usually check if we are around on skype first. Good chance we are asleep on the desk. Pop up on skype a while before hand to see if we are go for a run.
    Mine is live:dvdlane970

    Its not so much a matter of "being wiped out" , life can tire you out in general. Spirit wants to race, body just plain tired to do so. Kids wear me down sufficiently
  12. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,462Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,626 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Oh , Oh looks like its on fella's good luck all.
  13. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hmmm....1:58 cold run. I need to work on that a bit, lol.
    • Like Like x 1
  14. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    Wow, excellent seems like the competition getting off to a good start... wonder when the sledging will begin? :grin
  15. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    whenever you like
    • Like Like x 1
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,926
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,878Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,837 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I believed that Steam install were light : this game is 10Go... i need to find a place on my small SSD disk. :-(
  17. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That Judd V8 is wicked! Stomp on the gas even in a straight and you are bound for the wall to either side. Nice grip in the corners though, as long as I remember that there is a second pedal near my feet that causes deceleration ;)

    I do have a problem though. I am getting almost no roll out of the game. Pitch, Surge, all seem to work but roll and or sway only seem to be there if I hit a wall at very high speeds. Both roll and sway are set to 100%. I know the car is pretty sure footed but I want to simulate the g-force in turns, etc. I would assume sway would give me more of this feeling than roll as the car is not actually rolling.

    How do you tune this in your setup?
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    have you tried changing percentage of sway and tried changing the number in the tuning centre?
  19. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,740
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,003Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,584 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, I cranked the sway up to 100% with no change.

    To be honest I am not sure how to use the Tuning Center. I click on "capture min/max" then click on save settings and then click on "Stop Capture" but I really do not see any changes. Do I enter changes manually? Will this help? How?

    Thanks in advance.

    David
  20. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    12,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +833 / 7 / -1
    Hi David, yes you can manually enter values. You could try halving the sway values and see what you get... Keep reducing until it generates the required motion. To manually edit you have to first select the capture values button then edit values and save your changes. Make both min max the same value just one negative.

    I am not at home at the moment but from memory my sway setting is about at 10. If you let the tuning centre capture the min max values you will get a better idea what they should be straight away.

    Note: with ver 3.2 of sim tools the change will be immediate... Ver 3.1 (and I assume earlier) you have to exit game and sim tools before the change takes effect.

    Are we going to see your lap times soon?
    • Like Like x 1