1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimTools 2DOF with TL SCN5 + SimVIBE

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by clarkii, May 29, 2015.

  1. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    I am about to finish my conversion of Frex 2Dof to 2Dof + traction loss running Simtools & addition of bass transducers running SimVIBE. Appended are some photos for the WIP:

    image.jpg

    SCN5 150mm actuator for TL
    image.jpg

    Front pivot for TL
    image.jpg

    Ball wheels for TL frame
    image.jpg

    Seat base frame on TL frame
    image.jpg
    image.jpg

    2DOF
    image.jpg

    Pedals & Steering Wheel
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg

    Will upload more photos in coming days after installing seat & the bass transducers. Comments are welcomed. Thanks!
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Cluclu

    Cluclu Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    410Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Wow impressive structure
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks for sharing the pictures, I will be looking forward to your updates.

    Have you got the actuators running with SimTools or is that planned after your motion simulator has been put back together?
  5. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Hi, they are running with Simtools already. I took a video for the testing of the initialization in Simtools
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Brilliant job @clarkii, I am really looking forward to following your thread and seeing your sim complete :thumbs
  7. Cluclu

    Cluclu Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    410Coins
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Very good, it is highly reactive and quiet
  8. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Just installed the seat and the tactile transducers.

    One installed under seat
    image.jpg

    Four more for vibrations from four corners
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  9. GTHQ_koop

    GTHQ_koop Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Occupation:
    Something with airplanes..
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    2,001Coins
    Ratings:
    +64 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Wow, those are big :D

    Looking good though ;)
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looking good :thumbs

    Can you give some details and links to the transducers and amp(s) you are using @clarkii?
  11. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    I am using two Clark Synthesis TST209 and two TST239, for the amplifier I use four Yung 100W class D plate amplifier.

    http://www.parts-express.com/clark-synthesis-tst209-tactile-transducer-bass-shaker--300-861

    http://www.parts-express.com/clark-synthesis-tst239-silver-tactile-transducer-bass-shaker--300-863

    http://www.parts-express.com/yung-s...ofer-plate-amplifier-module-no-boost--301-500

    For the shaker under seat I use Aurasound AST-2B-4. I also have shakers to be installed under the pedals and steering wheel.
    • Like Like x 2
  12. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Shakers installed under pedal on steering wheel

    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    So you have Dayton Puck tranducers as well. Is that the grand total now, or do you plan on adding more?
  14. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Hi! Yes, that's all. I run SimVIBE Chassis mode using the four Clark Synthesis transducers and run SimVIBE Extension mode using the others.
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,852Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,959 / 19 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Good job indeed
    I like your pedals! :cool:
    Did you build them by yourself?

    Where is your brake sensor? Can we have more details ans pictures?
    I'm curious about the vibration motor: do you manage it with SimCommander?
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,341
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,811Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,085 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Some say pick one mode or the other, I gather you have got both to play nice together and if so do you have any tips?
  17. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Hi, I bought the pedals from FREX a couple of years ago. It comes with a pressure sensor. From this sensor a threshold pressure can be set above which the brake rotor will turn on.

    Some photos are as follows
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

    I will upload some more photos/video after u hook up all the connections.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,852Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,959 / 19 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I see...
    Thanks for having taken some more pictures
  19. clarkii

    clarkii New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Balance:
    1,066Coins
    Ratings:
    +25 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5
    Hi, I have the four big transducers generating suspension and collision, road surface condition effects while the shakers under the pedals, steering wheel and seat for car engine effect and some others.

    The pedals and steering wheel are not bolting to the main cockpit frame directly but via some neoprene rubber for 'vibration' isolation.

    For the four big transducers I mount them to the four 'corners' of the seat rather than the to the four corners of the whole cockpit. For the latter which I tested before I found I could not distinguish where the vibration comes from because the seat is connected to the base frame via a single pivot which is this part:

    image.jpg

    Also, seems the low frequency signals do not transmit through aluminum very well. For my current mounting scheme I can feel the directions of the forces.
    • Useful Useful x 1
  20. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,062
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,852Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,959 / 19 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    That's informative!
    it seems logical once it has been said :D