1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimCalc by Tim McGuire

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Tim McGuire, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It does run on Win 10, so perhaps the download was corrupted or you are missing something on your PC.
  2. Xesc

    Xesc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    BADALONA
    Balance:
    179Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I have downloaded once again (no corrupted file, then) but it does tha same, balck window opens...so yes, for sure something is missing in my PC but any idea what it could be?
    PC (2009) is running with Win10 64bits, 6GB RAM and Graphic card is Gforce GT710 ...

    Thanks in advacne...

    Attached Files:

  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    SimCalcs dev @Tim McGuire would be the best person to advise, when he has a spare moment.
  4. Xesc

    Xesc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    BADALONA
    Balance:
    179Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hello I have tried to run it through CMD window and it works...;)
    • Like Like x 1
  5. imajavaid

    imajavaid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino, Motion platform
    how you could find the angle the lever can rotate about the motor shaft . Is there a mathematical calculation to find that angle or you can just assume the rotation of the lever.

    This angle is represented as theta(d) on Page 4, as theta on page 5 and theta(min) and theta (max) on page 9 of the document
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The lever rest and max angle is set in SimCalc by the user.

    As a lever traverses an arc, changing its angle, the effective utilisation of torque diminishes as it moves away from it maximum effectiveness at 90 degrees, and drops off rapidly at anything over about 38 degrees up and down.
  7. imajavaid

    imajavaid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    50Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino, Motion platform
    That's exactly my point. There is a drop of efficiency to 86% in force and speed as the lever angle reaches +/- 30 deg. So now as you have come to know that your lever should not go beyond 30 deg. Now how you can put that constraint into the design. Whether you put some hindrance in the arc of the lever to limit its motion upto 30degrees or what design parameters you have to be careful about so that automatically it should not go beyond 30 degrees.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I usually suggest 38-40 degrees max, torque efficiency drops a little by then, but drops off far more above that. It is a practical compromise and still allows good motion with a suitable design.