1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

SimCalc by Tim McGuire

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Tim McGuire, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,012
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,425Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,089 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Tim McGuire I cleaned your former thread and separated the SimCalc postings into the new thread here. Please let me know if I forgot to move something.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Balance:
    363Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Here's a pic.
    [​IMG]

    Now the weird thing is that when I used the snipping tool to make my selection and save, it caused Simcalc to open. I tried it 5 times to verify.

    Nope I'm wrong. It just takes the program a minute to open from the time that the dialog window opens.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2017
  3. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    I had a suspicion that might be what's going on, it can take a second to open sometimes. Let me know if you have any other questions :)
  4. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    179
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    776Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Even if this is an old thread, the SimCalc App is still a great tool !
    But reading through the mathematics behind it, there is this statement:
    Fapp = M x llever

    Isn`t this wrong and must be:

    Fapp = M / llever (divided)

    ?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    That does seem wrong, it's likely a typo, mind pointing out where it was?
  6. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    179
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    776Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    first formula in your doc
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Good catch! I'll correct that when I get home.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    179
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    776Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    same on page 10 ;)
  9. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,174Coins
    Ratings:
    +313 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Ah man what was I thinking! Well rest assured that same mistake was not made in the actual code of the application, otherwise it'd be spitting out nonsense.
  10. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    850Coins
    Ratings:
    +56 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello Tim, thanks a lot for your software, it helps me a lot to find where to install my motors !
    Great job,

    It would be nice to have a section where every user of Simcalc could share his preset and results so people who begin (like me) could have an idea of the values needed for a well working sim.
  11. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,248Coins
    Ratings:
    +290 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Outstanding app.
    For a newb builder such as myself, this will help in reducing or possibly even eliminating inefficient trial and error motor/arm/ctc placement.
  12. lcr

    lcr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hy, I try to install SimCalcV0.1BETA.exe and an error pops up: ”The program cant start because api-ms-win-crt-math-l1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer.” Please help me!
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,742
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    146,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,813 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 2
  14. lcr

    lcr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    142Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Like Like x 2
  15. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    385
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    2,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +357 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    If the size of the program displayed is cut off and you cannot read all the options/results using Windows 10... Go to your display settings and check the box under the heading " Change the size of text,apps and other items" Set this to 125% or 100%.

    settings.jpg
  16. Pramuuditha Kumara

    Pramuuditha Kumara Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    51
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This is great, i hope this will help during my sim tools simulator design....
    Thank you very much ..
  17. 427Cobra

    427Cobra There is no substitute for cubic inches

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Sweden
    Balance:
    567Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Attached Files:

  18. Adrian Culda

    Adrian Culda Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2020
    Messages:
    60
    Occupation:
    Jack of all, Master of a Few
    Location:
    Leduc, Alberta
    Balance:
    647Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    Is this project dead ?? downloaded it hoping it would work on 6DOF or Linear actuators...
    No joy :(
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20,742
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    146,304Coins
    Ratings:
    +10,813 / 52 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It is not made for that, only a basic 2DOF rig.
  20. Xesc

    Xesc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    BADALONA
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hello,
    I have download SimCalcV0.1_BETA but apparently it does not work on my PC (only a black window opens)...any idea how to fix it?
    running on WIN10