1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SimCalc by Tim McGuire

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Tim McGuire, Jan 13, 2017.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2,983
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    28,763Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,969 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    @Tim McGuire I cleaned your former thread and separated the SimCalc postings into the new thread here. Please let me know if I forgot to move something.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Doon1

    Doon1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Here's a pic.
    [​IMG]

    Now the weird thing is that when I used the snipping tool to make my selection and save, it caused Simcalc to open. I tried it 5 times to verify.

    Nope I'm wrong. It just takes the program a minute to open from the time that the dialog window opens.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2017
  3. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    I had a suspicion that might be what's going on, it can take a second to open sometimes. Let me know if you have any other questions :)
  4. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    389Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Even if this is an old thread, the SimCalc App is still a great tool !
    But reading through the mathematics behind it, there is this statement:
    Fapp = M x llever

    Isn`t this wrong and must be:

    Fapp = M / llever (divided)

    ?
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    That does seem wrong, it's likely a typo, mind pointing out where it was?
  6. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    389Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    first formula in your doc
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Good catch! I'll correct that when I get home.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Arazok

    Arazok Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Occupation:
    Computer scientist
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    389Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    same on page 10 ;)
  9. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    250
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,850Coins
    Ratings:
    +292 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Ah man what was I thinking! Well rest assured that same mistake was not made in the actual code of the application, otherwise it'd be spitting out nonsense.
  10. creazyrider

    creazyrider Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    france
    Balance:
    777Coins
    Ratings:
    +53 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello Tim, thanks a lot for your software, it helps me a lot to find where to install my motors !
    Great job,

    It would be nice to have a section where every user of Simcalc could share his preset and results so people who begin (like me) could have an idea of the values needed for a well working sim.
  11. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    197
    Balance:
    1,379Coins
    Ratings:
    +159 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Outstanding app.
    For a newb builder such as myself, this will help in reducing or possibly even eliminating inefficient trial and error motor/arm/ctc placement.
  12. lcr

    lcr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    18Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hy, I try to install SimCalcV0.1BETA.exe and an error pops up: ”The program cant start because api-ms-win-crt-math-l1-1-0.dll is missing from your computer.” Please help me!
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,022
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    93,213Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,810 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 2
  14. lcr

    lcr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    18Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    • Like Like x 2
  15. T R Para

    T R Para i make stuff up Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2018
    Messages:
    89
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Balance:
    427Coins
    Ratings:
    +50 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    If the size of the program displayed is cut off and you cannot read all the options/results using Windows 10... Go to your display settings and check the box under the heading " Change the size of text,apps and other items" Set this to 125% or 100%.

    settings.jpg
  16. Pramuuditha Kumara

    Pramuuditha Kumara Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    162Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    This is great, i hope this will help during my sim tools simulator design....
    Thank you very much ..