1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question shaking, waggle, vibration

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by peel, Nov 16, 2019.

  1. peel

    peel New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    mechanic of printing machines
    Location:
    Martin Slowakei
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hi, I've been looking for a long time to remove the shaking, but I didn't find anything.
    Therefore, please help. How to remove it, or at least eliminate it to an acceptable level.
    I use a stepper motor and a 10-speed potentiometer.
    Thanks for help.

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    562
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,867Coins
    Ratings:
    +472 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Maybe not use steppers? Looks like step is too big on the video... It will confuse any PID algorithm like that.

    Maybe you could attach the potentiometer on the output of the gearbox, where there is smaller stepping?
  4. peel

    peel New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    mechanic of printing machines
    Location:
    Martin Slowakei
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    First I had such a solution, but it was not good.
    IMG_20191117_045651.jpg
    I have 10-turn potentiometer connected to the output of the gearbox, so I used almost the entire range of the potentiometer.
    Thank you, Thanos, you brought me to this idea.
  5. Ben Xie

    Ben Xie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    47Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino, 6DOF
    Can steppers do quarter/smaller steps to increase the resolution? I'm pretty new to this so I'm not too sure.
  6. peel

    peel New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    mechanic of printing machines
    Location:
    Martin Slowakei
    Balance:
    75Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hello,
    I connected the potentiometer with a simple three-wire cable and the values fluctuated greatly. Then I used a shielded cable and jumped values to an acceptable degree.
    I need to adjust the ratio between the rotor and the potentiometer so that the step size is an integer on the potentiometer (now it is 3.2 and I need 4.0).
    Waiting for this gear: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32888549055.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.63014c4dsCozKZ
    And I still have to fine-tune the programming code, so far I have errors.
    And I hope it will be ok then.

    The engine takes 1 / 16th of a turn. I know it's not ideal, but I still want to try it with the engine