1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question SFX-100 - Any profile for Cura? (Creality Slicer)

Discussion in '3D Printing' started by Nemic, Oct 12, 2020.

  1. Nemic

    Nemic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Would be greatly appreciated, i have just failed miserably with my first motor mount print which beside ending up as a stringy mess, took over 40 hours to complete.. Any help would be greatly appriciated :)
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. GreaseMonkey

    GreaseMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    It depends quite much which printer you have and what material/which brand you are using? There should be some default profiles for most common brand printers in cura. Also check thingiverse.

    Have you done some testprints already? (For example: bed levelling test, calibration cube, temperature tower)

    When i printed my sfx parts i had quite many fails too. Some of sfx-100 parts are quite big and prone to warping at least with pla. So good bed adhesion is important. If you have glass bed you can use gluestick or hairspray to improve bed adhesion. Also raft/brim can help.
  4. Nemic

    Nemic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Hey!

    Yeah i have started to understand that there are no magic profile that just fixes perfect fsx prints, since i posted i have been locked in the basement like a mad scientist and printed 100s of small test pieces and weighing between print quality, strength and print time. I'm now down to 14H on the big motor mount and around 6H on the smaller ones with about 3mm walls and 30% grid fill and have tried to screw it down to a T-profile with a lot of force and its holding up.

    I have a Creality CR-6 wich is a fairly new printer so theres like nothing in terms of profiles for anything, but its very similar to Ender 3.

    Leveling is not an issue though it have auto leveling and adhesion is defenitly not a problem on the ceramic coated glass bed, until i got the tip to put it in the freezer I ruined more than one good print :/

    Attached pics of the last print with 3mm walls and 30% infil/grid which looks.. well ok? Next one will be 3.5mm walls and 50% fill wich should be equal to the recommended 8 perimeters and the 50% to mitigate the missing setting in Cura to fill every 20 layer solid.

    Thanks! EDD34342-100F-4E98-9B8C-D1A680BA2AC4.jpeg 46425299-37F0-4159-9705-44D1156BD817.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. GreaseMonkey

    GreaseMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Glad that you had succes with prints now.
    Your print looks good!

    I also used cura with My prints. I printed most parts with 30% infill and little thicker perimeters, bottom and top to compensate missing solid layer after x layers option in cura.

    My rig has hold together fine so far. But 50% infill is good too. I would not use more infill than 50%.
    Also some of My prints from ender5 came little rough on the inside hole. Specially the motor mounts i think that was due to not so great cooling fan of creality ender. But light sanding of print can fix that.

    If you start having problems again you might want to check extrusion. Creality ender series mostly underextrude with factory settings so not sure if cr-series have same issue.
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Nemic

    Nemic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Thanks!

    If 30% is holding up for you then im good, i just got so unsure when reading that you need up 80% infill if using Cura.

    Rough on the inside you say? No idea what you mean :roll :D
    m-mount.jpg
    Just to clarify, this was one of the first prints i did and it didnt go that well as you see :)

    I´ll keep an eye on the extrusion but for now i think the bigger prints looks fine, right now im working on a profile for the smaller bump stops, printed way to rough with the same settings as the larger one.

    Thanks
  7. Nemic

    Nemic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Update:

    Managed to get really nice prints with thick walls (3.5mm) and quite fast print times, for example the big motor mount prints in about 9H. I know this time can be reduced further by going with 0.6mm nozzle and increase layer height.. but if anyone need profiles for Cura/Ender im happy to share them.

    Be warned though, i have no idea how these will hold up but they feel extremely solid.

    IMG_4081[3630].jpg
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Nemic

    Nemic New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    51Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I think a found the reason why i have had so much troubble getting good prints o_O

    After my last post i got more and more issues and the profiles i successfully used before ended up a mess. I then removed the nozzle to clean it and its like a 2mm size nozzle wth???

    The nozzle to the right/bottom is the stock nozzle and besides from being absolutely huge its like half the length of the other included nozzels, like it have been crushed. I can only assume that something went very wrong at some point, idk.

    Only problem now is that i have no idea what nozzle size the other two are, no markings what so ever. According to creality its suppose to be included a 02,04 and 0,6mm nozzle.

    ECF1D6DB-0C13-4088-8805-D48201BC962D.jpeg D051690A-482C-4AF0-8C59-9BDE50340A76.jpeg
  9. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    973
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    4,747Coins
    Ratings:
    +811 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Ho, looks like someone sawed off the tip...