1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Servo Driver Enclosures, What did you do?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Onii77, Apr 17, 2021.

Tags:
?

How do you mount your servo drivers?

  1. Bought an enclosure that is made for drivers

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Bought an enclosure not normally used for drivers

    100.0%
  3. Bolted to a board or profile

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. They're in a pile in the corner of the room

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Onii77

    Onii77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    As the title asks, how do you store your servo drivers?

    Did you buy, build your own enclosure, screw them down to scrap profile, a plank of wood? I have seen all of the above around and am interested in looking at other options to find what will serve me best.

    For now I am building a SFX100 setup, but as a fast follower to this project I think I am going to look at a seatbelt tensioner, so I'd like to have some room to expand.

    Pics would be awesome if you have something to show off. Links to parts also welcome.

    Onii
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2021
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,124
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +896 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Maybe use a flight trolley? Slim and plenty of space for up to 7 drives!

    IMG-20210323-WA0017.jpg
    • Creative Creative x 2
  4. Onii77

    Onii77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2021
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Balance:
    132Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    I ended up going with 6u Server enclosure like this one:

    I think it will work well for the drivers and can house the step-up transformer as well.



    Edit: Amazon link got filtered out of my post, so added a picture.
    Edit2: picture got filtered out; (see below) thanks Thanos
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 3, 2021
  5. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,124
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,859Coins
    Ratings:
    +896 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Your Amazon link is not showing, placing it here on your behalf:

    Www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07M9WS8JW
  6. chris cram

    chris cram CraM Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    23Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    like Onii i used a 6u rack on wheels. all wiring out the bottom and to the rig with minimal spaghetti
    • Like Like x 2