1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Sebj - 8020 - Seat Mover with Traction Loss

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Sebj, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Bit more progress. Wheel uprights installed, motors mounted.
    Working now on wheel assembly, front pivot point.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 3
  2. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    moved ahead quite a bit. i am in the process of mounting and configurating motors. Hope to be done this month.
    IMG_20180707_163427.jpg IMG_20180707_163444.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
  3. hjr2

    hjr2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +20 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    Very nice!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Got a few hickups. JrK died, possibly a short although I cant explain it because it wasnt touched - USB stopped picking it up. Diagnosed with Pololu but seems its dead. Sourcing a new one.

    Will be configuring my two rear motors now and waiting on 2 mounting brackets for rear TL.
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Sad news, but Pololu will often offer a discount on a replacement.
  6. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    configuring simtools iracing before connecting arm
    @Nick Moxley is a superstar helping me out
  7. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Its alive!

    Tuning time
    • Winner Winner x 2
  8. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey guys, hope someone can assist me with this very strange issue.

    One of my motors begins to vibrate, increase in oscillations and eventually get so bad i have to estop.
    This behaviour occurs in the JRK tool as well as simtools or within game. So it has to be JRK or PSU related I'm thinking.

    First thing I checked was pot mount and pot tightening. All good. Wiggling pot mount does not induce any oscillations.

    I can load up say iRacing, do 3 laps and then this starts up. I hit eStop, reset to the pits and sit there, disable eStop and the oscillation continues. So I hit estop again, on/off, maybe 2 times and then sometimes it stops but comes back within a minute later.
    I can also get this behaviour when I exit out of game and go right into JRK util. It will start up there.

    I can test JRK target acquisition by moving the slider slowly, quickly back and forth and cant reproduce this behaviour.

    sometimes it will occur when I do an output test in Simtools, and move one of the sliders like Sway for example. But not consistently always.

    So I'm baffled here.

    Any ideas how to isolate? check or figure out why this is happening?
  9. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I could swap PSU's and see, and then swap JRKs and see if the other motor exhibits this behaviour. I could isolate either component then. If it continues then it could be the motor itself or perhaps something else. All things are tight and i cant find anything lose that could cause oscillation.
    Both motors using same connectors, cables etc.
    The working motor has a 2 foot shorter power cable going from motor to controllers. Only difference. But length of cable is still under 5feet 14gauge
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,478
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,762Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,478 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Can you please post pictures of all your JRK settings.

    Have you tried swapping the pot?
  11. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Havent tried swapping anything yet. Easiest thing to do first i guess.

    I'm essentially running the settings provided here. i.e. 0.4,0.0,0.4 for PID, 600/600 power/acceleration, 20Hz, 2000 for integral something or other. All standard stuff.

    i have a spare JRK and I could swap the PSU's tomorrow and check that way as well. First thing I'll do though is reinstall the pot mount just in case. I do have a flex coupler there in between which is tight. I cant even stop oscillation when holding the seat steady. And yet i cant start it by shaking the seat or moving the pot mount around. It just develops out of nowhere sometimes, when I'm not in rig, and just waiting on the output testing screen of simtools.

    EDIT: JRK settings
    Input mode Serial
    Never sleep checked

    Feedback settings
    512 analog samples

    PID
    0.4 0.0 0.5
    20ms
    integral limit 2000
    reset box checked (although it seems to uncheck this sometimes by itself when I come back to tool)

    PWM 20Khz
    duty cycle 500
    max accel 600
    brake 0
    max current 0
    current 149
    max duty when feedback out of range 600
    coast

    no errors aside from power when eStop or motors off
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2018
  12. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    INITIALIZED 0
    INPUT_MODE SERIAL
    INPUT_MINIMUM 0
    INPUT_MAXIMUM 4095
    OUTPUT_MINIMUM 0
    OUTPUT_NEUTRAL 2048
    OUTPUT_MAXIMUM 4095
    INPUT_INVERT 0
    INPUT_SCALING_DEGREE 0
    INPUT_POWER_WITH_AUX 0
    INPUT_ANALOG_SAMPLES_EXPONENT 5
    INPUT_DISCONNECT_MINIMUM 0
    INPUT_DISCONNECT_MAXIMUM 4095
    INPUT_NEUTRAL_MAXIMUM 2048
    INPUT_NEUTRAL_MINIMUM 2048
    SERIAL_MODE USB_DUAL_PORT
    SERIAL_FIXED_BAUD_RATE 9600
    SERIAL_TIMEOUT 0
    SERIAL_ENABLE_CRC 0
    SERIAL_NEVER_SUSPEND 1
    SERIAL_DEVICE_NUMBER 11
    FEEDBACK_MODE ANALOG
    FEEDBACK_MINIMUM 1332
    FEEDBACK_MAXIMUM 2855
    FEEDBACK_INVERT 0
    FEEDBACK_POWER_WITH_AUX 0
    FEEDBACK_DEAD_ZONE 0
    FEEDBACK_ANALOG_SAMPLES_EXPONENT 7
    FEEDBACK_DISCONNECT_MINIMUM 666
    FEEDBACK_DISCONNECT_MAXIMUM 3475
    PROPORTIONAL_MULTIPLIER 1
    PROPORTIONAL_EXPONENT 1
    INTEGRAL_MULTIPLIER 0
    INTEGRAL_EXPONENT 0
    DERIVATIVE_MULTIPLIER 1
    DERIVATIVE_EXPONENT 1
    PID_PERIOD 20
    PID_INTEGRAL_LIMIT 2000
    PID_RESET_INTEGRAL 1
    MOTOR_PWM_FREQUENCY 0
    MOTOR_INVERT 1
    MOTOR_MAX_DUTY_CYCLE_WHILE_FEEDBACK_OUT_OF_RANGE 600
    MOTOR_MAX_ACCELERATION_FORWARD 600
    MOTOR_MAX_ACCELERATION_REVERSE 600
    MOTOR_MAX_DUTY_CYCLE_FORWARD 600
    MOTOR_MAX_DUTY_CYCLE_REVERSE 600
    MOTOR_MAX_CURRENT_FORWARD 0
    MOTOR_MAX_CURRENT_REVERSE 0
    MOTOR_CURRENT_CALIBRATION_FORWARD 149
    MOTOR_CURRENT_CALIBRATION_REVERSE 149
    MOTOR_BRAKE_DURATION_FORWARD 0
    MOTOR_BRAKE_DURATION_REVERSE 0
    MOTOR_COAST_WHEN_OFF 1
    ERROR_ENABLE 0
    ERROR_LATCH 0
  13. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Re tightened pot and pot holder. ensured no loose connections or fasteners.

    so far testing in jrk util is ok. I have moved both motors back and forth quickly, slowly, quickly to extremes and in tight movements. no issue. will test in simtools next.

    EDIT: went into simtools and did a few output tests, the issue presented itself again. Erratic motion.
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2018
  14. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok so continuing to check my Pot and worked my way back to the JRK. I noticed my 3 prong black dupont connector was a tiny bit loose. I think the heat of the JRK was causing some inconsistent feedback errors. I am changing the connector and will report back results. Hopefully this was it.
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2018
  15. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Confirming it was the loose connection and heat. Working now it seems. Will post video this week. Ill be connecting TL motor up tonight and tomorrow.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Wow! guys, simtools rocks.

    I completed setup of my TL motor and ran it through some laps to configure in iracing then did some laps. Motors run nice and cold, no other issues to speak of.

    I'll try to clean up the room, cables and such and then post a motion video.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  17. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    cant get no limits 2 going. Its the full version. Using --telemetry in ride mode...stumped. tuning center not getting data
  18. Carl Flemister

    Carl Flemister New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    @Sebj ... Thanks for the pics! I am in the early stages of building these same plans ... In Series 15 extrusions tho. (It's what I have better access to.)

    I struggle to see the details in my mind when trying to plan this build ... But seeing pictures really helps me get my head around it! So thank you for that!

    How did you end up solving the front pivot wobble you were concerned about earlier in this thread? That is something that concerned me as well!
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Sebj

    Sebj Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    1,364Coins
    Ratings:
    +152 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    There is no wobble at all in the front hubs - flange bearings. that part of it is rock solid and makes no sound at all when moving. Actually, the whole rig is silent aside from the mechanical noise of the motors and seat.

    There is some 'wobble' in the front of the system where the OSW is mounted because its so high relative to the bottom and the only support is the front pivot. That said, it's not really that much and in practice when racing I have not noticed it. The only way around that likely would be some castors perhaps on the front corners of the unit as well but you will still get some rocking back and forth because of the wheel assembly so i didnt think it was worth it since it doesnt interfere with driving. (I use VR btw, so notice more nuanced motion)

    15 series profile, hmm, might be ok. But are you using 30mm wide pieces or is everything just 15mm? Most of my sim is in 50mm profile. (5050, 50100) <-- 25 series.
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Carl Flemister

    Carl Flemister New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    The 15 Series extrusions I am using are 1.5in x 1.5in. (38mm x 38mm) it has made a very strong rig ... I am just using what I have to reconfigure the rig to add motion.

    I don't quite understand the wheel deck wobble you are describing ... Is it a side to side motion of the whole wheel stand? Could it be eliminated with more bracing?

    How adjustable are the wheel and pedal positions? Anything you would change if you were building it again?