1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SeatTime's DC motor Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SeatTime, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just run LFS on the DK2, and all I can say is wow. It still needs more resolution, but the presence you get with the positional tracking is amazing.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,574Coins
    Ratings:
    +491 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    6dof and oculus is a nice sidetrack :thumbs
  3. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Ciao e grazie per la risposta
    Con un potenziometro multigiro da 5 giri riesco a fare una corsa di 40 cm ?
    In giro trovo solo potenziometri multigiro che fanno 10 giri tipo questo http://www.ebay.it/itm/POTENZIOMETR...nenti_elettronici_passivi&hash=item4171239c7f può andare bene lo stesso ? se non va bene per cortesia puoi mettere il link dove lo hai comprato quello che fa 5 giri.


    Hello and thanks for your reply
    With a multi-turn potentiometer from 5 laps I can do a run of 40 cm?
    In turn I find only multi-turn potentiometers that do 10 laps like this http://www.ebay.it/itm/POTENZIOMETR...nenti_elettronici_passivi&hash=item4171239c7f can fit the same? if not good please can you put the link where you bought what he does 5 turn.


    Cosa significa DK2?

    What does it mean DK2?
  4. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,136
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    7,156Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,105 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Google is your friend :)(First entry on top: "DK2 is the latest development kit for the Oculus Rift…")
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Ah ecco adesso ho capito quello che ha scritto SeatTime :) beato te che hai anche Oculus Rift deve essere un esperienza unica :thumbs
    Grazie @value1 di solito faccio sempre una ricerca su google quando non capisco qualcosa ma stavolta non ci ho pensato ;)
    Però dico io già si fà fatica a capire quando viene tradotto da una lingua ad un'altra poi ci si mettono anche le abbreviazioni... :confused: siamo apposto noi :)


    Ah here now I understand what he wrote SeatTime :) Blessed are you who also Oculus Rift has to be a unique experience :thumbs
    Thanks @value1 usually always do a search on google when I do not understand anything but this time I did not think;)
    But I say already gets hard to understand when it is translated from one language to another then we bring you even abbreviations ...:confused: We are affixed to us :)
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am jealous, my DK2 is yet to arrive despite being ordered in the first 36 hours of the pre order going online :(

    I can fully appreciate why you are distracted. Perhaps a heave video some time down the track.
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Because I originally used rubber wheels to drive the surge and traction loss tables I used a separate wheel connected to each pot to ensure it did not slip. 5 turns worked out fine for my sim and wheel size, but 10 turn could also be used, just do the calculations. I order most of my pots etc through Element 14 in Aus.
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I ordered late on the first day, so it cannot be too far off for you. Will be interested to hear your comments coming from the DK1. I still think that it still does not have the resolution especially for a racing sim, were you need to look in the distance, but it is surprising how well you can still drive it due to the immersion. My son and I were like 'wow just WoW' when we first tried it - it really feels like you are in a real car. I certainly think it is the way of the future for gaming and lots of other things - but still needs polish. To think not too long ago to build a sim with capabilities like this would have cost Millions$$.
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have to agree, there is nothing like the immersion of the rift for any type of simulation, yet it will be some time before it is consumer ready. Even then, the rift will not be for everyone, there are plenty of people who are sensitive to motion sickness. I have found that children cope far better than adults. I had rift rollercoaster rides running for National Youth Week and it was some of the adults who bailed out early in the ride, not the young people!

    When heavily tweaking the DK1 I did find that while resolution is always an issue a lot can be done with system level and ingame graphics settings, including color mapping. How much you can 'see' is a combination of resolution and how 'crisp' you can define the graphics within that limited resolution.

    With the DK1 I could always achieve a much better rift experience in a flight sim compared to a racing sim, simply because there is less stuff moving in close proximity to where you are viewing from. Racing games really do need both a fast frame rate and good crisp close and short to medium distance resolution, as you have other cars, signs, guard rails, trees and other stuff whizzing close by, while at the same time you need to really judge a corner line that is a diminishing closing distance of perhaps 300M to watching the apex. In a flight sim there is the immediate cockpit, the middle distance of a fighter gun range, say 200-500M and the rest is sky and lower definition scenery...much easier to tweak for in the rift.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. -kevin-

    -kevin- Fast e Furious

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    249
    Occupation:
    Termo Tecnico industriale
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    1,024Coins
    Ratings:
    +175 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 4DOF
    Quindi, se uso un potenziometro da 10 giri non dovrei avere problemi, credo che una volta impostato il Min. e Max. della corsa, anche se non sfrutto tutti i 10 giri del potenziometro (per esempio) uso solo 5 o 6 giri dovrebbe andare bene lo stesso. Poi, se non dovrebbe andare bene come detto in precedenza, metterò un pignone più piccolo sul motore in modo da sfruttare tutti i 10 giri del potenziometro. Non sò se il mio ragionamento e giusto, oppure no.

    So if you use a 10-turn potentiometer should not have problems, I believe that once you set the Min. And Max. Race that I need, even if I do not use all 10 laps of the potentiometer (for example) use only 5 or 6 laps should fit the same. Then, if it does not fit as I said earlier, I will put a smaller sprocket on the engine in order to exploit all 10 laps of the potentiometer. I do not know if my reasoning is correct, or not.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,486
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,828Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,169 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I ordered my rift in June so I'm not expecting it till October at at a guess. I was hoping the resolution would be good enough for racing games.

    Have you tried P3D yet @SeatTime ? And Asseto Corsa ?

    I'm away on my holiday for a month soon so won't have long to wait for my rift when I get back :) got a lot of tweaking to do to my sim.
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have uploaded a video of my seat heave module for those that have asked, the lighting is not the best, but you can see the levers working under the seat.

    • Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    thats cool man.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks so much for the heave video, it is such a great idea! :thumbs
  15. Al.Bundy

    Al.Bundy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    belgium
    Balance:
    583Coins
    Ratings:
    +50 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    that video makes me want to order another motor or two.......:D
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Finally got Rift DK2 with DCS World and motion (latest plugin) sorted (new computer) and I cannot get over how totally realistic it is. Love how you can turn you head and line up a approach to a runway or target like you would in a real plane and the new motion plugin is epic on my sim. Anyone getting a DK2, try DCS World, you will not be disappointed especially with motion. I can see all you flight sim guys moving over to VR in the not too distant future.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What's a story without the video - DCS World. Unfortunately the impact of VR is hard to convey with any video.
    • Like Like x 2
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I so wish I could...still waiting on my DK2 :mad:

    I am interested to hear if your surge is as effective with a flight sim in terms of realism, compared to racing.
  19. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,292
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,853Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,583 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The surge table works the same in motion as a proper 6 DOF (possibly with even more travel), so it feels good/realistic (FYI I also have a bit of surge dialed into the seat with no filtering for those small quick movements - like when firing the F15's canon). What I would like though if building a flight Sim is more heave, ideally moving the whole frame (expensive$$), but the seat heave module still does a good job with the Rift even through it was designed for a car sim.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,485
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    101,817Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,482 / 41 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Thanks @SeatTime. As 6DOF is so expensive it is really good to try and get a sense of the effectiveness of alternate heave and surge approaches, including where you have added settings tweaks. :thumbs