1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SeatTime's DC motor Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SeatTime, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That is a great video! You really have the bumps set up well, or so it looks to me. My motors are a little slow to get them to rattle my teeth like yours can. Well done.

    About your keyboard tray, etc. What about a wheeled cart to put your PC into and your keyboard/mouse on top of? I did this, with the addition of another monitor bolted to the top. This way I can move them around at will but still have the keyboard and mouse at my fingers when I need them. The extra monitor is great for keeping track of additional information, game data, etc. I will post a picture of mine if you like.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    You cannot see, but the base of the sim sits on lockable trolley wheels and there is a area available up front in the base for the computer to sit flat when I'm finished and it moves into the house. A extra monitor would be good, but I just don't have one spare and would rather save the money for a HD Oculus Rift when it becomes available.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Gotcha, that makes sense. I noticed that your PC was on the floor hence my suggestion. The spare monitor that I am using is a 20" lcd that I found for 25.00 on craigslist.

    Do you plan on adding button boxes? I wonder how that would work with the Oculus? I would assume that it would be difficult to find the buttons, etc.
  4. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,654 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    mmm need brail buttons, could be easier to feel in the dark of the goggles. Good question.

    BTW thats moving not badly at all I would suggest the investment of some hall effect pots, 180 deg unit I installed on my Seat Mover thanks to @bsft have totally sharpened up the movements on the sim.

    @Historiker just an open suggestion on the winchs , I ran 185mm lever on them and only used 80mm of lineer movement the end result is the motor didnt have to travel so far to reach the min and max , resulting in a lot faster movement , with the Jrk scaling back the feedback the tighter angle used on pot was not a issue, not sure if it would work right on the Ard thou but might be worth a shot to gain some speed.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have a G27 which has a few buttons on the steering wheel and shifter that can be mapped. I have not found a need for any more at the moment. The keyboard is mainly used to adjust the movement profile.
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    hall effect pots work excellent, and nice job of motion.
  7. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    @eaorobbie I will give that a try. I had thought about shortening the throw anyway. I wanted the longer throw for roller coasters but I spend the majority of my time with racing games so it is worth it.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. vawriss

    vawriss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I'm guessing your using multiple holes on your arms, just move in for cars and move out for the coaster. I have a couple in mine - only running 55mm centers at the moment on the seat motors. Although I have setup the drift and surge tables to just kick in for the bigger front/back and left/right movements.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,549Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,755 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I do have multiple holes in the arms, but it is a bit of a bother to move them, good point though.
  10. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,728Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,654 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    With the Jrk I have 2 different firmwares I load for race on the 65mm levers I have only set 76-80deg of rotation and when I want to use it for a flight sim I can upload the other firmware which uses about 120deg of movement which mean Racing use 80mm of lineer movement and flight is about double, and I dont loose any vibration movements as the Jrks scaleback the feedback to keep the 4096 steps of revs.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I decided I am not going to play with the current pots, have two 180 degree Hall Effects on order.
  12. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I just bought some more hall effect pots as well
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Put in a pre-order for the Oculus Rift DK2. I was going to wait for the consumer version which is meant to be better, but decided why not as the specs look pretty good to me and I have always planned to use one. Not due for delivery until around July.
  14. AceOfSpies

    AceOfSpies Living the Dream!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Kilwinning, Scotland
    Balance:
    19,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Looking forward to seeing how you get on with the HD Rift @SeatTime as, ultimately, I intend to replace the screen with one. Which should dramatically increase the immersive experience. I''ll wait for the commercial release. Please provide a review when you get it.

    Mike:thumbs
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,928
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,225Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,851 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'm interested in what I will be able to get away with movement wise with the Rift, but was happy that they have gone with a camera to track movement on DK2, as I will likely mount it to the surge table and hopefully negate those big movements from being transferred to the screen.
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,289
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,812Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,581 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Finally received the Hall Effect pots, while waiting I had already connected the old wirewound pots directly to the motor shafts which substantially reduce the amount of play in the motor feedback compared to using gears. I have a reasonably accurate/simple way to drill out the screw shafts (if you don't have a lathe) to directly mount the pots if anyone is interested.
  18. AceOfSpies

    AceOfSpies Living the Dream!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    260
    Location:
    Kilwinning, Scotland
    Balance:
    19,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +242 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Hi @SeatTime, please post your suggestion. Someone will find it helpful.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  19. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,041
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,882Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,706 / 30 / -1
    I was just catching up on reading some threads and read this. Thanks @bsft for testing these hall effect pots and giving an experts opinion on them. I'm glad it turned out favorable and you gave them a whirl also @eaorobbie !

    But also I want to issue a thanks again to Terry (@telfel ) who is the one who first brought these to the communities attention!
    http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/hall-effect-potentiometer.4948/
    I was already using 12bit hall effect encoders with basically the same specs as these hall effect pots but they cost me $85 each! Now I can buy all four I need for less than the price of one so its a great find in my opinion!

    Also Terry, thanks for your input dealing with DE's Kangaroo controller a few months back! While you probably didn't know it, it was a big help that you told me you were able to get the simple serial code for them working from your terminal program. This gave me the direction I need to solve the code structure so we can now use the kangaroo directly from SimTools!

    ps I'm looking forward to seeing some more of your post Terry!
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2014
  20. jem45472

    jem45472 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Balance:
    257Coins
    Ratings:
    +85 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    My pots are on backorder, but will be mounting them soon. Please
    Please share your pot mounting method. Im almost at that point in my build.