1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SeatTime's DC motor Sim

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SeatTime, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @BlazinH , if you are after community feedback about your intentions to protect your ideas because of patents , feedback from me would be to share what you have as other commercial people have done so from what I have seen.
    If you do not wish to share because of commercial patents , then kindly stop posting here as you are just obviously stealing and not sharing. Thats my community feedback.

    @SeatTime , belts would help yes to increase realism I reckon.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  2. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    fiddle with the settings and tuning centre.
  3. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,711 / 30 / -1
    Hi @bsft . You have made an accusation so please provide any proof whatsoever that I am “obviously stealing and not sharing"! All I have done here is to share information in an attempt to help other members from what I have learned from my own experiences in building my own simulator before I even knew this or other sites like it existed. Just because I don’t care to share my designs on this site doesn’t mean I’m stealing from others. If I were “stealing” from this site I would have nothing to protect anyway because it is no longer patentable once in the public domain. Since it is now public domain it would not be stealing by definition either. It is offered for free for anyone to use. So if you’re concerned about people “stealing” from what you post, then maybe you should be the one that stops posting here!

    And please explain how if I stop posting that this is beneficial to the community! You can take or leave the information I provide so of what harm am I doing? So just because I may not share everything I know I shouldn’t post anything anymore? How will this help people? Do you feel threatened because I said I might have commercial interest in the future? None of this makes any since to me. My point of view, the more information the better regardless of where and whom it comes from!

    So for feedback I will take yours as being, “Absolutely Not!” even though you have no knowledge of it yet! Thanks for your feedback.

    Ps Please do not stop posting here though! In fact, thank you for all you do in helping other people accomplish their dreams!

    @SeatTime It looks like in the photo RacingMat posted that the belt goes from the floor (frame) directly into the back of the seat. I use a stationary rounded edged bar also that's mounted somehow behind the seat at shoulder height that does not move with it to pull straight back and then down on the belt.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2014
  4. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    As I have had not luck getting sim data out of Live for Speed (demo version), does anyone know what other car sims games have been enabled for Drift with simtools?
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,858 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    You can drift with Dirt3 :)
    or with some rFactor mods (tell me if interested, i'll give you details)
    or Assetto Corsa

    All these games works with Simtools of course!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Gymkana drift more like it in Dirt3.
    Drift in GRID, GRID2, there is probably an rfactor mod with drift as Mat pointed out, they will be a free to download, just have to do a search.
    Any rally game has the butt of the car out to the side anyway.
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,858 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    yes, I forgot the newly Simtools supported game : Richard Burns Rally :cool:
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My bad, I meant to say, what games have 'traction Loss' available in the games simtools plug-in (apart from Live for Speed).
  9. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,691Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    You can check what the plugin offers by using the Game Manager, Yes I think we need a page with a list showing all the plugin and what they output, as in forces and dashout stuff too. mmmm @RaceRay would this be possible, I mean easy to do and update, I will put me hand up to update as I try to download each plugin on release to test it, and so I can help others with questions too.
  10. RaceRay

    RaceRay Administrator Staff Member SimAxe Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,628
    Occupation:
    Self-employed | Web and application development
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Balance:
    24,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,310 / 10 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, SimAxe, SimforceGT
    • Like Like x 1
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,942
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,309Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,858 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Waouh! This list is very impressive: what a good work plugin's developpers have done! :thumbs

    More games than I would never have time to play with :confused:
    Thanks!!
  12. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,593
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    19,691Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,655 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Thanks will do an update to page, wow we have nearly 40 plugin supporting a full 6DOF and 15 only so far supporting dash data but a lot have potential to do so just takes time. Big thank you to all who has brought us these Game plugins.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thats excellent, I'm sure everyone will appreciate the update.
  14. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Fitted a self tensioning (during braking etc) racing harness, works great and stops you naturally fighting the movement of the sim.
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,872
    Occupation:
    Teacher/Cabinet Maker
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,756 / 12 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    That is a really nice setup you have SeatTime, I am jealous ;)

    You made a comment a way's back about replacing the rubber wheels with chain drive. Can you share more information about that? I am experimenting with under body ball castors right now, while they are working I doubt they will for very long.

    I built my CNC table using chain drive so I am somewhat familiar with it, I am wondering how you implemented it for sway?

    Thanks,

    David
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi David, a picture below. This is not ideal, but as I did not want to totally redesign the area I basically just added a sprocket and chain where the wheel drive was. The motor is mounted on a pivot point and there is a serious tensioner that you cannot see due to the limited teeth contact are. Works fine, but I did add some smoothing in the setup to stop any teeth jumping when the car crashes as the changes of direction can be quite violent. Note that the feedback pot is not connected to the motor drive but the moving frame, so teeth jumping/slipping is not really an issue apart from the noise.

    [​IMG]
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. kurgine

    kurgine Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Balance:
    431Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK, 4DOF
    Hey, you dont need high tension to drive chain, what you are missing is angle on the chain or in another word as much teeths in the chain as you can:

    Tensioner.png

    Sorry for simple drawing but i hope you will understand. Tensioner sprokets have to spin freely. Make tensioners axis at least in one line in you main axis and you will forget about chain jumpimg even without much tension on the chain.
    • Useful Useful x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  18. vawriss

    vawriss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Newcastle, New South Wales
    Balance:
    211Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks kurgine thats a good idea - similar to a motor bike. Have to see how I can implement it in the current setup. Likely mount them to the motor mount (seatime at the controls of sim).
  19. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,045
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,917Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,711 / 30 / -1
    Glad to hear you think it was worth the effort!
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,017Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,608 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    A video of how the sim sits today with harness and a stand for the keyboard (top still in primer). Very close to were I want it, (trying to get it as close as I can to my car on the track) although I am getting some pot jitter/lag on the rough areas of the track when I turn the wick up on the seat motors. Will try connecting the pots directly to the motor shaft, or go magnetic.

    • Like Like x 3